• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 75 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hilo, Hawaii
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 75 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Roberts Hawaii made this a very pleasurable excursion. Knowledgeable staff and well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT EXCURSION. tHE DRIVER OF OUR BUS WAS VERY KNOWLEDGABLE AND FUN, WE SAW EVERYTHING WE WERE PROMISED AND WE TRULY ENJOYED SEEING THE VOLCANOES NATIONAL PARK AND THE RAINBOW FALLS. VERY BEAUIFUL. WELL WORTH THE PRICE.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We had a great day, the place is exceptionally beautiful. The tour was split in to a large coach and a small mini bus, we were very lucky to be on the mini bus as the driver explained he would rearrange the day to avoid the crowds (we were from the cruise ship so there were about 8 other large coaches going to the same place).

Pick up was easy, the driver was funny, friendly and helpful, we saw everything on the itinerary and then some additional spectacular spots courtesy of the drivers knowledge. We had 15 to 30 minutes in each of the places which doesn't sound long but was more than adequate.

Have found all Viator tours well planned and arranged. Would always go them first to book.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was our favorite tour, our driver was very funny and made the trip fun, gave us good hints on purchases at the Coffee store, the Kona Shortbread cookies were wonderful, we saw so many beautiful sights and learned so much about the Big Island. Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Really enjoyed this tour inspite of the on and off raining.Our Tour Guide"Junior" of Roberts Ha-waii entertained us from start to finish.All of us wished the 61/2 hrs. tour kept going even when we're already in our Cruise ship.Bravo !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Very good, as advertised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Great tour well worth the dollars.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Overall a nice tour. The falls were not as large as I expected and we only had 15 minutes there with the bathroom break. The national park was beautiful. Also stopped by the Moana Lau candy store and an orchid orchard. Our bus did break down mid trip but a replacement was sent quickly. James, our tour guide had a great personality and was very informative about the area.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great tour guide!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

It rained the day we went on our excursion so not the best weather for this trip. I felt more time was needed at the falls and sink hole sights. Maybe remove the macadamia nut, chocolate store and orchid parts of the tour (which really weren't tours anyway) and concentrate on the VNP and Falls. Our tour guide James was excellent. He was a walking encyclopedia. Our bus had mechanical issues so they had to send a different one. So ensure that buses are in proper working order should be done before each tour. Would have been nice if a box lunch, water and rain gear were included.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was great and our bus driver was very entertaining

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We could not go to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park due to the government shutdown. The tour operator adjusted by taking us to the larger Akaka Falls and down to the lava flows at Kalapana beach. Plus quick stops at the zoo and a candy factory, and the Mauna Kea macadamia plantation. Bus driver/tour guide Sun was great and made the best of the situation.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

It was a good tour. The tour driver was wonderful and had great information. What I would suggest for improvement is to mention to the people taking the tour to bring jackets and umbrellas. We came off the ship and it was sunny and warm. Once we started driving, the weather was not good and it poured We had on short sleeve shirts and shorts. It was a long day for us not to have jackets or a sweatshirt or an umbrella. I personally thought the day was too long especially since my family of 4 froze all day. When we returned to the ship at the end of the tour it was sunny and warm again.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We had a great time on our tour. Bob had so much information that he shared with us. He was great. The weather cooperated and was clear when we were at the National Park which I understand is pretty rare. We did wish there had been more time at the sites and maybe less at the shopping stops.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Worth the trip when in Hilo.

Special Offer

From USD $ 66.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5123PRTITO518RF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message