Insider's Guide to Big Island of Hawaii

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 164 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Gracy S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great overview of the island but its a long day and we didnt see any turtles.

Thomas G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour was very informative. It was a long day so if you opt to take this one, plan it accordingly dependent upon your day before and day after activities. Lunch took longer to arrive than expected even though it was called ahead which did not give us much time to look around before getting on the bus.

jona b

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was fantastic and had great knowledge of the island.

Robert G Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Good and informative trip around the BIg Island. Driver well versed on history information and looked after us.

Great sights and picture opportunities with changing landscapes around every corner, thoroughly enjoyable,

Covey W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This tour was great. We really enjoyed it after we realized that the first driver that picked us up at the King Shops was not our driver for the entire tour. Although we has a blowout of one of the tires on our bus, the running commentary of the second driver more than made up for it. He was knowledgeable and engaging, and share a wealth of information about the islands.

Pat D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I recommend the tour but with some reservations. In booking this tour we knew it was going to be long… however would not recommend taking it with this tour guide. Although he was knowledgeable, he spoke in monotone and with no enthusiasm he also made us feel that we were really putting him out by taking up so much of his time. We did the tour so we could see the island and I feel that the tour would have been better if the candy factory in Helo could have been replaced with a visit to the Akaka Falls, one of the most iconic sites in Hawaii. Seeing all the different ecosystems was very interesting as was the volcano, rainbow falls, the black sand beach and the turtle! I would recommend it, but would not have the same tour guide as he made the tour very boring and made us feel like we were keeping him from other things.

con_verceles27

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

LIZA MARIE D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Amazing tour! Our driver and also a tour guide name Hilary was really knowledgeble I told him he can write a book about big island.. As he has so much to share and lots of information about the island.

Douglas M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Hit the high spots with lots of information and history. Kona Coffee for GREAT coffee (free samples)... Dole stop for pineapple ice cream a must. Go back on your own to try the maze. Rainbow Falls... not so much. Macadamia Nut outlet in Hilo is a great place for souvenirs and orange-pineapple ice cream. Amazing volcano stops. Last stop at another Macadamia Nut place for coffee and nut samples including SPAM flavored nuts!

David P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good tour - we saw the turtles on the black sand beach, lava (lots), mangoes, coffee, volcano and craters (smoke only but got perspective and context), lush area around Hilo, Chocolate factory, Cattle ranches in north. An excellent day with adequate time at each stop. Friendly driver, gave us historical backgrounds. Staying on the island at King Kamehameha Hotel ensured we were totally rested and got to see the local Kona sights in depth.

Edesnedu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Sam, our tour guide, made the difference. I could tell that he did a lot of research about Big Island and we were the recipient of his efforts. And he is funny, too. Thanks, Sam for, how would I say it(?) .. for your thoughtful way of telling us how important Hawaii Island is. I learned a lot. Mahalo.

Jane K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great Day had by all enjoyed the day

Turid S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It gave us an overview of the island that was great, and it was a fun day. The only thing that was a little dissappointing was we never saw any orchids. This is after all the orchid isle.

Marié D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was interesting and give a good overview of what is going on on the island.

Don R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great tour! We were picked up and dropped off right in front of our hotel right on time. The driver/guide was packed with knowledge about island facts and history and was easy to talk to. It made for a long day on a bus but with several stops to stretch and look around was very enjoyable

pat r

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Sal was a great guide.

Bret S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Enjoyed tour thoroughly.

Kristine W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Had a great day. Polynesian tours looked after us very well. The driver was very knoweldgeable.

Jayashri P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good tour! Loved the macademia nut factory and Kona coffe plantation tour!!

Kathleen L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

great guide. I was sorry we couldn't see more of the volcanos.

Torinos72

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Great tour! A must do when you first get to the island. Driver, Sal, was very nice and knowledgeable

Ryan F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Greg was our bus driver and he was an excellent guide. He was friendly and shared a lot about the sites we passed and stopped at. We were also blessed with beautiful weather, too. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit the ranch at the end. One thing I think would be good is to have is a warning signal from the bus, a loud but not annoying audible indicator that everyone could recognize to alert people to return to the bus as quickly as possible. It doesn’t seem fair that people who returned to the bus according to the time indicated should have to wait on the bus for an additional 10 minutes after the designated time to depart.

