• USD ($)
  • English

3.5 star rating: Worth doing 166 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 166 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Would have been better if the guide & bus driver hadn't rushed us through so quickly. We had no time to explore the grounds ourselves. Got off the bus, went directly to palace & then directly back to the bus. Didn't even have time for souvenir shopping.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

A very interesting trip. I should think it's even better in summer.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Tour and guide were very good!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

It was a very good tour. The tour guide was friendly and very informative. I will recommend others to join it.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

It was a very good tour with a very informative tour guide. As I found with other Viator tours, pickup points are not clear. We were told we would be picked up at Alexanderplatz at 1.15pm, but there was no bus at the pickup point.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Excellent. Beautiful. Tour guide was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

Potsdam was beautiful and very interesting to see. The tour was in English and German and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. We were on the bus for most of Potsdam so I wasn't able to take as many pictures as I would like but Sans Soucci palace walking tour was great!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

Good guide in Potsdam. Tour included old GDR and Russian forces use of Potsdam as well as the Sanssouci Palace. Palace visit small group well organised and highly recommended.

Bruce C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

We were very pleased with the commentary on the bus and the guide at Sanssouci. We thoroughly enjoyed Sanssouci.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The pick up for the tour bus was opposite to Memorial Church, but not in Kurfuerstendamm, the right street is Tauentzienstrasse, which is quite near. However, the tour was very nice, I warmly recommend it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Only 4 people on the tour so plenty of room on the double decker coach! Driver spoke no English at all so just as well our German travelling companions could interprate for us when discussing times etc. Time spent at Sanssouci and the Dutch Quarter very pleasant but would be much better in the summer months when the park statues are uncovered and the shrubs are in bloom. Also Sunday not the best day for the trip as most of the town was shut.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

This tour needs updating. The audio guide on the bus needs adjusting as it refers to features that are not visible at the time. The tour needs to be a bit longer as we were only able to look at Sans Souci palace and we would have like to look at the Nieues palace as well. We didn't really have much time for the gardens either. There is only really one place to get lunch so maybe it should be suggested that customers bring a packed lunch in the winter if they don't want to pay expensive restaurant prices.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Waited outside the Park Inn hotel as directed on our victor voucher. Arrived 20 minutes prior to the departure time. While waiting we had a look around but couldn't see a viator sign anywhere, or any sign to direct us to our bus leaving for Potsdam. As our 9am departure time drew nearer we started to get a bit nervous and walked over to look at the front of some buses (hoping there would be some indication of which bus was ours) there were around 7 or 8 buses in our vicinity. We found another confused person who was also looking for our tour. At this point I went into the reception at the hotel, and the friendly lady told me it was the yellow bus. The yellow bus was marked on all sides as a sightseeing bus, and was empty. As I approached the bus the driver began speaking to me (unfortunately I don't speak German) and tapping at his watch. By this time we were 3 minutes late. However, as he was smoking outside an empty bus and knew he had three people to pick up you would think he may have had a quick look around. There was indeed a tiny sign in the front of the window that said "Potsdam". The drive there was fine and the recorded audio was also fine. Little information was given about how long it would take to do the tour of the palace, but it was repeated OVER AND OVER that if we weren't back at the departure point on time the bus would leave without us and we would have to find our own way back to Berlin. Paranoid, we didn't bother with the tour. Despite this repeated message about leaving us behind if we were late, the bus was over 10 minutes late picking us up. This tour was incredibly cheap yet I still don't feel I got my money's worth. Potsdam is beautiful- see it with another company.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

I did this tour on a Sunday, when Germany's pretty much closed. Thus the tour didn't really coincide with the blurb online, which stated that visitors could choose between 3 different activities including shopping in the Dutch Quarter (it was definitely closed). The coach driver didn't speak English, so it wasn't until we got there that we realised there was only ONE activity available for the entire 3 hours we were in Potsdam - and that was a stroll around at the Sanssouci palace. However, it was a pleasant trip, even on a cold winter's day. There was a good cafe at Sanssouci, which provided some food and shelter - plus a visitor's centre. It was nice to look around the palace and gardens, but there was still a lot of time to kill. The driver was great, but communication was a little difficult in terms of the trip schedule not being as planned. He did drive around Potsdam and take us to all the other places on the schedule - but we were not able to get out and do anything, as everywhere else was closed. Still, it was something to do on a Sunday, and it was interesting to see Potsdam, which was an mixture of baroque splendor and Communist era apartment blocks. The recorded voiceover (provided in different languages) on the bus trip was quite explanatory about the history of the area, and was useful for an overview. All in all, it was worth doing, but maybe another day apart from Sunday would have been better. Having said that, the trip was half price when I booked - so that was a bonus.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

We liked Potsdam a lot, It's worth to spend half a day in there if you travel to Berlin. We found it very comfortable, having two places in Berlin where the bus picks you up, and three different meeting points in Potsdam when the bus finishes the tour. I'd recommend to extend the spare time after the tour, it's just two hours, and we'd have appreciated an hour longer. The audio guide may seem a bit boring, interesting, but it definitively can improve.

From USD $ 35.05

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3080BBSPOT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message