4 star rating: Recommended 52 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Boston, Massachusetts
  • Duration:  1, 2, 3, 5 or 7 days

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Go Boston Card. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 52 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Go Boston card was a great money saver. We enjoyed many museums, tours and trolleys with a very positive experience. The only negatives the employee at Macy's gave us wrong information about were to take the tours and the card was not valid at Fenway that day,sowehadtocomebackatalaterdate.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our trip to Boston and using our GO Boston card! The card got us in to all of the main attractions that we could squeeze into our short visit. The most difficult part about using the card was having to pick them up from Macy's. Don't drive, take public transportation!! Parking is very expensive and a big hassle! Aside from that, we enjoyed every minute of the Hop On Hop Off tour, Fenway Park tour, the Aquarium, the attractions in Salem (it was great that we were there on Halloween!) like the House of the Seven Gables and Witch Museum. We would definitely recommend the GO Boston card to anyone! We even got to see snow--an added free attraction!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The card was a great deal. We easily got our money worth. The only challange we had was getting started the first day. Had to go to Staples to get a paper copy of receipt after waiting to get the card in Macy's only to find desk closed.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Worth money to enter to the Boston tours you want to go to.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

My husband and I traveled to Boston for three days prior to a seven day cruise. We purchased the 3 Day Go Boston Card and I think it was a good buy. We used quite a few of the items available on the card both in Boston and in Salem so it made for a good purchase.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Good value for money, good list of attractions.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Difficulty in pcking card up at Macys in Boston. Had to wait for some time to be attended to then assistant not sure how to get card , she was also unable to provide any information. Also, not clear that card can be picked up in advance but usage starts on day of first use. Excellent value and range of items included on card, allowing us to see and do everything we wanted. Highlight was Whale watching trip. Skywalk at Prudential Tower could be included as this is a must do.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

I enjoyed all that I was able to participate with the Go Boston card. The only problem that I encountered was actually getting the card. I was supposed to go to Macy's to pick the card up which was fine,but then I had to go somewhere else which wasn't as easy to find to activate the card. This took away a couple of hours that I could have taken in something else from the card. I think it would be better to pick the card up from where it needs to be activated.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Take some time and plan your activities. we saved some money, and saw some great things that we would not have considered if it wasn't on the card. Do not hop on and off the shuttle (there may not be room to get back on) instead stay on and do the full circuit and take the subway to the individual attractions. Make sure you know how to get to Macys to pck up your card, and to the main beantown trolley desk to get your trolley tickes.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Good value, although some of the advertised attractions were not available because we were a bit late in the season.

Andrew R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Was able to see so much of Boston with my card, and the guidebook supplied with the card was extremely helpful when planning our days.

S H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We planned what we wanted to do and used the card to its best ability. Also, not having to pay each time for the attractions made covering 3 or 4 sites in one day very easy. Also at some of the attractions you had priority over other visitors. Also on the whale trip you could book the day before and collect your tickets. Used card in some of the resturants we visited and had no problems with the discount.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

I love the Go Boston Card! We had an awesome driver! Some were putting us to sleep. However, if I am purchasing a 3 day or more pass, I should be able to have more trolley rides! I can't get around town. Also we were frustrated because the trolley map did not clearly reflect some of the stop locations!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Interesting if you prepare your trip by yourself. The cards were ready for pick up, and no extra cost for any attraction we used.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

After purchasing and using the Go Boston card, I found that the attractions I used the card for were not as expensive as the card. Maybe if someone chose only the most expensive attractions to visit it would make the card worth it. It's hard to get the most out of the card, when attractions are only open/only accept the card from 10-5. This was not worth my money.

