4 star rating: Recommended 214 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bordeaux, France
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 214 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Edwin K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Well worth the trip.

Maxim A
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

It was very good, friendly people, good wine, excellent excursion. Thanks!

L S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

A great visit to the vineyard, the owner was superb and would thoroughly recommend. The time spent in St. Emilion was a super idea. A really super afternoon out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

You go to Bordeaux for the wine, and this tour will take you there. The Chateaux owners are extremely nice and very informative, and that wine isn't bad either! This tour is a must if you go to Bordeaux.

BINA Z
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great half day wine tour, visited two wine estates!!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip was very good. However, what we didn't know was that each day the trip goes to different locations. The day we went, the tour was a few hours in Saint Emilion and a visit to just one vineyard. We didn't really want to see Saint Emilion. I would check first to see what the itinerary is before agreeing.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Well informed guide. We visited 2 wineries. The second one was more interesting. Each winery had 3 tastings which was better than advertised. Overall I would recommend the tour since it I hard to do one in the area unguided like in Napa or Sonoma .

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip. well organised and extremely informative. beautiful scenery throughout and the wine was lovely too.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Being a Unesco heritage site, it was an experience for is and the wine was amazing. Yes, we would recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour for the price. We went to two wineries and had 2 decent sized glasses of wine in each place, of high quality. The staff were friendly and the tour wasn't too rushed. Would definitely recommend for anyone on a budget.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful informative tour of the Medic wine area and families.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My friends and I enjoyed our tour very much are tour guide was very interesting !

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good tour guide, and excellent guides at the two chateaux, especially the bourgeois chateau, which included a grape tasting.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very enjoyable and informative. Would recommend this trip to my friends. The guide on the bus was very entertaining, and the guides at the two chateaux we visited were also extremely friendly and knowledgeable.
Just about the right level of info and detail for us.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We enjoyed this afternoon tour a lot. The tour guide seemed very knowledgeable and the hosts at the vineyards were interesting and informative. We went on the Graves and Sauternes trip and it was great to try 2 very different wines and learn about the different processes.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Lovely tour...unfortunately was rainy so didn't get to see all the beautiful scenery

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good value and very informative and entertaining.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The trip was good value and the guide provided plenty of information. The vineyards were good to visit and were contracting in size and scale of the business which was good. The wines provided for tasting were all very nice

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very good exp with Wine trip and amazing guide. unforgettable wine testing experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Our afternoon tour of Medoc was very enjoyable and well organised. We enjoyed the scenic drives, the chateaux, what we learned from the guide and of course the visits to the two vineyards. The choice of vineyards for the tour was excellent in that we got to see a small but reputable vineyard and understand how they produced their wine and we could compare this to a visit to a larger vineyard owned by a business and learn about such a range of techniques and approaches to wine growing and production. A well organised, thorough, interesting trip with great input from guide and vineyard representatives and nice wine to taste!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Convenient and well organized day trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We did the Sunday trip to the Medieval town of St. Emillion followed by a St. Emillion winery tour. The town of St. Emillion is stunning- you have a beautiful view of the lower town and the surrounding wine country from the upper town, and if you decide to stay with the tour (which we did) the guide takes you into an old Monolithic Church (the largest ever built, a Unesco World Heritage Site) as well as a cathedral and some catacombs- all of which you cannot see if you decide to explore the city on your own as it can only be entered with a tour group. The downside of sticking to the group tour is you only have about 40 minutes to explore the rest of the city on your own time, and like any new town, you could easily spend half a day walking the streets and looking around. I would note that the cobblestone streets are not very forgiving, so comfortable walking shoes and good balance are a MUST. Not to mention the streets are incredibly steep, (they actually have railings on some of them), so if you would find this to be a physical barrier I would recommend doing one of the tours that don't go to St. Emillion. After the tour of St. Emillion we went to a winery in the same region. The lady giving the tour at the winery (her and her husband own it and do all the work) was AMAZING. She gave incredible amounts of detail and was very informative about the entire wine making process. Her french and english was also great- being fluent in both I found she did a much better translation of the two languages than our actual tour guide did when she told us about Bordeaux/ St. Emillion (she tended to give more detail when she spoke in French, so I was constantly telling my boyfriend what he had missed out on). At the winery tour we got two wine tastings- both red, and both amazing- we actually bought a bottle to take with us. Other than being slightly disappointed by our tour guides tendency to explain more in French, I would highly recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

All in all a good tour for the amount paid, but I would likely choose to pay a bit more to do the tour in a smaller group. I found a coach of 60+ people made it very impersonal and too crowded in the smaller wineries.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Wel organized and vlaue for money. It would have been better to visit one more chateu.

From USD $ 42.72

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2915CT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message