5 star rating: Highly Recommended 494 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 494 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing! Lorna was an excellent, knowledgable guide! She explained things very well. Its weird to say that going to a concentration camp was a good experience, but it really was. To step foot into history like this was awesome. It's an unforgettable experience that I highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent, our tour guide Carlos was very informative and gave multiple perspectives which was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a very interesting and moving visit to this memorial. Our guide Carlos was fantastic and probably the most knowledgable and insightful tour guide I've ever had. In particular his communication skills were superb. He was extremely clear and articulate and explained the historical atrocities which occurred at Sachsenhausen in a very thought-provoking way. Thank you so much for the valuable educational experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Don't do Sachsenhausen without a guide! There is simply too much to be missed if you try and go it alone. Kevin, our guide, was intelligent, informative, and seemed sincerely genuine in respect for the Camp's place in history.
ALOT of walking - be prepared to keep up and wear comfortable shoes.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a bleak cold snowy day in Berlin but I really wanted to see this Concentration camp and at first I was little hesitant in signing up for a tour as I prefer to go solo and make my own way. But seeing how big this site is and how extensive the history is (whilst being completely new and clueless to Berlin) I signed up for this tour. Not to mention the fact it is also very affordable.
I did not regret my choice one bit, our tour guide Kevin, was fantastic. His blunt, factual and historically accurate approach was brilliant. Like the pairing of wine with food Kevin was the perfect person to lead us on this tour and I left with a very strong impression that day. A head full of facts and information and sights and memories I shall never forget. Not to be missed one bit. Thank you to Viator and our guide Kevin.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Ryan was our tour guide and he was absolutely fantastic. He answered all questions that everyone asked was passionate about the tour and even answered questions about the City on Berlin as well. Excellent tour guide and well worth the money spent on the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Kevin was patient, extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the subject matter. He had great respect for the Sachsenhausen monument and was a superb ambassador. Would thoroughly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A thought-provoking day. Our tour-guide Rick was brilliant; informative but not overbearing. Would definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Though disturbing, a must. Philippa, best guide ever.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Out of 8 tours recently done between Berlin and Munich, this was by far the best and I attribute that to our guide Dennis. We were very fortunate to have a small group of 5 for this tour. Dennis's knowledge was well represented on this tour and his ability to have us all not just see what was before us, but told the history of one specific person to the camp which made it more personal, from the begining of our tour on the train platform until we said good bye. Dennis had the ability to take you back in time on this tour. I highly recommend this tour and if you have the fortune of having Dennis as your guide you will not be disappointed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the best tours I've been on throughout the world. This was mainly due to our excellent tour guide (do not remember his name, but he was a Scottish guy with a mustache). He was one of the best tour guides I've ever witnessed. Great experience and will definitely recommend this tour to others who visit Germany!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous. Booking in was very smooth and the guide was very knowledgeable. Loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well worth the train ride. Very informative, confronting and sad. I cried.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Dennis was by far the best tour guide we had throughout all of Europe! The way he told a story and combined it with facts about Sachsenhausen was truly moving! Dennis is an asset to your company and I would definitely recommend him and the tour to all of my friends and family!

Tima Joan
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Dennis, our tour guide for the day was amazing! Extremely knowledgeable and happy to answer any of our questions. He made what he was talking about meaningful and heartfelt!
Thank you Dennis for sharing your knowledge with us, we greatly appreciate your time.

From Tima, Fiona, Dave and Giulia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was very good, and interesting. Our guide Finn, was excellent. His knowledge regarding the events leading up to the opening of the camp, and its running were extremely informative.
We would recommend that you do not miss this trip whilst visiting Berlin.
Rob and Jackie, UK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Obviously this tour covers a pretty unpleasant subject, but none the less is one that should be taken. Our tour guide Jonny was very engaging and knowledgeable and took us around the camp which is a 30 to 40 minute U-Bahn and train ride out of Berlin. The camp itself (as you would expect) is a very chilling place to be, hearing about all the appalling ways the prisoners were treated was unbelievable and when stood in the very place it all happened was very sobering. The watch towers, walls and some of the buildings are still there, the ones that aren't are marked out on the ground by raised gravel beds. There are a couple of buildings reconstructed using the original plans and building methods along with the original laundry and kitchen blocks which house museums and exhibitions of camp artefacts. The foundation walls of the buildings used to execute and dispose of the prisoners is also still there along with the medical ‘research’ buildings and basement morgue area. Jonny covered all these subjects with the respect and sensitivity you would expect, I hesitate to use the word enjoy, but I’m so glad I took this tour and would recommend it without hesitation to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was the mighty Finn (Finnegan) from Belfast. This was an excellent tour. We took the train and travelled the same ground, and walked through the same streets to the concentration camp that those did who were sent to Sachsenhausen. During the walk, Finn pointed out the current political posters for those running for election and gave us an idea of current politics. He is incredibly well read and well spoken on his subject matter. This is a must tour for people to do although it is tough subject material to cover.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thank you Jonny - great guide! We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We booked this tour and another ne after we got to Berlin so the immediate confirmation from online booking and the use of e voucher is very reliable and convenient.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guided tour to Sachsenhausen was definitely worth booking. We had a person from Original Berlin Walks meeting us at the Metro station and directed us to our tour guide - using metro transport. Our tour guide should definitely be highly praised for he was very knowledgeable and was able to explain the somber history in a very plain and user friendly way, in such a way that even my 11 and 14 years old girls were able to follow.VERY WELL DONE. Moreover he was able to communicate in very good English (unlike the heavily accented English of some other guides we experienced on other tours). Another plus is the fact that the guide showed personal interest in all members of the group to the point that he looked for all of us on the metro (which was rather packed) to ensure that we all knew how to reach our destination.

The Sachsenhausen Memorial was itself the peek highlight of our holiday. We highly recommend dedicating a day to reflect on such brutal experiences human nature is able to conduct, in between the fun and excitement the city of Berlin can offer.
Just remember to take a packed lunch with you and wear adequate walking shoes. Since not much shelter is to be found on site one needs to go equipped with rain jacket/ umbrella or sun block, as the case may be.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Ryan was the best tour guide I came across over my entire European holiday. He was knowledgeable, passionate and experienced.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Smooth and comfortable experience for travel to and from Sachsenhausen. Great guide. Definitely worth doing guided tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was excellent and very knowledgable.

From USD $ 16.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3817CAMP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message