Robert C
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

We got our moneys worth by visiting a number of the attractions available with the Go Boston card. Most of the time we walked to the Attractions because it was quicker them waiting for the Beantown Trolley buses. A lot of the Attractions were only about 10-20 minutes walk from the Long Wharf, but to wait and take the Trolley buses it took us about 60-80 minutes. All so the Movie and TV tour was very good and informative but started in one location and finished in a different location. A lot of the tourists had no idea how to get back to the start location

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Tour had much to offer and discounts on the local attractions.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

Unfortunately, we were only able to use this twice. We stayed in provincetown and no one took this card nice to have but was a waste for us.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

I felt that it was a hassle finding the locations to have the card validated and then getting vouchers for things like the bean town trolley. You have to find the Quincy Market, then the correct kiosk. It's not too easy when you aren't familiar with the area. And the visitors desk at the Macy's store in the city was a major hassle to pick up the cards in the first place. We didnt see any whales on the whale watch and they don't tell you but you can only go on the 9:30am boat with the Go Boston card. No other times are permitted. So its a little discriminatory. Most of the attractions close at like 5:00 pm.

Nicola E
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I was annoyed to find out when we got the booklet in Boston that we had to pay half towards the Boston Duck; there is nowhere on the website that states this. All it does state is the Duck is seasonal. Had I known I don't think we would have booked the Go Boston Card as the main reason for booking was the Duck. The places on the freedom trail are worth going in if you have the card and use for other stuff.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

This card is very misleading. At the time of the purchase it does not indicate that this card covers almost all activities only until 5:30 pm. You can't squeeze in many activities in this time frame. Also, to activate this card, or activate many activities, such as Duck or bus tours, you have to go to particular places, wasting a lot of time. Unfortunately, this card is proven to be not very practical.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

There is simply too much available to do in the Boston area! When we previously went with our family of three, and used the Boston Go card, we found that it was a terrific deal and allowed us to take advantage of the many opportunities and sites. However, this trip we were travelling with a larger group and we found that the price of the individual admissions would have been much cheaper in the long run. My advice is that if you are traveling as a family, the Boston Go card is an easy and great bargain but if you are going with a group, you are better to simply pay-as-you-go. Groups apparently take longer to see the sites so you aren't able to see and participate in as many of the wonderful options that Boston has to offer. Also beware of the fact that many of the historical sites and other items are available free of charge or at very little cost. Boston is a great city if you want to take a very inexpensive sightseeing tour but the housing and food costs are at the other side of the extreme, so plan ahead by taking food with you, and considering staying outside Boston proper and using the subway which is easily navigable and cheap.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

Not happy that I had to make a reservation for the Duck Tour & then could only get it at one location. I'm also not happy that cards could not be validated for the trolley at trolley stops.

Note from Viator: Thanks for your review, Geraldine. We decided to ask the Go Boston Card staff about your question, and here is their reply:

'We are happy to explain why the Boston Duck Tour can only be boarded at the Museum of Science ticket location. The reason is the Boston Duck Tour is a VERY popular attraction and their Prudential Center ticket location often sells out very far in advance. We want to ensure that as many of our customers as possible are able to enjoy this tour, so we direct all customers to the Museum of Science ticket location, where you have the best opportunity to get a seat. The Museum of Science ticket location is still crowded, but it is less crowded than the Prudential Center location. The tour route covers the same sites and both locations are easily accessible by public transportation (the Green Line). Please note that a reservation is not mandatory, but we highly suggest it since tickets often sell out far in advance. Of course, you can always take your chances and show up early in the morning to reserve a seat.'

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

Get it together your info is outdated, did you realize there is 4 different Washington Streets in Boston. I doubt it because it's not where you send us to pick up the Go Card. I'm sure I missed it in the fine print that I needed to pick up a go card so I missed out on the Plmouth activities and the trolley company is the smallest in the city. It was not your fault they were short a driver and it was 45 minutes between pickups, so we missed out on quite a few places. Now the whale watching was fantastic. Unfortunately your miss information on pick up place for the Go Card cost us and we ended up losing money on buying the card. Sad but true I would of loved to have a good review. P.S. also have your own phone number not a place who can't answer my questions.

Special Offer

From USD $ 53.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3958PASS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message