5 star rating: Highly Recommended 494 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 494 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Despite difficulties experienced on the journey from the meeting point to the camp due to overcrowding on the regional train and extremely high temperatures during the day my wife and I found the trip completely fulfilling. This was, to no small measure, due to the way our guide (Kevin) escorted the tour and provided enlightening information as to the history and function of the camp. He provided an excellent oversight of the political and economic environment that existed over the period and enabled us to understand how the events that occurred were engineered and also how the camp had been used by opposing sides in similar ways. The value of this in providing a full understanding of how such an abomination came to exist and how it then developed was far reaching and the importance of the lessons that must be learnt cannot be overstated.
We would highly recommend the tour for the reasons given and hope that others might gain a greater understanding of the way that state and political manipulation can produce such horrific results.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Five stars for our guide, Jonny. Obviously not five stars for a place that brought terror to tens of thousands. The tour was informative and I learned so much. Jonny was kind to all of us and quite knowledgable. Make sure you bring a lunch on this tour as a concentration camp doesn't have shops. Visiting a camp is a must while in Germany as we should never forget the crimes against humanity that took place there. If you're big hearted, bring some tissues. There should be larger signs at the concrete slabs where the remains of prisoners are buried as people were sitting on them like they were benches and I thought it was quit disrespectful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided good insight throughout the tour. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I gave this a 5 mainly because of our guide Rick. Got us to think outside the square on how as humans we are capable of such attrocities. Wasnt a pleasant day but had to be done

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable. We had plenty of time to see many of the sites. Although we started late (previous guide did not show up, supposedly "slept in"), it was easy to get there (even though we had to switch several trains due to construction on many platforms).

I would have liked to see a couple of other places that he chose not to see, possibly have time to see things on our own that others on the tour were not interested in. Perhaps on subsequent tours there will be that allotted time to "roam" and then meet up later.

Interesting story of one survivor that he spoke sbout gave this camp a sad but personal feel for what all these men went through.

Suzanne R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Humbling and harrowing are 2 words that come to mind. Our guide met us at Berlin and took us by train to Sachsenhausen. Darren was really respectful in sharing his vast knowledge of this camp. the tour was a good length and we were given the choice to stay at the end if we wanted to or travel back with the guide. This was an experience that I would not have missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thanks to Darren for the informative, interesting and educational tour. We could have self toured but it really wouldn't have been the same. A real experience that no visit to Berlin should go without.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and guide. Would recommend this to anyone visiting Berlin.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent, the guide was amazing, I felt like a student with a teacher, a vocational teacher named Kevin. He took the time to show us everything in detail. I learned a lot. What an experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Guide (Richard) was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and thorough with his explanation of events and facts.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mike, was great his subject knowledge was amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and respectful of such a sensitive topic. He stuck to the facts and didn't try to embellish history, which was very refreshing. I would definitely do a tour like this again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We have taken many guided tours while traveling all over the world. Our guide was with out question the best guide we have ever had. He did not miss a beat . His knowledge of the camp was amazing. He answered everything that was asked of him. That is the guide i would reccomend to everyone. I beleive his name was Kevin.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgable tour guide. A memorable experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour very moving. Our guide Kevin was excellent and very knowledgeable. A must if you are wanting to understand Berlins past.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Both Finn,our guide, and this tour were both amazing! Finn is very discreet and respectful to all.
Although the content of this tour is confronting it is also fascinating.
We were impressed with every aspect. Highly recommend it.
Neos family from Australia.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed it a great deal, very educational and the guide was very knowledgeable. The kids and I learned a lot from the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour...our guide, Dennis, was very entertaining, passionate about the subject matter and knowledgeable. One thing that is NOT mentioned on the Viator site...and you don't find out until you are at the tour meeting place...is that there is no food available for purchase on the tour. There is a lunch break, but folks who booked thru other means seemed to know to BRING FOOD.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Carlos was an excellent tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic. Our tour guide was Rick from Pitsberg Pennsylvania. Best tour guide on the whole trip. He had tonnes of knowledge and was so so passionate. He made a special effort to get to know everyone in the group whilst walking between stops. Great guy and an interesting/eyeopening tour, emotional.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour!! Walking through history with a knowledgeable guide brought this memorial tour to life. There is a lot of walking so bring good shoes.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A must visit for anyone visiting Berlin. Very moving but very sad. I was very impressed that Germany does not try to hide this dark part of its history. Incredible tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a very good tour. Our tour guide was Kevin and he was very knowledgeable about every aspect of the camp. Would definitely recommend, but be sure you don't mind the walking as there is a quite a bit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and we learned many things which were grueling, but true. I would recommend this to anyone. In fact, I already have!

From USD $ 16.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3817CAMP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message