4.5 star rating: Recommended 148 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kona, Hawaii
  • Duration:  11 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 148 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It gave us an overview of the island that was great, and it was a fun day. The only thing that was a little dissappointing was we never saw any orchids. This is after all the orchid isle.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was interesting and give a good overview of what is going on on the island.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great tour! We were picked up and dropped off right in front of our hotel right on time. The driver/guide was packed with knowledge about island facts and history and was easy to talk to. It made for a long day on a bus but with several stops to stretch and look around was very enjoyable

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Sal was a great guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Enjoyed tour thoroughly.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Had a great day. Polynesian tours looked after us very well. The driver was very knoweldgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good tour! Loved the macademia nut factory and Kona coffe plantation tour!!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

great guide. I was sorry we couldn't see more of the volcanos.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Great tour! A must do when you first get to the island. Driver, Sal, was very nice and knowledgeable

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Greg was our bus driver and he was an excellent guide. He was friendly and shared a lot about the sites we passed and stopped at. We were also blessed with beautiful weather, too. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit the ranch at the end. One thing I think would be good is to have is a warning signal from the bus, a loud but not annoying audible indicator that everyone could recognize to alert people to return to the bus as quickly as possible. It doesn’t seem fair that people who returned to the bus according to the time indicated should have to wait on the bus for an additional 10 minutes after the designated time to depart.

With that said, I think we had a nice group of visitors and the tour itself was a splendid way to see the island. The macadamia nut factory was good because I could send some packages as a present from their onsite postal service. That was very convenient.
It was a tiring day but very rewarding as well, meeting people from many parts of the world and seeing the beauty of Hawaii. Thank you very much for this opportunity and wish you and future customers an excellent experience as you share the wonders of this Big Island!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour. Picked us up at King Kam in Kona and we were on our way- Wasn't sure what kind of day it would be as we moved slowly along the roadways of the many small coffee areas.. but Mack the driver was a great source of information about the islands geology, ecosytems, climates etc. The trip got only better as we moved along--you were left wondering what's next- the area just outside the Kona airport with its volcanic landscapes and impressive resorts was breathtaking. A long day but one filled with tons of new info thanks to driver John. As we departed everybody was of the opinion, "When I return to Hawaii....". There's not much else to say. Mahalo!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour guide..."i gues your not interested in that so moving on"....might want to think about splitting it into a two day tour one around the north end and one around the south...would have love to see more of Hilo and area.

ChrisC
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a wonderful time on this tour thanks mainly to our tour guide/driver Sal. He shared with us his knowledge of the island and passion for it as well as his dry sense of humour. Highlights were the Volcanoes National Park, black sand beach with turtles and the macadamia nut shop with free tastings.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was very informative and customer friendly..transport was comfortable. Only downside the day was extremely long.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Positives: Had a great time. The tour guide was awesome very entertaining. We made a few of the optional stops. It was a great way to see the whole island and learn different spots for visiting later
Negatives: It is long! We left at 7am and didnt get back until 830 that night. Hit traffic and it put the trip behind.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The tour was great. We stopped at a lot of interesting places. Our driver was VERY imformative about landmarks. My only disapointment was not seeing lava, but had a great time.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

It was a very good overview tour; afterward you could decide where you wanted to see in more depth. Our guide/driver, John was very knowledable, informative and had a nice sense of humor. The only negative would be that more time could not be spent in certain places like the Hawaii Volcano National Park. Other than that, it was worth the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

This is a must do tour if this is your first time on the Big Island. Very long but the guide narrated for the entire 12 hours and we learned alot about Big Island history, which you would not know if you drove yourself around the island. Comfortable bus.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Went to all the Big Island sites. Very talkative and informative guide

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

If you visit big Island the first time, I'll recommend this tour. You can get a general idea about this island. The driver was very kind and humorous, he introduced us a lot about this island, including culture,history etc.
The view of the sea was very good, but the time we stay at each place are very short.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Good way to see the island highlights.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Informative it was a great way to start off on the island. The island is so diverse and fertile. I found the trip well organized and fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Very complete and comprehensive tour. It was a full and interesting day. Guide told us a lot about the Big Island with interesting stories.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The driver cum tour guide made this such a pleasant trip. His name is Tommy. Tommy ou are the world's best driver and guide. Well done, tommy of Polynesian tours

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great way to see the island! Our tour guide provided an excellent history of the island and suggestions for self day trips and historical sites

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Very informative and enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The tour was very good. The guide was very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

it was good fun. all Crew were helpful. It was long day but good fun. they stopped at choclate factory and nut factory where I didn't want to go but other place were good to visit and defenately worth of moneey

