4 star rating: Recommended 87 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Boston, Massachusetts
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Salem Witch City Day Trip From Boston. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 87 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Memorable. Bob is a perfect fit for the job. My only complaint is the restaurant because their service is lousy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide knew all about the history of Salem and directed us to the best place to find what we wanted. He named some good place to eat .....we choose one and it was great . The tour guide went out of his way to make things easy for us. It was a great experience.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

We took this tour because of the great rating it got. However, the Saturday we took the tour, the bus' sound system was on the fritz working only for 30 seconds at a time and then loud pops and whistles. The Driver kept saying sorry but nothing changed. He could have given us a short synopsis before we got off, but he did not. He did however make sure we heard about a particular restaurant and candy store and I am pretty sure he was getting kick backs from them. Luckily the day was beautiful and the tour guides at the Hawthorne House were very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Salem is a cute town, but plan to spend half your day on the bus driving around. Our driver (the same Bob as everyone else) took us first to Marblehead, which seemed more like a detour to let other tour buses finish up in Salem and for him to tell us how he knows Adam Sandler and all the places they shot "Grown Ups 2" in town (I work in Hollywood so this got old very quickly). By the time we finally made it to Salem, it was lunchtime. The tour of Salem itself was about two street's worth, then you're on your own. The web site also doesn't make it completely clear that the House of the Seven Gables tickets are NOT included in the tour price. So if you're not interested in that tour, there's not much to do while the bus sits in the house parking lot for a couple of hours. Lastly, while we all appreciated being dropped off at our hotels on the way home, that means staying on the bus for each hotel drop-off until the bus gets to yours...which can make for a very long bus ride. At least the bus is plenty comfortable, but Bob's idle chatter can get a bit tedious. He's very pleasant, but didn't have much of anything actually meaningful to say and likes to laugh at his own jokes. He's a long-time Boston resident, so I kept wishing he'd have something more substantial and interesting to say other than pointing out the locations where various movies were shot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

From Marblehead to Salem to the House of 7 Gables and the Candy Shop Bob made the trip a total delight!
Hailey my Granddaughter can't stop talking about "BOB!" The streets of Salem were a lot of fun too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip to Salem was outstanding. Our guide (I think his name was Bob but I am not sure) was excellent, entertaining, helpful and well informed. I give him an A++++. I heartily recommend this trip. The highlight for me was The House of the Seven Gables and the Peabody Essex museum which I didn't know about before strolling through the town.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fun tour as well as educational. Our tour guide Bob was awesome! He shared a lot of information with us and really went above and beyond on our trip. If I ever go back to Boston I would love to take another tour with Bob.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

We were unable to take this because of a scheduling problem.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We did not realize there would be a stop in Marblehead on the tour. It took us almost 2 hours to get there and 40 minutes to get back to Boston - seems we went the long way there

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip. Bob had interference on the mic which was painful but all else was fine.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great driver, Bob, very informative and a great personality. Also enjoyed Marblehead.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

great tour we really liked the side trip to marblehead

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Bob has to be the best tour guide ever. Great tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Tour Guide Bob was the best! I wouldn't recommend visiting the Salem witch museum, it's a waste of money and the young female at the front wasn't welcoming. Watch the free video at the NPS which is where Bob drops off everyone.

From USD $ 42.10

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3978TOUR5

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message