5 star rating: Highly Recommended 305 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Budapest City Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 305 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Guide was very informative and really enjoyed showing people his city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I have taken guided city walking tours all over Europe, and this is our new favorite. Our guide, Laszlo, is the big reason why. He is a Budapest native who speaks fluent English and made the city's incredible history come alive. He spoke very candidly about the ups-and-downs his beloved city has experienced throughout its history - there were several times he was clearly speaking from the heart and not from some memorized script. The tour was running a bit behind schedule, but he never rushed us and even stayed after to answer any questions and take pictures with the group. Also, don't be intimidated by the subway/metro portion of this tour - Laszlo made sure everyone felt comfortable before going down into the station, and then made sure everyone stuck together, got in the same car, and knew exactly when to get off. There were some older folks on the tour who were clearly a bit nervous, but he made 100% certain it went smooth. THANK YOU Laszlo for the unforgettable tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent knowledgeable guide made the tour both informative and enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic! Our guide Andi was really lovely and passionate about her job. We booked the tour for our first day in Budapest and it was the best thing to do. It helped us get our bearings and introduced us to the city. Would highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had Laslo for our tour guide. He was knowledgeable and quite engaging. The tour was a great way to see some of the main sights in Budapest as well as get some insight to the history of the place.
Also we highly recommend the cottage cheese and cherry strudel! Sounds weird but it was delicious.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved our guide and all the information he was able to tell us with such enthusiasm and knowledge. It covered so much of the city as well as the subway and bus systems. Just do it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thomas our guide was fantastic, very enthusiastic and eager to involve us in the tour. There was a horse race on and festival but he worked around it beautifully. The walk across to the castle was a highlight. Heroes square, Stephens Bascillica and the pastries were all highlights. His knowledge and way of delivering it ensured i remembered much of the information - he was a breath of fresh air.
The majority of the walking is quite easy and flat, the stairs at the end are quite strenuous. You even get to go on the quaint underground system (a must for all travellers!!) I would definately recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We were confident that the walking tour would not disappoint and it didn't. George was an exceptional guide and we seemed to have all the time in the world to see and be informed about this beautiful city and its history. Thanks again Viator and George p.s. We went back to the House of Strudel on our final day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The walking tour was a fantastic way to start our visit to Budapest. The guide (Laslos) was knowledgeable about the history and culture of Hungary and of Budapest. He made history come alive during the descriptions of the places we visited. We experienced the metro and one of the nicest restaurants where we had strudels. The friendly group of co-walkers made the event a very pleasant overall experience. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide ( Tamas ) was energetic, fun, courteous, and all-around seasoned tour guide. He made the tour very interesting, educational, and well worth the walk. His English and communication skills are excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very friendly, good, informative and knowledgeable guide, Laezlo (I think that's his name).He took us to the sites both by walking and using the metro. He filled us with information on the architectural, cultural and historical aspest of the sights. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Perfect tour to do on your first day. Andi was an excellent guide who brought the history of Budapest to life, was full of fascinating stories about the landmarks, buildings and happenings in the city. The tour really helped us appreciate how to get around, and our understanding of this beautiful city and its sights for the rest of our trip. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Knowledeable tour guides, wonderful history, magnificent buildings thoroughly recemended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great guide George. Money well spent excellent tour only three of us on the tour. Taken to fabulous places we would never have found. George was brilliant with never ending information. One not to miss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful tour. Very educational. Brigit is an awesome tour guide. Very well organized. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was amazing! The tour lasted 3.5 hours and was one of the most enjoyable we have done. It included a trip on the underground and coffee and strudel! Great value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Anna was an excellent tour guide. She was enthusiastic and answered all of our questions. She showed us all that the city had to offer! Would highly recommend this tour to others!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Andi was helpful, informative and charming. our small group covered many interesting areas of Budapest at a nice pace. I would strongly recommend this tour for anyone visiting this lovely city for the first time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour. Amazing guide who made the trip very memorable!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great guide very informative and sociable . Our guide was tamas a great day .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Highly knowledgeable and passionate guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was very worthwhile, and our Guide gave us great insight into the history of the City. Good to use the underground also as we covered a large area. We looked into the famous baths and also enjoyed some light refreshment and Strudel which was very tasty.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent guide who was informative, engaging and gave brilliant recommendations on places to visit, dine, shop and chill. Highly recommended to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a tour I might classify as an "overview" of the main highlights of the city. It did not include any entrance fees to any museums or castles; however, it was what we expected and we were very pleased with this tour of this beautiful city. What a mistake it was to only allow two days there. We've already decided that on our next trip to Europe, we will stay no less than five days enjoying this beautiful, clean, quiet, city "the Paris of the East". Our tour guide Laslo was so friendly and knowledgeable, very down to earth and he even taught us a Hungarian folk wedding dance! For a great introduction to the city, take this tour. Oh yes, it is a walking tour, about 4 hours long, but about mid-way, you get a pastry and coffee break (included) and it gives you time to re-energize yourself. Awesome tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The walking tour was a fantastic way to get the highlights of the city. Anita was a great guide. She was very open to all questions and very enjoyable to spend the 4 hours with. I'd really recommend this tour to anyone. We even got to bring our dog along:)

From USD $ 38.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2336ABS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message