• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 23 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Boston, Massachusetts
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Newport Mansions and Waterfront Sightseeing Tour from Boston. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 23 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A wonderful tour of the Mansions. Although I thought there was too much time for lunch and shopping I would recommend the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The mansions are spectacular and so is the ocean drive. Can't believe how beautiful the scenery is. That being said the trip is a bit long and while the bus was comfortable and our driver was good, he talked a lot!! Also I was disappointed in Gray Line Tours pick up system. I was told that we would be picked up at the hotel and to be waiting in the lobby, we were but if my daughter had not gotten up to check outside we would not have known the bus was there as the driver just sat and waited outside, never came into the lobby to check for people. He proceeded to do the same thing at another hotel and when no one came outside he left. It also was not possible to get dropped off at the hotel where we were picked up so we had to take the T home. Can't do anything about people who don't listen once on the tour and don't get back on the bus on time so it causes everyone else to be late and then rushed. Not cool!! Oh well it still was a nice day and worth it to have someone else drive.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Well conducted trip and worth going just to see the holiday "cottages" of the rich and famous - sad to think people have to go to these lengths to impress their friends!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This was a good trip. The mansions were amazing. What an insight into how some people lived in those days! I liked the freedom to choose where we had lunch. The town of Newport certainly held enough to interest one during the free time. Be prepared to return late!

Rena G
Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Our driver guide was absolutely brilliant - she was funny, and extremely interesting - I cant believe that she knew so much! However - the trip was too long - we were not back in the hotel until 8.15pm - it took away from the brilliant day because we were so tired.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

The trip started later than was announced and the bus driver was sometimes unable to cope with the microphone and the bus at the same time (well, the driver should do the driving and somebody else should be the guide, in my opinion)
So we had the impression of some unprofessional activity with a lots of changing plans and delays.
However, the trip as such was great and can definitely be recommended!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

The bus driver ruined this trip for us. He did not seem familiar with the tour. He spent most of his time visiting with a male passenger sitting up front. He even apologized for not knowing enough information and said that if we took the tour again he would be more educated on the subject. On the trip home, he drove far too fast and his personality became almost manic.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2011

Not very good.

From USD $ 68.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3978TOUR9

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message