4 star rating: Recommended 72 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Kona, Hawaii
  • Duration:3 hours (approx.)

Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 72 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 3 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Setting was spectacular. Entertainment was excellent. Food was superb....open bar. Priceless! Two thumbs up.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We paid extra so that we could be seated in the Royal division. But although we were at the front 6 rows back of the stage, we were sideways on and it was awkward for us to see all the action going on on the stage. We attended a luau on Maui when we were there in 2000 and that was much much better then this. We were disappointed that there was too much singing and not enough action, although the fire eaters were wonderful. The food was also good but not enough choice. We enjoyed the evening mainly because of the friendliness of fellow diners.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Nice presentation and great show. I did not enjoy the meal. I would also limit the amount of seating. Placing the additional seating on the grass on the right side of stage was a bit crowded and hard to see the stage.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This is a good show. not lots to do. gave you plenty of drinks, plenty of food. Show was less exciting until the end when they get to the fire shows of samoa.

Stephen B
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2013

No the best Luau I've been to as the show doesn't really begin till after you have ate and the bar has closed, but the food was really good and plenty of choices the bar was good as well with plenty of drinks on offer, staff where friendly and helpful, show was good, only negative is sloping tables sort of sitting on a a downhill gradient for most of the general seating

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Great entertainment but they ran out of some of the food.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

This was about what I expected - a very kitschy, touristy experience. Because that was what I expected, I'm glad I did it and I had a good time. The food was fair, but it was pretty cool when they opened the fire pit where the pig had been roasting all day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

The food on offer was great and it was good to try local food. The dances on offer are from all over the South Pacific. If you are looking for just Hawaiin traditional music, dance and stories I would try another Luau. You can also watch this show from the pool area of the Royal Kona Resort for free!

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

I am not very much into things many tourist like to do. I prefer spending time meeting locals and hearing their tips on what not to miss. This luau is very much one of those things I normally don't like to do but the show part was very entertaining. It was fun, and I learned a couple of things about the natives that I didn't know so that made it worth it. The food isn't particularly good, someone here in the reviews described it as "Cafeteria food" and I agree now. Not the quality of food that you would think for that kind of hotel.

The mai tais, sunset and show make it worth it though.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

Food was good, along with the show, however lighting was poor making it somewhat difficult to see.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Poi tastes like wallpaper paste! Enjoyed the show, but had jet lag and had to head for our hotel early. The food wasn't labled so we didnt know what we were eating.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

Food was a bit salty. The location was wonderful.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

On the hotel property and hotel guests were able to watch the show from the pool area. It didn't seem secluded enough. We could have done dinner on our own and watched the show for free.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

We have been to the big island 4 times and each time have had different friends along who wanted to go to

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

We had to wait in a very long line to get in because they only had one person taking vouchers from those of us who had prepaid. Then another long line to get our drinks. It was all you could drink and I had four Mai Tais and felt nothing. I saw the bartender put the rum in but they were VERY weak. The food was just okay. The best part was the entertainment. It was disappointing because it was Valentine's Day and the luau was just so-so. Nothing spectacular about it and not worth the money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

We have been to luaus before and this one could have been much better. The food was OK but not anything special. We chose this one because it was at our hotel location. There are other ones in the area too. Will try anotaher one next time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

HI , they had said it was an open bar, not right , myself and other people were stunned when thr bar closed 2 hous after it opened without warning, we enjoyed our drinks, not rushed but when we went back for some dinner wine, the bar was closed, other people were just as upset., The dancing show was great and then they cane on with a fashion show fore a 1/2 hour, nobody was interested in a fashion show.The maitre d was telling jokes for some time and some people ate their meal which was ok and then left. It was not worth 77.00 $ There are better Lauas out there, we were very dissapointed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

I was a little disappointed both in the entertainment and the food. It wasn't the best luau I have been to in the Hawaiian Islands.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011


2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

The seating was poor. No one faced the dancers, but had to crane around to see. The dancers did well, along with the show host. I felt the 'open bar' was also very poor. They had only a few bartenders for almost 300 people. The bars should be in more than one place and have enough staff to help the guests.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Not impressed. Actually the low point of our trip. Very commercialized, can't see unless you are right up front. "Open bar" is not true... It's only for 2 hours. We were not told to get there 2 hours early to just get in line to get in. So disappointing. Waste of money. Good food. That's it.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

NOT AT ALL SATISFIED!!! When we arrived at the luau, our names were not on the list. We had to sit in the back of the room and our view was blocked by a post. I will never book with Viator again.

Viewing 3 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3

From USD $ 88.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2784LAVA


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message