4 star rating: Recommended 197 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bordeaux, France
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 197 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We did the Sunday trip to the Medieval town of St. Emillion followed by a St. Emillion winery tour. The town of St. Emillion is stunning- you have a beautiful view of the lower town and the surrounding wine country from the upper town, and if you decide to stay with the tour (which we did) the guide takes you into an old Monolithic Church (the largest ever built, a Unesco World Heritage Site) as well as a cathedral and some catacombs- all of which you cannot see if you decide to explore the city on your own as it can only be entered with a tour group. The downside of sticking to the group tour is you only have about 40 minutes to explore the rest of the city on your own time, and like any new town, you could easily spend half a day walking the streets and looking around. I would note that the cobblestone streets are not very forgiving, so comfortable walking shoes and good balance are a MUST. Not to mention the streets are incredibly steep, (they actually have railings on some of them), so if you would find this to be a physical barrier I would recommend doing one of the tours that don't go to St. Emillion. After the tour of St. Emillion we went to a winery in the same region. The lady giving the tour at the winery (her and her husband own it and do all the work) was AMAZING. She gave incredible amounts of detail and was very informative about the entire wine making process. Her french and english was also great- being fluent in both I found she did a much better translation of the two languages than our actual tour guide did when she told us about Bordeaux/ St. Emillion (she tended to give more detail when she spoke in French, so I was constantly telling my boyfriend what he had missed out on). At the winery tour we got two wine tastings- both red, and both amazing- we actually bought a bottle to take with us. Other than being slightly disappointed by our tour guides tendency to explain more in French, I would highly recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

All in all a good tour for the amount paid, but I would likely choose to pay a bit more to do the tour in a smaller group. I found a coach of 60+ people made it very impersonal and too crowded in the smaller wineries.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Wel organized and vlaue for money. It would have been better to visit one more chateu.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was good although it got a bit boring near the end with information overload about the history and production of the wine, a little more wine-sampling would have been good. Also the bus ride was quite long, but I assume this would be the case for all the tours, all up it was only about an hour (half hour each) at the vineyards. It was good to see the contrast in wine-making and ownership, one a 5th generation producer and the other with more modern techniques. Have a big lunch or bring snacks as there is no where to get any on the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We had an informative and enjoyable tour of 2 wineries/vineyards. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Even though we have toured vineyards in Napa and France, we learned new info! It was nice to try several wines at each stop as well.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Perfect half day tour. The tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Perfect half day tour. The tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A very interesting and informative half day visiting the old monastery and the Vineyard.
The talk about the wines, harvesting and the methods were most interesting. The Wines, although I liked their premium wine, was nowhere near as good as most of our Australian Wines.
Had mixed nationalities, during wine tour were broken into 2 groups, English and French speaking. The monastery tour became drawn out with translations. English mainly had a couple of sentence of explanation, whilst the French seemed to get up to 5 minutes, naturally their heritage. However questions brought things to standstill for to 10 minutes or more. For the non speaking French, perhaps some of the questions could asked and answered as we walked, as they were not translated for our benefit.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The medieval village was beautiful and the vineyards were incredible!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great value for money! We really enjoyed visiting both Chateaux. The first had a great guide who explained the whole process from grape to bottle and then gave us a taste of three different wines. The second was much smaller and family owned where after a brief discussion about the region we tasted two of their wines. All the wines we tasted were lovely. Our tour guide was very knowledgable about the area which made the long drive out much more interesting. The only downside was a very inconsiderate family who brought their toddler along who constantly interrupted the guides and annoyed everyone. The tour company should have told the family children are not allowed as the tour was constantly interrupted and the family did not control the child!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

I am glad I took the tour. One will learn so much about Bordeaux wine, and background of various important vineyards in the area. It is a great way to experience and appreciate Bordeaux.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We took the English speaking tour. Very nice that they offer both. Our tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable and gave us lots of interesting facts about the region and the vineyards. First chateau we visited featured Sauterne wine and the Chateau owner was charming and funny. Second Chateau we visited was a much larger operation and it was fascinating to see. We received lots of good information on making wine and tasting the wine was pure joy!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Had a great afternoon at the Chateaux and St Emilion.Great value for money and St Emillion is worth it on its own. Only down side was a dodgy interpreter who sounded a bit like Ello Ello!! Thoughly recommend.Graham, Falkirk

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was a fine tour, the guide was nice, informative and helpful. We enjoyed St. Emilion and the tasting was fine.
Dale Coco MD

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Tour was enjoyable and the two vineyards that were chosen were very different. It was nice to see a more modern vineyard with a much older vineyard.

From USD $ 44.04

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2915CT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message