4 star rating: Recommended 68 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kona, Hawaii
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 68 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good Food Good Entertainment

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Good Luau. More people than advertised, but still very good. We arrived at recommended time and had to wait nearly 2 hours before we ate. There's an extra charge for reserve seats, didn't expect that.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great Evening. Good food!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

ENJOYABLE

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The food and show were very good. Checking in was sort of confussing and took a long time

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

For me this was the highlight of our short trip to the big island. The food was plentiful and good. The entertainment was well presented. The line to get in and to get the initial bar drinks were slow but once everyone was in it became much better. The line for the buffet moved quickly as they had six lines moving.

The MC was great. He explained the different types of dances. The dancers were fun to watch. The fire dance was outstanding.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

This was a great show, it was fun and the setting was very nice. The food was good, but could have been slightly improved as some of the dishes were dry (chicken) and there were not many vegetarian options - but overall, it was what I would expect. Also it was easy to check in with my vouchers on the iphone app.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great food great show. The finale end it off perfect.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great setting,good food. The fire dance was fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Luau was good. male dancers were great
Food was plenty and enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The performance and the setting was excellent. The dinner serving was well organized. The food itself was okay and they ran out of one item.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

beautiful sunset view

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

This Luau was good, I loved the show, the dancers were really good, the only thing I did not like that much was the setting, it was a rather small place but overall we had fun, good food and excellent show.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Our first Luau and we really had a good time. It's hard not to when you're in Hawaii. The dancers were great. Some problems with the sound system and lighting at times, and punch was pretty much just juice, but over all it was a great experience and we would recommend it to friends.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

The show was quite entertaining and well done. The food was cafeteria style but tasty, with enough to eat. My only "negative" was that I saw the price about $5 cheaper elsewhere online (which would have saved me $20 for the four of us!) and also even found coupons on our plane! So I was a little frustrated about the cost I prepaid, but the event was fun.

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for leaving your feedback! We're glad to hear you had a great time. We just wanted to comment on the pricing that you mentioned - in case anyone reading ran into the same experience as you.



If you ever run into an issue where the pricing is cheaper somewhere else, please remember that Viator does have a Low Price Guarantee! Please see the link below for details:


http://www.viator.com/about/why-book-with-viator/guaranteed-low-prices



Happy Travels!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very nice luau. This was the only one we went to so we don't have any to compare but I thought it was great. Plenty of drinks and food. The pork cooked in the Imu was DELICIOUS! Great luau show as well.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

The performers were great. The food was okay. The mai tais were good.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Very Nice, had a good time.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2010

We have seen many, food is great, show is nice, the area is picture worthy.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The food was ok but the dance troupe was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Bathrooms are located in the lobby of the hotel - a long way to walk for someone who uses a cane. Food, entertainment, clientelle made for a fun evening.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

A great performance! The kids especially liked the fire dance. The show is definitely worth seeing! We signed up for the preferred seating which was considerably more expensive than general seating. The selling point was that the waiters bring the food to you. Not worth it! I would definitely recommend getting general seating and arriving early 5 pm for better seating. The food that the waiters brought was limited and honestly not very good, whereas the buffet you had significantly more choices. The overall experience was good!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Setting was spectacular. Entertainment was excellent. Food was superb....open bar. Priceless! Two thumbs up.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We paid extra so that we could be seated in the Royal division. But although we were at the front 6 rows back of the stage, we were sideways on and it was awkward for us to see all the action going on on the stage. We attended a luau on Maui when we were there in 2000 and that was much much better then this. We were disappointed that there was too much singing and not enough action, although the fire eaters were wonderful. The food was also good but not enough choice. We enjoyed the evening mainly because of the friendliness of fellow diners.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Nice presentation and great show. I did not enjoy the meal. I would also limit the amount of seating. Placing the additional seating on the grass on the right side of stage was a bit crowded and hard to see the stage.

From USD $ 88.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2784LAVA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message