5 star rating: Highly Recommended 62 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Kona, Hawaii
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 62 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the whole tour was well organised, the driver was extremely knowledgeable and the volcano park is fabulous. seeing the caldera after dark enabled us to see the glow of lava.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour with Taj as our guide was excellent. We had a great day weather-wise, and we were able to see the summit of the crater at daylight as well as later at night, and it was well worth it because they were difference experiences. It was a clear night and, even though we didn't see any actual lava flow on the tour, the fiery glow was spectacular. Taj is well educated on the volcanoes of the Big Island and weI learned so much. It was fascinating to learn how the island evolved from the source at the summit to the flow of lava into the sea to the transformation from lava rock to lush green. Taj showed us amazing photos and videos of the eruption in 2008--he is a very daring fellow. I wish I had the chance to go with Taj on the 2.5 hr hike to see the hot lava close up, but he made the 12-hr tour well worthwhile and enjoyable. He is very passionate about the island. He was also very conscientious about the group on the tour, careful not to venture to places where not everyone could participate (we had an adventurous 80+ yr old in our group and she was a real trooper!) I feel that we were very fortunate to have Taj as our guide. It's a long day, but a tour not to be missed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was an outstanding tour for the 11 members, three generations, of our family! Mark was an exceptionally talented tour guide. He was the driver, food preparer and server and most important, knowledgeable, caring, friendly, informative and very patient. He answered all our questions and had a great sense of humor. He picked us up in a good sized, air conditioned van, with many large windows, on the Kona side of the island. We had lots of time to visit many interesting sites on the way to the Volcano National Park. We also waded in the water at the black sand beach, toured the lava caves and visited the museum. There were many stops for photo ops. The pictures are a grand reminder of a very special day, thanks to Mark! Mark was also a very careful and courteous driver. At night, as he drove us back to Kona in the rain, he was particularly careful and made us all feel relaxed. This was a very comfortable, informative and memorable tour, which we ALL thoroughly enjoyed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour with a great guide, Justin! Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great trip, Taj did a great job overall especially driving is some bad weather conditions, on the Lava Tube visit, explaining the different plant life and climate zones on Kilauea along with the myths and legends on the Gods of the Volcanoes!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

From check-in to return one could not find a more helpful, considerate, knowledgeable and memorable experience then what Hawaii Forest and Trails provided. Our guide was personable, the food was great, and the memories from our 12 hour tour will last a life time. This tour offered by Hawaii Forest and Trails is differently will worth it!
Linda Ibbs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was by far the most amazing experience our group ( 6 of us) has ever had. I cannot tell you how much our Guide Justin made this a positive, informative,humerous,comfortable, amazing,we can go on and on. What a class act the company Forest and Trail are. The Volcanoes speak for themselves ! The guide and company made the difference. I love the small group total of 14 pp. it allowed a personal touch to the trip and even some flexibility with our time. I only wish I could get my pictures loaded to post ! I believe that using Aviator for your Trips is the only way to go. They must pick only the best outfits to work with. We also used them for our Twighlight Observatory trip to Mauna Kai Summit, and the same company Forest and Trail same results. professional Informed. I would not use anyone else and highly recommend them to anyone !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Taj was easily the most knowledgeable tour guide I have ever toured with. Anyone looking for an educational experience should definitely take this tour! My only complaint is that others on the tour were not very enthusiastic about learning about the native species of plant and wildlife and really slowed the tour down. Please, if you are just looking to see lava and craters, do the rest of the tour a favor and rent a car to do it yourself.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Seeing the lava glow was impressive. Fun and educational.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Absolutely FANTASTIC!!! Mathew was the best guide ever. His knowledge, information and easy quips about the island, the volcanoes and the history of the people, kept us all informed, and sometimes laughing. Altho it did rain off and on, that did not deter our stops for sightseeing, walks and tours of interesting places. We highly recommend the TWIGHLITE TOUR as it give more of the visual aspects of the lava flows and steam vents. we WOULD do the same tour again should we visit the big island another time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Eugene did an excelent job narrating the trip. He pointed out places of interest and explained in depth the facts about the items we were experiencing. Our trip ranged from warm weather to cool and wet weather. The van was equipted with rain gear, water and hot towels. The lunch and dinner were excellent in taste and presentation. The group in the van was interactive and fun to be with. The view of the volcano glowing in the dark was awesome. We were glad that Eugene was driving the 2 1/2 hours back to our hotel. Great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Well worth the money, Justin our guide was supurb. Very knowledgable. Having such a small group was great

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the day. Our guide Aine was great. Thorough knowledge, missed all the queues, food was good, bus very comfortable. All staff we dealt with we're exceptional. Worth every cent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the day. Our guide Aine was great. Thorough knowledge, missed all the queues, food was good, bus very comfortable. All staff we dealt with we're exceptional. Worth every cent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This is an all day tour, but what an experience! Hawaii forest and trail offered a top notch experience. Our guide Gene was great. He knew his way around the park and provide insight to what we were seeing and history behind the volcano. It was an experience we will never forget.

From USD $ 196.87

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2804TWIVOL

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message