Viewing All 106 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Marilou R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Really enjoyed this tour inspite of the on and off raining.Our Tour Guide"Junior" of Roberts Ha-waii entertained us from start to finish.All of us wished the 61/2 hrs. tour kept going even when we're already in our Cruise ship.Bravo !

Rita K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Very good, as advertised.

Karen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Great tour well worth the dollars.

Anne H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

An excellent excursion with a very knowledgeable and helpful driver.

hbartel

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was basically the same tour available from the cruise line but this was a better value and included a couple more stops.

Norma D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Volcano was very interesting! Rainbow falls was beautiful! Just wish we could of spent a little more time there.

Brian N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent and entertaining driver but when you are seated at the back of the bus the time to disembark at the stops cuts too much into the visit time.

elliecjc60

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We are a couple in our 70's and we enjoyed this tour very much. The tour guide was very informative and we were lucky as it never rained on us the entire excursion. I would recommend this to friends.

Sergio N

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

One too many stop at tourist traps but the tour itself was amazing and well worth while. It is definitely a must see tour.

Julie L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The sites were incredibly beautiful but I wish we had more time to explore them. I also felt the shopping experiences (Mauna Loa macadamia nut farm, Orchid Farm (more like 'store') and Big Island Candy) were unnecessary and too long. Maybe only 1 stop at Mauna Loa instead of 2 with extra time to explore to volcano, waterfall and lava tube.

The bus driver (I wish I could remember his name!) was incredible and friendly. He told us legends passed down from his grandmother as we drove and even told us about the local flora of Hawaii.

Charles R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very nice tour. The driver was very informative and stopped at a lot of very interesting places. Rainbow falls was nice, but being next to the road, there was a lot of people there from other tour groups and private vehicles.

Phyllis K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Overall a nice tour. The falls were not as large as I expected and we only had 15 minutes there with the bathroom break. The national park was beautiful. Also stopped by the Moana Lau candy store and an orchid orchard. Our bus did break down mid trip but a replacement was sent quickly. James, our tour guide had a great personality and was very informative about the area.

Diane C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour guide!

Robin M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

It rained the day we went on our excursion so not the best weather for this trip. I felt more time was needed at the falls and sink hole sights. Maybe remove the macadamia nut, chocolate store and orchid parts of the tour (which really weren't tours anyway) and concentrate on the VNP and Falls. Our tour guide James was excellent. He was a walking encyclopedia. Our bus had mechanical issues so they had to send a different one. So ensure that buses are in proper working order should be done before each tour. Would have been nice if a box lunch, water and rain gear were included.

Laurie B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was great and our bus driver was very entertaining

Robert P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We could not go to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park due to the government shutdown. The tour operator adjusted by taking us to the larger Akaka Falls and down to the lava flows at Kalapana beach. Plus quick stops at the zoo and a candy factory, and the Mauna Kea macadamia plantation. Bus driver/tour guide Sun was great and made the best of the situation.

DENNIS S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

It was a good tour. The tour driver was wonderful and had great information. What I would suggest for improvement is to mention to the people taking the tour to bring jackets and umbrellas. We came off the ship and it was sunny and warm. Once we started driving, the weather was not good and it poured We had on short sleeve shirts and shorts. It was a long day for us not to have jackets or a sweatshirt or an umbrella. I personally thought the day was too long especially since my family of 4 froze all day. When we returned to the ship at the end of the tour it was sunny and warm again.

Gary T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time on our tour. Bob had so much information that he shared with us. He was great. The weather cooperated and was clear when we were at the National Park which I understand is pretty rare. We did wish there had been more time at the sites and maybe less at the shopping stops.

Jesus Octavio O

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Worth the trip when in Hilo.

Johnny S Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great excursion, tour guide very friendly. Beautiful day with hardly any rain !!! :)

Lynn P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Driver/Tour guide was informative and entertaining!
I enjoyed all the stops along the tour.

Stephen S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Volcano excellent, falls a little disappointing. Shame about our driver/guide "bombarding" all with his beliefs. Even too much for those who share his faith.

Joyce2429063

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Driver - Derek, was very informative and comical. Great tour to catch all the touristy highlights - volcano crater, walking on lava, LOVED the lava tube walk, macadamia nut factory, impressive orchids with free one for your hair, candy factory ( a little over priced), city tour and history lesson from Derek and Rainbow falls.( best to walk up the stairs and see the amazing Banyon tree at the top).

It was dissappointing that there was not a lunch spot or even a bottle of water supplied. We were able to purchase a sandwich at our first stop - the macadamia nut factory - this maybe should have been arranged to be around noon so you could enjoy an outdoor, sit down lunch. Take some food with you as very limited other options available at any of the stops, except ice cream, nuts and candy. A good tour though and would recommend for anyone wanting to hit the highlights around Hilo.

JANICE E H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Excursion was good however contractor claimed that our booking had not been confirmed by viator

Sharon W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Junior made it a very enjoyable and informative trip. He had lots of good interesting information and made the day fun for everyone. We all enjoyed learning the "Just Hang loose" song. The lava tube was more than I expected and the stop at the orchid farm was wonderful. The Macadamia nut farm stop was also enjoyable.

Viewing 3 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 89.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5123PRTITO518RF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message