• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 438 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 438 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a very somber tour, of course, but extremely informative. Our tour guide, Jonny, was a gem who knew his stuff.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a very sad but moving experience. Finn, our guide, was fantastic and very knowledgable! We would highly recommend this tour --- least we not forget --- hopefully someday we we learn from the horrors of the past!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Johnny was our tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and polite, answering all of our questions. The tour took about 6 hours from start to finish.

We met near the zoo train station and took the train out, and back.
Note: There is a lot of walking, and no place to eat, so they suggest bringing a lunch and some water.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

our tour guide Jonny was very knowledgeable with a very friendly and passionate character. He offers a lot more information than i would have otherwise expected which are proven extremely useful for me to understand the whole holocaust/ concentration camp situation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Absolutely amazing. Daniel our tour guide was our best tthroughout Europe.

John R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We did book (and pay) for this tour, but unfortunately arrived at the meeting place too late, due to unfamiliarity with the U and S-bahn systems! (Remedied by a sharp learning curve!) Another guide for a different tour group tried to link us up - but to no avail. So we took ourselves to Oranienburg independently and then on to Sachsenhausen. Very glad we did - very worthwhile visit and as expected extremely thought-provoking. Can't really rate the group experience but can definitely recommend the visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour guide was very knowledgeable. Very interesting andgut wrenching at the same time.

Lee M
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Very chilling yet totally fascinating. We had johnny as our guide who was great. Amazing day well spent. I would say put this walking tour at the top of your list of things to do when visiting Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We were so glad we had Torben as our guide, especially compared to how much less complete, interesting, and informative we think the experience would have been as a self-guided or audio tour. In addition to his thorough and balanced insights as an actual historian himself, our guide's knowledge gave a well rounded perspective on time period as a whole! Also, his deft gauging of our interests (and energy level) enabled him to "triage" visits to the areas and exhibits of the camp in a way that matched our group's pace while providing thorough coverage--a great skill in such a long and overwhelmingly rich walking tour. We only wish we had more days in Berlin to enjoy other walking tours he leads.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

great guide!
we took this tour in april and were glad we took the tour rather than doing it on our own. you will learn so much more with the tour. our guide, ryan, was fantastic. he knew so much and shared it so well! i will highly recommend taking this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We spent 3 nights in Berlin and pre-booked this tour as my husband and I were really interested in visiting a concentration camp. It was very interesting. Our tour guide, Mike, was very informative! Great walking tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I did the tour with Finn and it was fabulous, he was an excellent guide and very well informed which included a real sensitivity about the happenings at the camp. He recommended the name of books to do with the concentration camp topics one I have read and he has already emailed the name of the other. Top notch tour would recommend to anyone. Well done Finn.

NeilC
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Carlos the tour guide was extremely informative and flexible with photos, questions and allowing time in each location. The Camp is extemely emotional, but a very very interesting tour. Only suggestion is that the tour should start at 8.30am, and end later. The 1 hour train journey each way, would eat far less, into the Camp tour, if the start time was earlier and concluded later.
Thoroughly recommend this tour, and would love to return to this site, under my own steam, to take my time at each spot and fully appreciate the horrible historical events that occured at this camp.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide was Maria. She was extremely knowledgeable about the camp and its history and also illustrated her talks with relevant incidents from the period. Maria has a very strong voice so everyone could hear her.
These comments also apply to the insider tour taken with Maria on the afternoon of May 4th.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Excellent guide Carlos very informative, interesting and helpful.

From USD $ 20.50

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3817CAMP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message