4 star rating: Recommended 82 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hilo, Hawaii
  • Duration:  45 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 82 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

I was nervous about the helicopter ride but within seconds I thought it was incredible and I was not at all nervous during the entire ride. Our pilot was very informative and friendly. I would do it again sometime when the volcano is more active.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

thanks for the wonderful helicopter tour ..we took the tour with male pilot that day..sorry don't remember his name ...but he was great...the sights were awesome...would do it again....
Diane and Leo Laframboise ...sudbury ontario canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Had a great trip my son and I both loved this trip. The pilot was great and had load of knowledge to share with us. If we ever go back to Hawaii we will do this trip again. Thanks to all

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic, weather was awesome, sights were spectacular, our pilot was great. What else can I say...PERFECT!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very good the pilot did a great job flighting very close the volcano in a safe position.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

outstanding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Simply brilliant. The pilot flew us over the volcano, flowing lava and waterfalls, ensuring that he circled both left and right so that people on both sides of the helicopter could take loads of photos. If you are lucky enough to sit in the front, you will either be sat next to the pilot or the door - which there isn't one! I would highly recommend taking this flight.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

amazing experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

fantastic one of the best tours ive taken

karen
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

our flight was amazing and our pilot was the best. he was informative and funny. would recommend this to our friends

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful trip. I will always cherish those memories.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very nice trip. Wished there was more lave flowing to see. All in all, quite an experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was great, loved the flight. Our pilot was great, she made sure that we all saw the Lava flow. She was friendly and the ground crew were great. They didn't have any of the videos available though. I would do it without the doors next time.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The people were very friendly, and it was a neat short tour. You don't go too close to the volcanos, however we did see lava flow, and a few other neat displays of natural beauty. I would recommend this for anyone wanting a short ride, but for a longer more indepth tour I would explore your options, and spend a little more.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great experience but wish we had seen lava flow as dramatic as in the ad, but obviously that's up to nature not the tour. Great pilot, gave relevant into throughout.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The waterfall was a real let down after the excitement of flying over the volcano and seeing the flowing lava. The helicopter ride is cool and a real must!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great pilot! The ride was interesting and pilot did a great job getting in the right spots for great pictures.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Falls part seemed a bit like an after thought but the volcano tour was the best...the pilot circled so all could see from all angles!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a great helicopter and a great pilot with fantastic information on the Island and the Crater and the Lava flow.

I was hoping to see a high cliff area - yet this area did not have that - seemed relatively flat with a pushed up crater. And the Laval flow was very slow and gradual instead of really flowing.

So my expectations of what I would see was not the same as what I did see.

Excellent flight.

Thanks

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Excellent tour giving a great overview of the immense scale of the volcano and the past activity. Not much live activity to see but that is in natures control. Staff were friendly and helpful and looked after us. We went in the four seat small helicopter which was tight in the back for a large person and the views were really only out one side of the helicopter. My wife who was on the other side in the back got a different view than I did in some areas. The pilot tried to show the main sights from both sides by turning the helicopter around and approaching from different angles. All up a very worthwhile and satisfying way to see the volcano.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We were each suppose to have a window seat. Didn't happen. But the flight was awesome.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The people at Paradise Helicopters were very friendly and helpful. We had a good view of the volcano and the waterfalls. The volcano was pretty quiet when we were there but we did see some hot red lava and trees burning as the lava spread. The open door helicopter was not at all frightening and the trip was good fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great tour ! Gary was a great guide ! Views were excellent ! Would do it again !!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

We really enjoyed the flight. The pilot was very informative and the views were excellent. The only negative was that we did not get close to the waterfalls. We could see them,just not up close. The lava flows were interesting. We will recommend your tour to our friends who are traveling there soon!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We had a very pleasant and experienced pilot who did a fantastic job with what Mother Nature provided that day. The ground crew was so amenable and friendly as we opted for doors-off at the last moment and they accommodated us. The only "problem" was that the volcano was nothing like the picture We flew over the smaller volcano and saw spots of lava about a foot in diameter and tiny fingers of lava entering the ocean. The lava wasn't flowing but the scenery was enjoyable and overall it was still great!

From USD $ 232.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5120_H0002

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message