Insider's Guide to Big Island of Hawaii

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 54 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

donald c

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Nice tour. We saw several things that had been on our list and some that were not. The bus was comfortable, we had plenty of time to look around at our stops. The only negative was that because of the size of the group, we got stuck while the driver tried to find stragglers. I guess that is understandable since this is among the least expensive volcano tours.

LATANYA M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Loved the tour guide, Loren. Loved the stories he told and all the sites we saw. For the tour of the volcano itself, I thought we would see the active lava flows. Seeing the past lava flows and ghe steam vents wss intersting but if I ever get anither chance, I will take a night time tour instead. For me it was just a little anticlimatic.

Emma B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great trip. Excellent guide and not too many people even though it was a big bus. My only issue was for me it went on too long (from 9am til 6pm) but that is personal preference, other might see it as value for money

Karen S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We had an excellent day and Laura our driver and guide was a fountain of knowledge and gave us a great experience on the day. We learned a lot and had plenty of time to look around the various areas where we stopped. All very well organised and would recommend to others. We had quite a small group so this made it a little better for us all.

Christina H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour. It was very long and worth it.

ANGELA R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The tour was amazing - it was a very full day with lots of exits off the bus to go and see the amazing sites - loved it and would do it again.

Ann H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

We saw a lot for one tour. Was happy to stop at the macademia nut factory, Rainbow Falls, the orchid nursery, in addition to the Volcano Nat'l Park. However, the bus driver rambled about himself way too much. If he had talked about Hawaii more and his personal life (and bad jokes) less, the trip would have been much more enjoyable. And, there is nothing wrong with silence if there is nothing to say.

Leon K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Captain Rob was a knowledgable and entertaining guide. I was impressed by his professionalism with us as a group and with the chronic stragglers. The tour itself was very complete and one of the most interesting things we did on the Big Island.

Bob DeTrano USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Bus tour was a little long, but definitely worth it for any first time visitors to the Big Island...

Dorothy B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Good tour for an overview of the Hilo side of the island. NIce bus. A little on the long side, but worth the money.

CINDY C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

It was a good trip (unfortunately it rained all day) our guide was interesting and knowledgeable. Wish we could have spent a little more time at some of the stops but other than that it was worth it

Adetokunbo H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

It was long, but a pretty good tour.

Adetokunbo H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Be prepared to stay all day. Tour guide was good and we saw the highlights of the island.

Kelly W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

This was such a fantastic experience. Didn't see lava flow though as the only way to see it while we were there was in a helicopter. Got to walk on past lava fields which was pretty cool. Definitely worth doing.

Fernando C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

Everything was on time and well explained by our tour driver, he was very kind to all the group.

Suzanne L USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

There was no chance at all to view molten lava - the overview implied that there would at least be a chance. The guide was great - very informative and friendly. The sights we did see were very interesting, but if you are out to see active volcano action, this is not the tour for you.

Delores S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

This was a great experience.

Christopher R

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was ok, you don't get to see a live lava flow. You do get to walk out onto some different lava fields, and you see ALOT of craters (my fiancé called it the big hole tour). You do see a black sand beach early on, but if you know your way around the park, not worth the price of this tour.

Anna K

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Nice tour, but a bit too short. It would be better to spend 10 minutes more in some places.

tazman4003

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

This tour wasn't really what I expected. The tour starts in the morning with a stop at Rainbow Falls, which is nice. You get a quick tour of the city of Hilo. Then you make a stop in the Mauna Loa macadamia nut factory. You will not leave here without buying something in the gift shop. They give you free samples and that is enough to make you start looking in the store for these items. The Hershey Kisses with the macadamia nut are excellent! Then, you go to a Orchid green house which I could have skipped. Then lunch. This consumes half your day. Then you finally get to the Volcano National Park. I expected to see lava with everything I read and seeing an active volcano. The only thing you see is steam coming from the crator. At night this steam glows red. Most people flew in for the day, but I stayed on the Big Island. The city of Hilo (pronounced HE-lo) is one of the wettest cities in the world so expect rain. My recommendation is to stay on the Big Island for a couple of days and do this tour as a self guided tour. It is interesting to see. You will want to go to the Mauna Loa. I would have spent more time there than the tour allowed. The Big Island is beautiful with white sand, black sand and even a green sand beaches.

Michael W

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

Viator's web site lists Kona Airport as a pickup spot--it's a mistake! Pickup is at Hilo. The tour was okay, but we were disappointed that we didn't get to see lava or get anywhere closer than what appears to be several miles from the main steam plume. The tour took us to two spots we really liked, the 1992 lava beach, which was a great walk, and another section of steam vents which was pretty and atmospheric on our cloudy day. Lava tube and waterfall were less exciting.

Mark M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

The title of this day trip is Volcano Adventure but probably should be called Island tour and volcano adventure. Before we got to the main event of seeing the volcanoes and lava flows we had to visit a Macadamia Nut farm, and Orchid farm and also toured Hilo on a coach. The time spent at these places was way too long and the time spent at the volcano was way too short in comparison. I was disappointed not to be able to spend longer at the crater and also at the lava flow where we got an hour (this also included eating lunch). In saying that, the volcano is stunning - venting steam/gas (at least on the day we visited). Due to increased gases in the air the volcano park is now closed in places but there isn't anything you can do about mother nature! It was a great experience but i do believe that the timings are all wrong and if the trip is called Volcano Adventure then this should be the main focus.

Deborah B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The tour was eh....We spent too much time going to other places and given time to shop and not enough time for the Volcano. Better off going to the Volcano National Park yourself and doing everything. And our tour guide was nice but had the most boring and monitone voice.....put you to sleep....

ec2reachme

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

The tour is completely mis quoted. This is a complete big island tour with valcano a part of it. Its good but not that great

John L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

overall we liked the volcano part of the of the tour. The driver was very regimented about how long to stay at each part. If you were late he laid on the horn. we felt rushed. I would not do this again

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 102.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360HAWAII2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message