With that said, I think we had a nice group of visitors and the tour itself was a splendid way to see the island. The macadamia nut factory was good because I could send some packages as a present from their onsite postal service. That was very convenient.
It was a tiring day but very rewarding as well, meeting people from many parts of the world and seeing the beauty of Hawaii. Thank you very much for this opportunity and wish you and future customers an excellent experience as you share the wonders of this Big Island!

PETER T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour. Picked us up at King Kam in Kona and we were on our way- Wasn't sure what kind of day it would be as we moved slowly along the roadways of the many small coffee areas.. but Mack the driver was a great source of information about the islands geology, ecosytems, climates etc. The trip got only better as we moved along--you were left wondering what's next- the area just outside the Kona airport with its volcanic landscapes and impressive resorts was breathtaking. A long day but one filled with tons of new info thanks to driver John. As we departed everybody was of the opinion, "When I return to Hawaii....". There's not much else to say. Mahalo!

DARCY D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour guide..."i gues your not interested in that so moving on"....might want to think about splitting it into a two day tour one around the north end and one around the south...would have love to see more of Hilo and area.

ChrisC Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a wonderful time on this tour thanks mainly to our tour guide/driver Sal. He shared with us his knowledge of the island and passion for it as well as his dry sense of humour. Highlights were the Volcanoes National Park, black sand beach with turtles and the macadamia nut shop with free tastings.

Jan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was very informative and customer friendly..transport was comfortable. Only downside the day was extremely long.

Charles S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Positives: Had a great time. The tour guide was awesome very entertaining. We made a few of the optional stops. It was a great way to see the whole island and learn different spots for visiting later
Negatives: It is long! We left at 7am and didnt get back until 830 that night. Hit traffic and it put the trip behind.

Maria G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The tour was great. We stopped at a lot of interesting places. Our driver was VERY imformative about landmarks. My only disapointment was not seeing lava, but had a great time.

Linda S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

It was a very good overview tour; afterward you could decide where you wanted to see in more depth. Our guide/driver, John was very knowledable, informative and had a nice sense of humor. The only negative would be that more time could not be spent in certain places like the Hawaii Volcano National Park. Other than that, it was worth the money.

Denise S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

This is a must do tour if this is your first time on the Big Island. Very long but the guide narrated for the entire 12 hours and we learned alot about Big Island history, which you would not know if you drove yourself around the island. Comfortable bus.

Greg E

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Went to all the Big Island sites. Very talkative and informative guide

Ma Y

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

If you visit big Island the first time, I'll recommend this tour. You can get a general idea about this island. The driver was very kind and humorous, he introduced us a lot about this island, including culture,history etc.
The view of the sea was very good, but the time we stay at each place are very short.

Elaine S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Good way to see the island highlights.

Stuart W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Informative it was a great way to start off on the island. The island is so diverse and fertile. I found the trip well organized and fun.

Stuart B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Very complete and comprehensive tour. It was a full and interesting day. Guide told us a lot about the Big Island with interesting stories.

daljit g

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The driver cum tour guide made this such a pleasant trip. His name is Tommy. Tommy ou are the world's best driver and guide. Well done, tommy of Polynesian tours

Marion B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great way to see the island! Our tour guide provided an excellent history of the island and suggestions for self day trips and historical sites

John D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Very informative and enjoyable.

Todd

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The tour was very good. The guide was very informative.

Bhavin P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

it was good fun. all Crew were helpful. It was long day but good fun. they stopped at choclate factory and nut factory where I didn't want to go but other place were good to visit and defenately worth of moneey

Gwen M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was a very long day but worth it. Tommy our driver/guide was full of knowledge. I am glad I let someone else do the drive around the island. We had many stops plus extra ones and fortunately the weather was perfect.

Rhonda R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was a fine trip with much explanation by our guide. It is amazing that he was able to tell us so much and entertain for so many hours. Than you

Peter Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The tour was very informative and gave us a great picture of the hi-lites of the island

Chris P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Was an amazing trip! saw everything on the island. only complaint was that it was a long day but what can you do. Had great time at the volcano and lava flow sites, also seeing the black sand beach. Tour guide was helpful, full of knowledge and great to listen too.

Lori P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Wonderful trip. The guide was knowledgeable and very pleasant. It did get started late due to people not being ready, and several mudslides along the route. We unfortunately did not get to see everything the guide wanted, but all in all was a good trip.

Viewing 3 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 113.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360_B0001

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message