4.5 star rating: Recommended 93 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hilo, Hawaii
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Fantastic tour, made even better with our tour guide Rob. Very informative and great scenery.

Paul T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We choose Roberts Hawaii for our tour as it is one of the biggest tour operators and is cheaper then the tours provided by our cruise ship Pride of America. We visited the same places as other expensive tours. Hilo is on the big island of Hawaii. It is the wettest place. We visited a Rainbow Fall. We saw a rainbow in the fall created by the mist of the water fall. We visited a Volcanoes National Park where we saw an active volcanoe and able to walk on a old laver flow field. We also get to walk in a laver tube and saw a steam vent created by the volcanoe. We went to an orchard farm which was beautiful. The tour bus driver was friendly and provided lots of information about the places we went to. It was worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great tour. The driver/guide was very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The tour guides that are assigned these excursions are superior in their knowledge.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Very informed guide made trip even better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This tour was fantastic! Beautiful sites not to miss... The bus driver had a wonderful personality with his wit, knowledge of the island and narrating ability. We had a great day, being picked up and dropped off on time. I would definitely recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Was an amazing day.. the trip was great and all the stops were so much fun.. Our bus driver/tour guide Derrik was so wonderful.. he was very detailed in his explanations of the sight seeing as well as quite the comedian. I loved every minute of this excursion... Would do it again in a second. thank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great tour of all local attractions, the tour bus driver was one of the best tour guides we have ever had and did a great job of explaining both history and attractions of the Island we visited.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fabulous. The guide was very informative and very willing to please everyone. We didn't miss a thing and had ample time at each location for pictures. II plan on returning in the near future and will definitely call Viator for my tours. Viator certainly helped make my Hawaiian vacation "A Vacation Dream". Thanks again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The tour was awesome! The cruise ship I was on wanted to charge almost double for the same tour so the price was amazing. The tour guide was very informative and entertaining. I would absolutely use viatour again for future vacation adventures!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellant trip with lovely views and made thoroughly enjoyable by our entertaining guide Derek.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very interesting and well narrated by bus driver. Enjoyed the sideline tours of the falls and macadamia factory as well. Would definitely recommend this trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We really enjoyed seeing the National Park; the guide was very fun and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Enjoyed the excursion very much. Very interesting and beautiful. Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Roberts Hawaii made this a very pleasurable excursion. Knowledgeable staff and well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT EXCURSION. tHE DRIVER OF OUR BUS WAS VERY KNOWLEDGABLE AND FUN, WE SAW EVERYTHING WE WERE PROMISED AND WE TRULY ENJOYED SEEING THE VOLCANOES NATIONAL PARK AND THE RAINBOW FALLS. VERY BEAUIFUL. WELL WORTH THE PRICE.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We had a great day, the place is exceptionally beautiful. The tour was split in to a large coach and a small mini bus, we were very lucky to be on the mini bus as the driver explained he would rearrange the day to avoid the crowds (we were from the cruise ship so there were about 8 other large coaches going to the same place).

Pick up was easy, the driver was funny, friendly and helpful, we saw everything on the itinerary and then some additional spectacular spots courtesy of the drivers knowledge. We had 15 to 30 minutes in each of the places which doesn't sound long but was more than adequate.

Have found all Viator tours well planned and arranged. Would always go them first to book.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was our favorite tour, our driver was very funny and made the trip fun, gave us good hints on purchases at the Coffee store, the Kona Shortbread cookies were wonderful, we saw so many beautiful sights and learned so much about the Big Island. Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Really enjoyed this tour inspite of the on and off raining.Our Tour Guide"Junior" of Roberts Ha-waii entertained us from start to finish.All of us wished the 61/2 hrs. tour kept going even when we're already in our Cruise ship.Bravo !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Very good, as advertised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Great tour well worth the dollars.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We are a couple in our 70's and we enjoyed this tour very much. The tour guide was very informative and we were lucky as it never rained on us the entire excursion. I would recommend this to friends.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

One too many stop at tourist traps but the tour itself was amazing and well worth while. It is definitely a must see tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The sites were incredibly beautiful but I wish we had more time to explore them. I also felt the shopping experiences (Mauna Loa macadamia nut farm, Orchid Farm (more like 'store') and Big Island Candy) were unnecessary and too long. Maybe only 1 stop at Mauna Loa instead of 2 with extra time to explore to volcano, waterfall and lava tube.

The bus driver (I wish I could remember his name!) was incredible and friendly. He told us legends passed down from his grandmother as we drove and even told us about the local flora of Hawaii.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very nice tour. The driver was very informative and stopped at a lot of very interesting places. Rainbow falls was nice, but being next to the road, there was a lot of people there from other tour groups and private vehicles.

From USD $ 69.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5123PRTITO518RF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message