4 star rating: Recommended 214 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Bordeaux, France
  • Duration:5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 214 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was good although it got a bit boring near the end with information overload about the history and production of the wine, a little more wine-sampling would have been good. Also the bus ride was quite long, but I assume this would be the case for all the tours, all up it was only about an hour (half hour each) at the vineyards. It was good to see the contrast in wine-making and ownership, one a 5th generation producer and the other with more modern techniques. Have a big lunch or bring snacks as there is no where to get any on the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We had an informative and enjoyable tour of 2 wineries/vineyards. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Even though we have toured vineyards in Napa and France, we learned new info! It was nice to try several wines at each stop as well.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Perfect half day tour. The tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A very interesting and informative half day visiting the old monastery and the Vineyard.
The talk about the wines, harvesting and the methods were most interesting. The Wines, although I liked their premium wine, was nowhere near as good as most of our Australian Wines.
Had mixed nationalities, during wine tour were broken into 2 groups, English and French speaking. The monastery tour became drawn out with translations. English mainly had a couple of sentence of explanation, whilst the French seemed to get up to 5 minutes, naturally their heritage. However questions brought things to standstill for to 10 minutes or more. For the non speaking French, perhaps some of the questions could asked and answered as we walked, as they were not translated for our benefit.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The medieval village was beautiful and the vineyards were incredible!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great value for money! We really enjoyed visiting both Chateaux. The first had a great guide who explained the whole process from grape to bottle and then gave us a taste of three different wines. The second was much smaller and family owned where after a brief discussion about the region we tasted two of their wines. All the wines we tasted were lovely. Our tour guide was very knowledgable about the area which made the long drive out much more interesting. The only downside was a very inconsiderate family who brought their toddler along who constantly interrupted the guides and annoyed everyone. The tour company should have told the family children are not allowed as the tour was constantly interrupted and the family did not control the child!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

I am glad I took the tour. One will learn so much about Bordeaux wine, and background of various important vineyards in the area. It is a great way to experience and appreciate Bordeaux.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We took the English speaking tour. Very nice that they offer both. Our tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable and gave us lots of interesting facts about the region and the vineyards. First chateau we visited featured Sauterne wine and the Chateau owner was charming and funny. Second Chateau we visited was a much larger operation and it was fascinating to see. We received lots of good information on making wine and tasting the wine was pure joy!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Had a great afternoon at the Chateaux and St Emilion.Great value for money and St Emillion is worth it on its own. Only down side was a dodgy interpreter who sounded a bit like Ello Ello!! Thoughly recommend.Graham, Falkirk

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was a fine tour, the guide was nice, informative and helpful. We enjoyed St. Emilion and the tasting was fine.
Dale Coco MD

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Tour was enjoyable and the two vineyards that were chosen were very different. It was nice to see a more modern vineyard with a much older vineyard.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Great trip to St.Emillion. Not really a 'wine tasting' as that only happens at the end. However, I loved the drive through the country side and the coach had AC.

Ruyi
Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Great host,nice weather and relax

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The trip was very informative and the guide spoke good clear English and explained well. My only complaint is that there are too many people in one group.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The presentation is in English and French, but our tour guide tended to forget to translate to English and the entire trip seemed to be 2/3 French. However, for the price, it's a pretty good value. I went on a Friday and saw two vineyards and tasted 3 wines. Moderately informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Trip is good. The only thing is that you need to choose a right day in a right season with good weather....

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

our tour guide was absolutely amazing! she was upbeat and informative. the wine we tasted was delicious and the vineyards were beautiful. the only thing that i was disappointed with was the amount of wine we got to taste. on other wine tastings i usually taste around 5 different wines and here we tasted only 3. not a big deal but would have liked to try more.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Great tour with a great guide ! All together a wonderful and instructive day.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

I had a very good experience. Both the wineries were beautiful and the owners were very personable and informative. The information on the bus was interesting the only thing I would have changed was to have a little more time after the tours to walk around and taste. We didn't have a lot of time to buy wine before we had to get back on the bus.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Very much worth while to learn about and enjoy the side of Bordeaux that is unknown but every bit as passionate. The visits to the smaller chateau are the most interesting. The last larger one was not as fascinating. A good short introduction if you want to spend a bit less time.

Margaret B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Such a pleasant afternoon and a great feeling being entertained by the "Count" and his devoted dog!! Loved this "hands on" style of tour with the people who are doing the work participating. Love Bordeaux!!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

I found it to be a very interesting afternoon trip. Everything was in perfect balance, the time at the Chateau, the Degustation and the visit to St. Emilion. The guide was superb, she was passionate about her desire to share with us the history of French wine making and her desire that we all walk away inspired that the French production of wine not only benefits the world economy but our individual health. One of my better Viator experiences.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The tour was intended to be with a minibus but it was done with at least 40 people. Still worth to attend!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour, the hosts at the Chateaux were friendly and informative. The town of St Emilion is very pretty all in all a great excursion

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip to St. Emilion and the chateau. My only suggestion is that the guide, who was comfortable in both French and English, speak for 2-3 minutes in each language rather than any longer as it is dull/boring waiting for her to complete her commentary in the other language. She was a very informative guide and it was a great tour.

From USD $ 43.26

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2915CT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message