• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 170 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bordeaux, France
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 170 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We went on the St. Emilion tasting trip, and it was great. As the bus drove through the vineyards of Bordeaux, the tour guide gave us great background on wines, growing in the Bordeaux region, and St Emilion in particular. Then we stopped at a lovely vineyard for a nice, informative, relaxed tour, and a great tasting of several of their wines. After we left the vineyard, we drove to the old village of St Emilion and the tour guide gave us the choice to wander by ourselves or to get a guided tour of the town. The guide was great, the wine was great, and we had a lovely experience!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Very enjoyable and informative! Good value for money. Visited two chateaus in Blaye and Bourg less well known but really nice. Excellent and friendly guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a really great experience and definitely a good way to see the countryside in Bordeaux. The guides at each stop and our primary tour guide were all very knowledgeable and willing to answer questions. Oh, and the wine was good, too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

An absolute must. Very thorough and a great visit to Chateaus you would never have a chance as an individual to visit. The bus was very comfortable, AC etc. The guide and driver were superb and very knowledgeable about the wine and history of the area. Great countryside tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I could not have asked for anything more. It was perfect. I recommend to everyone!

Edwin K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Well worth the trip.

Maxim A
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

It was very good, friendly people, good wine, excellent excursion. Thanks!

L S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

A great visit to the vineyard, the owner was superb and would thoroughly recommend. The time spent in St. Emilion was a super idea. A really super afternoon out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

You go to Bordeaux for the wine, and this tour will take you there. The Chateaux owners are extremely nice and very informative, and that wine isn't bad either! This tour is a must if you go to Bordeaux.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Convenient and well organized day trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We did the Sunday trip to the Medieval town of St. Emillion followed by a St. Emillion winery tour. The town of St. Emillion is stunning- you have a beautiful view of the lower town and the surrounding wine country from the upper town, and if you decide to stay with the tour (which we did) the guide takes you into an old Monolithic Church (the largest ever built, a Unesco World Heritage Site) as well as a cathedral and some catacombs- all of which you cannot see if you decide to explore the city on your own as it can only be entered with a tour group. The downside of sticking to the group tour is you only have about 40 minutes to explore the rest of the city on your own time, and like any new town, you could easily spend half a day walking the streets and looking around. I would note that the cobblestone streets are not very forgiving, so comfortable walking shoes and good balance are a MUST. Not to mention the streets are incredibly steep, (they actually have railings on some of them), so if you would find this to be a physical barrier I would recommend doing one of the tours that don't go to St. Emillion. After the tour of St. Emillion we went to a winery in the same region. The lady giving the tour at the winery (her and her husband own it and do all the work) was AMAZING. She gave incredible amounts of detail and was very informative about the entire wine making process. Her french and english was also great- being fluent in both I found she did a much better translation of the two languages than our actual tour guide did when she told us about Bordeaux/ St. Emillion (she tended to give more detail when she spoke in French, so I was constantly telling my boyfriend what he had missed out on). At the winery tour we got two wine tastings- both red, and both amazing- we actually bought a bottle to take with us. Other than being slightly disappointed by our tour guides tendency to explain more in French, I would highly recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

All in all a good tour for the amount paid, but I would likely choose to pay a bit more to do the tour in a smaller group. I found a coach of 60+ people made it very impersonal and too crowded in the smaller wineries.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Wel organized and vlaue for money. It would have been better to visit one more chateu.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was good although it got a bit boring near the end with information overload about the history and production of the wine, a little more wine-sampling would have been good. Also the bus ride was quite long, but I assume this would be the case for all the tours, all up it was only about an hour (half hour each) at the vineyards. It was good to see the contrast in wine-making and ownership, one a 5th generation producer and the other with more modern techniques. Have a big lunch or bring snacks as there is no where to get any on the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We had an informative and enjoyable tour of 2 wineries/vineyards. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Even though we have toured vineyards in Napa and France, we learned new info! It was nice to try several wines at each stop as well.

From USD $ 47.68

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2915CT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message