5 star rating: Highly Recommended 458 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 458 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

very interesting tour and our tour guide mike (who was american) was fantastic! would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Somber. One of those where your not enjoyable and happy to be there, but very informative and amazing to be there firsthand. Guide was great. To test if you can handle this tour, I recommend watching a documentary on the holocaust and if your able to get through it ok, then this is a must

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was well versed and very professional in her explanations and description of the site and the history behind the camp. It was a very emotional experience for the group - quite diversified.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The tour was excellent and I doubt we could have done this without the direction of our guide, Kevin. The size of the group was about the right size and Kevin's knowledge of the site and presentation skills were worthy of note. The tour was informative and filled in a part of history that I did not understand i.e., the role of Sachsenhausen in the war and post war era. The walk from the train station to the "camp" was a bit brisk but not bad. As with most of the Berlin walking tours I arranged through VIATOR it was well organized and good value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Absolutely intriguing tour. David our guide was fantastic as we experienced this memorial tour. Be aware though there is a lot of walking involved.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Kevin conducted an amazing walking tour of Sachsenhausen. He is incredibly knowledgeable about the camp and the history surrounding it. He cares about your experience and what you learn during this day. I liked that he walks fast and efficiently plans the day so that you see so much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Am amazing tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and presented all the information sensitively. So interesting. Make sure you take something for lunch with you as there is no place to purchase food while on the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Ashley, made the trip especially memorable. Her ability to convey with dignity and respect the horrors of the camp were astonishingly appropriate.
A sad, but necessary, experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour was interesting and enlightening thanks to the "big picture" approach of our tour guide Kevin. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Berlin.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an amazing tour. We had a tour guide called Ashleigh and she really brought the camp to life for us, which was sad, of course, but gave us a much greater appreciation for the suffering of others and also a much greater appreciation how lucky we are in our own lives. It felt weird having lunch there, when you thought of how many people had starved to death and also I felt uncomfortable with the people taking happy snaps because it felt a little disrespectful, but to each their own. For us, this wasn't a tourist destination. It is a memorial and a lot of thought and consideration has gone into making sure the exhibitions are appropriate and inclusive, which is fabulous. It was throughly worthwhile. We are very glad we did it. I feel richer for the experience. Ashleigh had extensive knowledge and understanding of the camp and its operations, as well as the regime in itself and camps further afield, which was very enlightening. She also recommended a book by Pindera, a Polish prisoner of the camp, which can be bought at the book shop. It was an incredible read.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Ashleigh was very knowledgeable, and communicated to a large group with aplomb. An amazing experience made all the better via our accomplished guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I had no idea about the role of Sachsehausen in the camp system. Our guide did a great job of showing how this camp piloted each of the more horrible stages of the holocaust as they emerged.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I had no idea about the role of Sachsehausen in the camp system. Our guide did a great job of showing how this camp piloted each of the more horrible stages of the holocaust as they emerged.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had an amazing day. We were met at the Zoo u-bahn station and accompanied to the Hauptbahnof where we were introduced to our guide Ashleigh. She was amazing, very knowledgeable, friendly and approachable, but she also did not hesitate to discuss the most difficult aspects of a visit such as this. We didn't see everything at the camp, there were exhibits we would like to go back to see, places we wanted to wander at our own pace. It's good to take a little 'alone time' to just think. We were lucky, it was a beautiful sunny September day so we were able to sit on the grass for a while. But the juxtaposition of the sun and pretty wildflowers, with where we actually were was very chilling. I couldn't recommend this visit enough. Well organised, efficient, friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I confused the day and the office in Berlin went the extra mile to get me there and I only missed the introduction! Very informative tour guide made this tour! Learned so much.

From USD $ 18.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3817CAMP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message