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was a very long day but worth it. Tommy our driver/guide was full of knowledge. I am glad I let someone else do the drive around the island. We had many stops plus extra ones and fortunately the weather was perfect.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was a fine trip with much explanation by our guide. It is amazing that he was able to tell us so much and entertain for so many hours. Than you

Peter
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The tour was very informative and gave us a great picture of the hi-lites of the island

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Was an amazing trip! saw everything on the island. only complaint was that it was a long day but what can you do. Had great time at the volcano and lava flow sites, also seeing the black sand beach. Tour guide was helpful, full of knowledge and great to listen too.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Wonderful trip. The guide was knowledgeable and very pleasant. It did get started late due to people not being ready, and several mudslides along the route. We unfortunately did not get to see everything the guide wanted, but all in all was a good trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was great. A bit of trouble sorting out pick up. I booked on line before leaving and pick up was confirmed. When ringing to confirm 24 hours before tour was informed there was no pick-up from Kona for the tour I had booked. So after quite some time and negotiations got on to Big Island Grand Circle Tour which does pick up from Kona. Paid the extra. The tour was great, tour guide was brilliant and knew his stuff.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour itself was a great way to get to know the Big Island. There was a great variety of stops along the way with something for everyone in our family. We wish we could have stayed at the Black Sand Beach longer and maybe skipped the stop at the candy factory. The tour guide was very informative, funny, and we truly came away from the tour with the "aloha" feeling for which the Big Island is known. The only thing that was not very well done were the hotel drop offs at the end of the tour. We started dropping people off at 5 and didn't get back to our resort until almost 7:30. There should have been an option to meet the tour at a specific spot and drop those people off first, then those that wanted door to door transportation could have stayed on the bus the extra 2.5 hours. This was the reason I couldn't give this tour a 5 star rating.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

It's was a nice trip ,, however it was really fast paced ,, you really didn't get a chance to relax and enjoy the trip,, you jump out of the shuttle take pictures and jump back to the shuttle ,, not to mentioned that the driver never came out and served as an actual tour guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

ok, tour , long really long and stop on too many shopping places for me but it gives an idea on what is in the island to see . I would like to see more costal sites
the tour guide was pretty funny!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Some of the stops were a bit long - but it's a good way to get an overall view of the island.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Good tour. We went during the government strikes, so we were unable to see the Volcano (major drawback as this was obviously a major part of the tour). The highlight was the black sand beach where we saw four turtles on the beach (alive and wild) and another three in the water - it seems that they are commonly seen which is great. Our driver was great - very knowledgeable, however, he did seem to dismiss the fact that we weren't going to the volcano very quickly and not really acknowledge that deficit in the tour. The factories visited were good, with plenty of free samples. Lunch was offered (at an extra cost) and was a standard American lunch. Overall, we drove around the entire island and got to see several different aspects of the island. This was a good one day (12 hours for us) tour around the island.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

I really enjoyed the tour. The driver was very informative and I learned alot about the Hawaiian Islands. I enjoyed the stops along the way. The only complaint is missing the Volcano and lava tubes. But I know that was out of the tour's control. Also, the tour was a little long for me. I think it would be much more enjoyable if it was broken up to a two day tour. Maybe a North tour and a second tour south with a little more time spend at each location. Aloha and Mahalo.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

We definitely got to see most of the island. However, if I had to do it over again, I would have used our rental car. Our driver was marvelous, funny, and informative. But, we did not get a chance to spend a lot of time at some of the stops since he was on a tight schedule. The lunch provided was very good which surprised me for a tour lunch.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

This was a satisfactory tour, but it was a long day (nearly 13 hours). Kimo/Jimmy was our driver and kept telling the same stories over and over again. Sometimes it would have been better to just not talk. Other times, he did have some great insights to let us know about.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

The guide Sal was fun. The island was much bigger than we really thought. The trip to the coffee plantation was more of a pit stop. The black sand beach and the volcano were the best part of the trip. We had time at the different spots at the volcano to explore some. The beach was beautiful. Wish we had more time there. If we go back, I think I would focus on the volcano. The rest of the trip was more of a bus tour (viewing the island from a bus). Rainbow falls was nice but we had 15 minutes. We did get to stop at the orchid place but like the candy factory and the macademian nut factory, it was more of a shop than of interest. Neither of the latter two were in operation when we got there. Also, their current lunch place is on the pricey side.

The tour did give us a good overview of the island and if it were your first time and wanted to see what was available, it was worth it. We did have the discounted price.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Good trip but guide spoke non stop all the way and 12 hours is quite a long trip. An overload of info. Worth doing though!

From USD $ 108.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360_B0001

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message