4 star rating: Recommended 37 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hilo, Hawaii
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 37 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour. It was very long and worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The tour was amazing - it was a very full day with lots of exits off the bus to go and see the amazing sites - loved it and would do it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

We saw a lot for one tour. Was happy to stop at the macademia nut factory, Rainbow Falls, the orchid nursery, in addition to the Volcano Nat'l Park. However, the bus driver rambled about himself way too much. If he had talked about Hawaii more and his personal life (and bad jokes) less, the trip would have been much more enjoyable. And, there is nothing wrong with silence if there is nothing to say.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Captain Rob was a knowledgable and entertaining guide. I was impressed by his professionalism with us as a group and with the chronic stragglers. The tour itself was very complete and one of the most interesting things we did on the Big Island.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Bus tour was a little long, but definitely worth it for any first time visitors to the Big Island...

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Good tour for an overview of the Hilo side of the island. NIce bus. A little on the long side, but worth the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

It was a good trip (unfortunately it rained all day) our guide was interesting and knowledgeable. Wish we could have spent a little more time at some of the stops but other than that it was worth it

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

It was long, but a pretty good tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Be prepared to stay all day. Tour guide was good and we saw the highlights of the island.

Kelly W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

This was such a fantastic experience. Didn't see lava flow though as the only way to see it while we were there was in a helicopter. Got to walk on past lava fields which was pretty cool. Definitely worth doing.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

Everything was on time and well explained by our tour driver, he was very kind to all the group.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

There was no chance at all to view molten lava - the overview implied that there would at least be a chance. The guide was great - very informative and friendly. The sights we did see were very interesting, but if you are out to see active volcano action, this is not the tour for you.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

This was a great experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Nice tour, but a bit too short. It would be better to spend 10 minutes more in some places.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

This tour wasn't really what I expected. The tour starts in the morning with a stop at Rainbow Falls, which is nice. You get a quick tour of the city of Hilo. Then you make a stop in the Mauna Loa macadamia nut factory. You will not leave here without buying something in the gift shop. They give you free samples and that is enough to make you start looking in the store for these items. The Hershey Kisses with the macadamia nut are excellent! Then, you go to a Orchid green house which I could have skipped. Then lunch. This consumes half your day. Then you finally get to the Volcano National Park. I expected to see lava with everything I read and seeing an active volcano. The only thing you see is steam coming from the crator. At night this steam glows red. Most people flew in for the day, but I stayed on the Big Island. The city of Hilo (pronounced HE-lo) is one of the wettest cities in the world so expect rain. My recommendation is to stay on the Big Island for a couple of days and do this tour as a self guided tour. It is interesting to see. You will want to go to the Mauna Loa. I would have spent more time there than the tour allowed. The Big Island is beautiful with white sand, black sand and even a green sand beaches.

From USD $ 82.29

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360HAWAII2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message