4.5 star rating: Recommended 92 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kona, Hawaii
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 92 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was awesome and we went to some really unforgettable sites. It was a great experience and our guide Lauren was really knowledgable and great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Good day trip. We have a very good group of people on the bus. The tour guide Matt was very good and knowledgeable. Although there is no viewing of the active lava flow, the places we visited were very interesting. We also managed to view the lunar eclipse during the tour. Enjoyable trip not to be missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful tour packed with great information! My husband and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Matt was a great guide. The day just went by too quickly!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

From start to finish, a first rate tour, with everything you think you'll see and experience, plus more. If you want an edge on the other tourists, this is the way to go. The story behind what you're looking at, putting the puzzle together one piece at a time. I enjoyed small tour atmoshere, with the personal touch that made you feel included.

In one day I can say I saw and learned more by taking this tour, than if I would have wandered around the park and "hoping" I saw everything. This tour hits the highlights, and gives a good base of what the park has to offer. There is literally too much to see in this park. Taking this tour allowed us to maximize our time, while eliminating the stress of figuring it out on our own. The icing on the cake comes after dark, and gives life to what lies beneath. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The volcano tour was one of the highlights of our trip to the big island. We couldn't have had a better tour guide! The whole day was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Small friendly group, guide/driver had great knowledge but knew when to be quiet as it is a long day, and having someone talk all the time can be annoying. Food was good and the park well worth the visit. I would highly recommend doing this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was the highlight of our trip. Our guide, Mark, was awesome. We made several stops and ate lunch between Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa. Mark was very knowledgable and kept things lively. We were also lucky to have a great group of people. Would recommend highly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We saw so much in one day. Our guide was like an encyclopedia with personality. He was extremely knowledgable about things we saw on our tour and general Hawaiian culture. We saw a rainforest, lava tubes, a waterfall, volcanic terrain, and much more.

Michelle G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An amazing tour with a fantastic guide. Taj was extremely knowledgable and provided a wonderful insight into the history of the island, it's volcanoes and Hawaiian legends. He pointed out flora and fauna indigenous to the islands and took us to some out of the way sites that only locals know of. I would highly recommend this tour as travelling in a small group allowed for a flexible schedule and plenty of opportunities for our questions to be answered. Seeing the glow of the volcano at night is not to be missed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the whole tour was well organised, the driver was extremely knowledgeable and the volcano park is fabulous. seeing the caldera after dark enabled us to see the glow of lava.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour with Taj as our guide was excellent. We had a great day weather-wise, and we were able to see the summit of the crater at daylight as well as later at night, and it was well worth it because they were difference experiences. It was a clear night and, even though we didn't see any actual lava flow on the tour, the fiery glow was spectacular. Taj is well educated on the volcanoes of the Big Island and weI learned so much. It was fascinating to learn how the island evolved from the source at the summit to the flow of lava into the sea to the transformation from lava rock to lush green. Taj showed us amazing photos and videos of the eruption in 2008--he is a very daring fellow. I wish I had the chance to go with Taj on the 2.5 hr hike to see the hot lava close up, but he made the 12-hr tour well worthwhile and enjoyable. He is very passionate about the island. He was also very conscientious about the group on the tour, careful not to venture to places where not everyone could participate (we had an adventurous 80+ yr old in our group and she was a real trooper!) I feel that we were very fortunate to have Taj as our guide. It's a long day, but a tour not to be missed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was an outstanding tour for the 11 members, three generations, of our family! Mark was an exceptionally talented tour guide. He was the driver, food preparer and server and most important, knowledgeable, caring, friendly, informative and very patient. He answered all our questions and had a great sense of humor. He picked us up in a good sized, air conditioned van, with many large windows, on the Kona side of the island. We had lots of time to visit many interesting sites on the way to the Volcano National Park. We also waded in the water at the black sand beach, toured the lava caves and visited the museum. There were many stops for photo ops. The pictures are a grand reminder of a very special day, thanks to Mark! Mark was also a very careful and courteous driver. At night, as he drove us back to Kona in the rain, he was particularly careful and made us all feel relaxed. This was a very comfortable, informative and memorable tour, which we ALL thoroughly enjoyed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour with a great guide, Justin! Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great trip, Taj did a great job overall especially driving is some bad weather conditions, on the Lava Tube visit, explaining the different plant life and climate zones on Kilauea along with the myths and legends on the Gods of the Volcanoes!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

From check-in to return one could not find a more helpful, considerate, knowledgeable and memorable experience then what Hawaii Forest and Trails provided. Our guide was personable, the food was great, and the memories from our 12 hour tour will last a life time. This tour offered by Hawaii Forest and Trails is differently will worth it!
Linda Ibbs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was by far the most amazing experience our group ( 6 of us) has ever had. I cannot tell you how much our Guide Justin made this a positive, informative,humerous,comfortable, amazing,we can go on and on. What a class act the company Forest and Trail are. The Volcanoes speak for themselves ! The guide and company made the difference. I love the small group total of 14 pp. it allowed a personal touch to the trip and even some flexibility with our time. I only wish I could get my pictures loaded to post ! I believe that using Aviator for your Trips is the only way to go. They must pick only the best outfits to work with. We also used them for our Twighlight Observatory trip to Mauna Kai Summit, and the same company Forest and Trail same results. professional Informed. I would not use anyone else and highly recommend them to anyone !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Taj was easily the most knowledgeable tour guide I have ever toured with. Anyone looking for an educational experience should definitely take this tour! My only complaint is that others on the tour were not very enthusiastic about learning about the native species of plant and wildlife and really slowed the tour down. Please, if you are just looking to see lava and craters, do the rest of the tour a favor and rent a car to do it yourself.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Seeing the lava glow was impressive. Fun and educational.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Absolutely FANTASTIC!!! Mathew was the best guide ever. His knowledge, information and easy quips about the island, the volcanoes and the history of the people, kept us all informed, and sometimes laughing. Altho it did rain off and on, that did not deter our stops for sightseeing, walks and tours of interesting places. We highly recommend the TWIGHLITE TOUR as it give more of the visual aspects of the lava flows and steam vents. we WOULD do the same tour again should we visit the big island another time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Eugene did an excelent job narrating the trip. He pointed out places of interest and explained in depth the facts about the items we were experiencing. Our trip ranged from warm weather to cool and wet weather. The van was equipted with rain gear, water and hot towels. The lunch and dinner were excellent in taste and presentation. The group in the van was interactive and fun to be with. The view of the volcano glowing in the dark was awesome. We were glad that Eugene was driving the 2 1/2 hours back to our hotel. Great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Well worth the money, Justin our guide was supurb. Very knowledgable. Having such a small group was great

LindaJW
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the day. Our guide Aine was great. Thorough knowledge, missed all the queues, food was good, bus very comfortable. All staff we dealt with we're exceptional. Worth every cent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This is an all day tour, but what an experience! Hawaii forest and trail offered a top notch experience. Our guide Gene was great. He knew his way around the park and provide insight to what we were seeing and history behind the volcano. It was an experience we will never forget.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Wonderful tour. Justin was a great guide. He really helped us understand the history of the park,and it is obvious that he enjoys his job. We all enjoyed the many stories he told our group.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The tour guide RAJ was great. You can tell that he is very passionate about his job. He talked about the animals, plants, trees, the volcano and the legend of Pele. This tour is very educational and will make you want to come back to the Big Island to do more exploration. Great job Raj

From USD $ 196.87

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2804TWIVOL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message