5 star rating: Highly Recommended 491 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 491 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Ashley, made the trip especially memorable. Her ability to convey with dignity and respect the horrors of the camp were astonishingly appropriate.
A sad, but necessary, experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour was interesting and enlightening thanks to the "big picture" approach of our tour guide Kevin. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Berlin.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an amazing tour. We had a tour guide called Ashleigh and she really brought the camp to life for us, which was sad, of course, but gave us a much greater appreciation for the suffering of others and also a much greater appreciation how lucky we are in our own lives. It felt weird having lunch there, when you thought of how many people had starved to death and also I felt uncomfortable with the people taking happy snaps because it felt a little disrespectful, but to each their own. For us, this wasn't a tourist destination. It is a memorial and a lot of thought and consideration has gone into making sure the exhibitions are appropriate and inclusive, which is fabulous. It was throughly worthwhile. We are very glad we did it. I feel richer for the experience. Ashleigh had extensive knowledge and understanding of the camp and its operations, as well as the regime in itself and camps further afield, which was very enlightening. She also recommended a book by Pindera, a Polish prisoner of the camp, which can be bought at the book shop. It was an incredible read.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Ashleigh was very knowledgeable, and communicated to a large group with aplomb. An amazing experience made all the better via our accomplished guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I had no idea about the role of Sachsehausen in the camp system. Our guide did a great job of showing how this camp piloted each of the more horrible stages of the holocaust as they emerged.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had an amazing day. We were met at the Zoo u-bahn station and accompanied to the Hauptbahnof where we were introduced to our guide Ashleigh. She was amazing, very knowledgeable, friendly and approachable, but she also did not hesitate to discuss the most difficult aspects of a visit such as this. We didn't see everything at the camp, there were exhibits we would like to go back to see, places we wanted to wander at our own pace. It's good to take a little 'alone time' to just think. We were lucky, it was a beautiful sunny September day so we were able to sit on the grass for a while. But the juxtaposition of the sun and pretty wildflowers, with where we actually were was very chilling. I couldn't recommend this visit enough. Well organised, efficient, friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I confused the day and the office in Berlin went the extra mile to get me there and I only missed the introduction! Very informative tour guide made this tour! Learned so much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very informative, the guide was very knowledgeable with just the right amount of humour for the subject matter. This is a must!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

You have to take this tour to understand the feeling you get and realize the suffering the people went through at that time in history of WW-2.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

In my opionion, a must do. And a must do with a tour guide. We looked so much happier than the people with the prerecorded speal to their ears.

Did not seem as long to get to as I thought it would be.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A hard thing to do but definitely rewarding. Our guide Kevin was fabulously intelligent, informative, and respectful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent tour guide (Kevin), very careful and respectful the way it was presented!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A day to remember. The horrific happenings of that era were brought to life and put in perspective. Well worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a sad but amazing day. Torben was our tour guide and brilliant. Be warned no shelter from the sun and we went when it was hot. Take lots to drink. No stops for food either really. Worth doing though makes you realise how lucky you are.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was Ryan, who was extremely knowledgeable on every aspect of this era. He was also very helpful in other events in Berlin and guided us on exceptional pubs/shops/tours; every question was answered. The tour was a sombering one but important so that one never forgets the tragedy that occured here so it may never occur again. Excellent book shop at end of tour; Ryan recommended books appropriate for my friends back home. Easily could have spent more hours here; so much informaiton. A must to see while in Berlin. Easy to get to via trains. Ryan also guided us to Augustiner Brau, the best draught in Berlin, and we agree! We had an excellent German meal here along with this very good brau and it was right near the Fassbender and Rausch famous chocolatier!

Barb and Dave, Gimli Manitoba Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was well planned from the walk through the city to the camp itself. We all learned so much information from our tour guide Torbin. His knowledge and thoughtful insights were a plus. I wish we had longer in Berlin so that we could have attended more of these tours. Excellent way to spend your day. Thanks so much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was very interesting and our guide was extremely well informed. It was a very sad time in the history of the world, but knowing more about it and seeing what people endured, as difficult as it is, it just seemed like a necessary thing to do. To honor those that perished and suffered. To recognize that this can't happen again. To see and have open dialog and not to cover it up, was impressive to me. So, it is deep and educational. A valuable experience. Note: The price is correct, it seemed very low for an all day tour. You do pay your own train fare ( about 4 euros) and it is nice to tip your guide at the end.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Such a great trip. Our guide, Mike, was the best ever and he made our trip amazing! With such a serious topic, he told the storys of the people who were there with respect. Both before and after the guide showed us how to Get there and back again. I highly recommend!!

Alan C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was excellent, as he was English, there was no language barriers. We met at the assigned meeting place and then caught a train to Sachsenhausen. It is about a 20 minute fast paced walked from the railway station to Sachsenhausen. There appeared to be a bus that went past there but this was not referred to. If you are interested in this part of history it is well worth doing this tour. You do need to take your own lunch with you, it was suggested that we purchase a roll or fruit to take with us before catching the train at Berlin's central station. You also need to eat lunch on the run, there is no set time to stop as a group to eat lunch. Even if you have visited a concentration camp before, it is still worth the visit to this one. After returning to the railway station, you are directed on how to get back to your own accommodation rather than return to the original meeting place. Alan and Maureen, Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide Jonny was excellent. He provided much information and insight into what happened in the concentration camps. He clearly impressed upon us the horror of the atrocities committed in the concentration camps. This was time well spent and gave us a greater understanding of what daily life would have been like in this terrible place. The memorial serves as a constant reminder of what we should never allow to happen again.

Andrew J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent- very well organised and a super guide- well worth it!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a very somber tour, of course, but extremely informative. Our tour guide, Jonny, was a gem who knew his stuff.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a very sad but moving experience. Finn, our guide, was fantastic and very knowledgable! We would highly recommend this tour --- least we not forget --- hopefully someday we we learn from the horrors of the past!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Johnny was our tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and polite, answering all of our questions. The tour took about 6 hours from start to finish.

We met near the zoo train station and took the train out, and back.
Note: There is a lot of walking, and no place to eat, so they suggest bringing a lunch and some water.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

our tour guide Jonny was very knowledgeable with a very friendly and passionate character. He offers a lot more information than i would have otherwise expected which are proven extremely useful for me to understand the whole holocaust/ concentration camp situation.

From USD $ 16.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3817CAMP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message