5 star rating: Highly Recommended 296 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Budapest City Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 296 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great morning spent walking, at a leisurely and level pace ( apart from the walk up the steps to the Castle!)round Budapest. Incorporated a ride on the Metro and a lovely morning break which included a beverage and 2 slices of Strudel - of course we returned the next day for more ! All in all - highly recommended and our local guide Kinga was great !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We were fortunate to gave a very small group and an excellent tour guide, Brigit. She taught us a lot about Hungarian and Budapest history and the year 1896! The tour was thorough, easy to understand, and a lot of fun. Definitely worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Unlike Danube bend tour (which has a great itinerary but the guide was disappointing), this tour was interesting, fun, good exercise and Anita the guide was outstanding! Her speaking and English skills were outstanding, she presented well, had a good pace was considerate of everyone in the group. She has the knowledge of the sights, sounds, history, people and places and would love to have her as a guide on any Budapest tour. The only take a maximum of 15 in the group and think we had 10. There is even a short stop for strudel which was tasty! It's a great value, good way to capture some of the sights and history of the area (and country) but it all comes down to the way it's delivered: Anita was the best!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great guide, took us for over 3 1/2 hours, on a easy walking tour, showed us how to use the underground, and had delicious strudel at the Strudel House!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Bridget was great, very knowledgeable and personable. Clearly she has a lot of pride in being Hungarian and wanted to share that with us. She wound up giving us a 4 hour tour because she wanted to make sure we saw some of her favorite places. I hadn't realized that coffee and strudel came with the tour so that was such a nice surprise. She took us to a very charming coffee house with great strudel. There were a number of sites I wanted to make sure we saw and she took us to most of them (Basilica, Opera House, Hero's Square, the attached park, the Castle, coffee house, etc). She also gave us some really great recommendations for restaurants serving authentic Hungarian food. Great choices. I HIGHLY recommend this walking tour. Well worth the time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the best way to spend the first day in Budapest. Our tour guide, Briget, was friendly, personable and very knowlegeable about the history of the sites we visited. She also told us how the Metro worked and which bus to catch in the event we wanted to come back to a site later. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would certainly advise others to book it!!

Peggy O
Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was much better than we expected. It took us ALL over the city. It is a great tour to do right away because our wonderful guide Eveline taught us how to use the Metro and the bus lines which we did for the rest of the week. She was VERY imformative on the history of Budapest. and gave us some great restaurant suggestions too. The Strudel shop was wonderful. GREAT tour highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We really enjoyed our guided tour which was led by Laszlo. It as a really great introduction to the city and the History of Hungary. Travelling on the metro and by bus, as well as walking through different areas of the city we gained knowledge of the area and experience of the transport system so that we had the confidence to do a lot more exploring over the following days. A really great trip to take when you first arrive in the city. Laszlo gave us tips regarding visits to The Opera, good restaurants to try, places to visit . We took his advice and had a truly wonderful time. He even played the Hungarian National Anthem for us on his flute, a mournful tune that summed up the turbulent times that Hungary has lived through in the past. Laszlo, many thanks for a super trip. We do hope your little boy is now feeling much better. ( He was poorly when we were visiting)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide, Andi, gave us a wonderful walking tour. I enjoyed the tour a lot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful way to see this beautiful city and to get a real sense of its rich history and culture. The guide, Andi, was really very good, and the tour offers excellent value for money - and some good exercise thrown in!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I would like to highly recommend this walking tour. Our guide was a young woman called Andi, and proved to be highly knowledgeable, thorough, and in no hurry to get rid of us! She also has a good sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble. The tour included use of one of metro systems, which took us to Heroes square and other sights. Mind the doors, as you only get 8 seconds to get on or off ! We enjoyed crossing the Danube to the main attractions of Buda. Very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really good tour for an overview of Budapest. The guide Bridget was fab and gave us some interesting facts about the history of Hungary.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We went on this walking tour last week. It was absolutely brilliant!! We were extremely lucky that only the both of us had booked the tour so we had the tour guide to ourselves. Anna was really superb and showed us all the sights and explained things really well. It gave us a great insite of what to see in the city and on the subsequent days we went back to see a lot of the places in more detail. Thanks Anna of your recommendation od the "Bulls Blood" . we had it with our meal in a typical tradinitional Hungarioan Restaurant ( with the Goulash as recommended) and it was superb!!!
We visit a lot of citys for a city break and i would have NO hesitation in recommending Viator. We have already booked our tours with them for our forthcomong visits to Lisbon and Iceland. Thank you Viator and special thanks to Anna- a great job!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic...........Our tour guide Kinga was very friendly and knowledgeable and gave us lots of information we would never have known without her.The tour was excellent value and even included coffee, cake.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Anna was an excellent guide, friendly and very informative. It was fun going on the underground, seeing the sights of which there are many and eating coffee and strudels half way through.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guild is excellent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I would highly recommend this tour. Small group - 9 of us - and our guide Bernadette was excellent, authoritative and fun. It gave us a great overview of the city on our first day so we could then go back and explore places in more detail at our leisure. The break at the Strudel House was perfect - delicious strudel, and a chance to chat with fellow visitors.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

31st October dawned warm and sunny and was a perfect day for a walking tour in Budapest. Our guide Anita combined a relaxed approach with a lot of knowledge about the city. Our tour lasted almost four hours and we saw all major sites but it never felt that we were rushed or too much to take in. We got good advice about other places to visit and a brilliant restaurant for dinner. All in all great value for money and added considerably to our good memories of this short break in Budapest. John and Pauline Harris, Havering ate Bower, UK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Was a great way to see the city in a limited time period.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was excellent. Tamas our guide was entertaining, knowledgeable, and spoke very good english. We highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Really enjoyed the tour. Brigitte was our tour guide and was excellent. Small group with two other couples from America and Ireland made for a friendly and relaxing walking tour. Saw main sites which helped us with the rest of our stay. Strudel house was brilliant a real must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Anita was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. A very enjoyable few hours and highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent walking tour of Budapest - very informative and enjoyable. Knowledgeable guide and tasty strudel!! Would thourghly recommend.

Michael B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

a great tour of the city,Brigette,did a wonderful job,very knowledgable,clear and polite,an absolute pleasure to accompany!brilliant city,guide and weather,who could ask for more,highly recommend!Bill and Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An excellent walking tour led by a knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide,Tamas. Not only did we walk, but we took the underground train which added to the experience. Learned a great deal about the history of Budapest and Tamas kept us on our toes by asking questions about the information. There was a prize at the end of it all and I think the Coke was appreciated by the winner at the top of the climb to the castle.Climbing the steps to the castle certainly walked off the streudels we had eaten earlier! Took the funicular back down to the bottom though!Wouldn't recommend this tour for those with limited mobility, as most of the trip was done on foot and 3 and a half hours is quite long time to be your feet! We went back to the Struedel House for dinner and sampled the savoury streudels as well as the sweet! Would recommend this to those wanting something a little bit different from the average city tour.

From USD $ 37.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2336ABS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message