4.5 star rating: Recommended 86 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hilo, Hawaii
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 86 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time on our tour. Bob had so much information that he shared with us. He was great. The weather cooperated and was clear when we were at the National Park which I understand is pretty rare. We did wish there had been more time at the sites and maybe less at the shopping stops.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Worth the trip when in Hilo.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great excursion, tour guide very friendly. Beautiful day with hardly any rain !!! :)

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Driver/Tour guide was informative and entertaining!
I enjoyed all the stops along the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Volcano excellent, falls a little disappointing. Shame about our driver/guide "bombarding" all with his beliefs. Even too much for those who share his faith.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Driver - Derek, was very informative and comical. Great tour to catch all the touristy highlights - volcano crater, walking on lava, LOVED the lava tube walk, macadamia nut factory, impressive orchids with free one for your hair, candy factory ( a little over priced), city tour and history lesson from Derek and Rainbow falls.( best to walk up the stairs and see the amazing Banyon tree at the top).

It was dissappointing that there was not a lunch spot or even a bottle of water supplied. We were able to purchase a sandwich at our first stop - the macadamia nut factory - this maybe should have been arranged to be around noon so you could enjoy an outdoor, sit down lunch. Take some food with you as very limited other options available at any of the stops, except ice cream, nuts and candy. A good tour though and would recommend for anyone wanting to hit the highlights around Hilo.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Excursion was good however contractor claimed that our booking had not been confirmed by viator

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Junior made it a very enjoyable and informative trip. He had lots of good interesting information and made the day fun for everyone. We all enjoyed learning the "Just Hang loose" song. The lava tube was more than I expected and the stop at the orchid farm was wonderful. The Macadamia nut farm stop was also enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The driver on this tour gave a lot of history of the area and allowed plenty of time for pictures. The candy store stop was a bit too pricey for us.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

A very pleasant tour. The only disappointment was no water at Rainbow falls, but beyond your control. Our tour guide/driver very knowledgeable and friendly.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our driver, David, was very entertaining and provided a lot of information about the local flowers and trees.The views of the lava fields and volcano were great and the walk through the Thurston Lava Tube was a once in a lifetime experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Worth every minute to the tour. Interesting and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Very nice and just as advertised!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Junior was great. We really enjoyed the entire tour. It was a great way to see all of Hilo. Would recommend to friends and family.

Hawkeye
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

An eye opener to see such scenery for the first time. Our coach driver had a vast knowledge and kept us entertained for the entire journey. A tour not to miss.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

great day lots of information and great transportation with Robertshawaii, loved the various locations we visited thank you very much

Graham L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

John was our driver and he was very informative.
The excursion was excellent, the volcano was simmering ready for its next eruption. Falls very lovely.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Tour very well done

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

The drive was very knowledgable and interesting. We were a little disappointed that the volcano was not accessible.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Great tour. WIsh we could have had more time at the volcano park and not stop at so many shopping places. Identical tour as the ship offer but much cheaper.

ANN K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Nice day out lots to see although could have given the orchid shop a miss as being from overseas you cant buy anything because of the custom rules. Volcanoes park was good

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We had about 15-20 mins at each stop. Not enough time for lunch. Sites were great but 30mins each would have been better.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Volcano was very interesting and I enjoyed it but I did not like that we were taken to too many retail outlets. I did not go on this tour to visit shops. Because of this I thought the price was too much. The tour guide was very informative and friendly though.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The canyon view was outstanding, so was spouting horn, quick view of waterfall. These were done in the morning part of the trip. Then went back to ship for 1 hour for lunch. Afternoon trip at Smith's Fern Grotto was nice and peaceful. However this was a very full day of alot of driving on the tour bus.

From USD $ 69.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5123PRTITO518RF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message