4.5 star rating: Recommended 43 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 43 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was really an awesome experience especially the sand boarding. I had a lot of fun. Hope there was more time to do that though. Our guide was great and helpful too! It's definitely a must-try and perfect match of sun sand and sea!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was excellent (sorry we didn't catch his name). One man show taking care of a group of 11 people, leading the snorkelling activity, sand boarding and prepared our lunch. The tour itself was rather short, 5.5hrs only (reach Moreton Island at about 10am and ferry depart at 3.30pm).
Not the kind of leisure snorkelling I was looking for since we weren't good swimmers - we had to swim against the strong current. In another words, you need to be a really good swimmer to enjoy the snorkelling activity. Sand boarding was really fun though!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It is one of the most beautiful beaches I have been to.
You need to be a bit careful while snokelling though - the current can be very very strong.
Sand surfing is also delightful.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good trip, recommended.

RoelZ
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

the snorkeling was very good
the sand boarding was not very interesting

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

It was great! Our tour guide was friendly and knew a lot about the island and all of the activities we did. My only wish is that we had had more time on the island itself!

Susie H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Tour was great. You can see a lot of fish around the wrecks. I thought the group was too large for snorkelling especially as there were a lot of beginners. People were unaware of who was around them!

Sand boarding is fantastic.

Guides were great, fun and informative. I'd recommend this :-)

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Overall, the tour was great, we had a lot of fun! But in the beginning, we weren't very pleased because the tour guide was late and did not identify himself when he got to the pick up area. There were a few other tour companies there so it was confusing.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Very nice tour; highlight: snorkelling around the shipwreck; sand boarding was difficult because of a sand storm

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

It was a lot of fun. Wish we had a warmer day but it was great anyway. The lunch wasn't quite what we expected and some of their wetsuit for the snorkelling need replacing. The activities and the tour guide was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Moreton Island is great! Sandboarding was 100% fun! The shipwrecks are keeping a big secret and snorkeling around the wrecks was great! Over a 100 different species of fish makes this adventure special. Unfortunately the wrecks are "used" as a harbour for lots of private boats that made this place messy. Thats why four out of five points for this at all great experience and day!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Guide was brilliant. Sandboarding was the best thing ever, despite being the hottest day of the year!

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

It was OK. A bit pricey, but it is kind of a long way to get out there. The ferry is over 1 hour. Snorkeling among the wrecks, and feeding the fish was pretty amazing. If you're older go ahead and skip the sandboarding however.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

This trip would have been good if the weather was better. We got all geared up and into the water to go snorkelling and then had to turn back because the water was too choppy. It was a little scary and triring to swim back to shore against the current and I feel this call should have been made earlier before we got in the water. Despite this though we still had a really good day exploring the island and the sandboarding was fun. The guides energy and enthusiasm kept the trip fun and enjoyable despite the disapponting snorkelling experience.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

Food was not enough for everybody and after our snorkeling, we were not able to even clean ourselves from sand and sea water, we had to jump into the car very fast to be able to catch up the ferry.
It was not good to stay 1:30hr with sand everywhere.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

The trip was terrible from the very first minute that the tour company picked us up at the hotel! The truck that you travel in is uncomfortable and not nice at all. The trip was way too expensive for the all day tour that we received. The boat ride was very rocky and numerous people were getting sick. The trip was way too long, the accomodations for lunch and bathroom breaks were horrible. The excursion was very basic with no frills. We didn't even have bottled water supplied during the day or plates for lunch. Maybe we were supposed to bring water or snacks with us for the all-day long trip. If so, this was my fault for not reading the info correctly. The sand boarding involved very strenous walking up high hills. The sand boarding was basically sliding down a hill on a piece of ply-board. The water around Moreton Island was extremely murky and we could not see hardly anything in the water around wreckages. Incredibly disappointing! The end of the afternoon was just basically sitting around on a ugly beach with no other amenities! This tour is NOT worth the time or money!!!! Afterwards, we joked with each other that we couldn't believe that we booked such an awful tour!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2012

Guide/driver got lost finding it's way to the ferry. Fortunately we were not late. Snorkeling at the Tangalooma Wreck, there was not much to see. Disappointing as the guide had made it sound so exciting. The 4WD had overheated engine and there was delay.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011

Very poor tour. Did not get to Snorkel as the tide was at 9am and the boat did not get in till 10am and I was not told of this till I was on the boat, also the guides head set was not working so there was no commentary at all while we where driving so we where sitting there for hours with no commentary. At the end the people who had been picked up at the Gold Coast where droped at the Airport where we had to wait for 45mins for Airport bus to take us back to the Gold Coast, so that added another 2 hours onto our trip. We where not happy.
Would recomend that you ask them about tides and if there equipment is working if you want to do this.
It is a beautiful Island and it would have been good if there was communication.

From USD $ 152.43

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3311MISS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message