5 star rating: Highly Recommended 305 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Budapest City Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 305 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Really enjoyed the tour. Brigitte was our tour guide and was excellent. Small group with two other couples from America and Ireland made for a friendly and relaxing walking tour. Saw main sites which helped us with the rest of our stay. Strudel house was brilliant a real must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Anita was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. A very enjoyable few hours and highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent walking tour of Budapest - very informative and enjoyable. Knowledgeable guide and tasty strudel!! Would thourghly recommend.

Michael B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

a great tour of the city,Brigette,did a wonderful job,very knowledgable,clear and polite,an absolute pleasure to accompany!brilliant city,guide and weather,who could ask for more,highly recommend!Bill and Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An excellent walking tour led by a knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide,Tamas. Not only did we walk, but we took the underground train which added to the experience. Learned a great deal about the history of Budapest and Tamas kept us on our toes by asking questions about the information. There was a prize at the end of it all and I think the Coke was appreciated by the winner at the top of the climb to the castle.Climbing the steps to the castle certainly walked off the streudels we had eaten earlier! Took the funicular back down to the bottom though!Wouldn't recommend this tour for those with limited mobility, as most of the trip was done on foot and 3 and a half hours is quite long time to be your feet! We went back to the Struedel House for dinner and sampled the savoury streudels as well as the sweet! Would recommend this to those wanting something a little bit different from the average city tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very enjoyable and informative tour. Our tour guide Anita was really excellent. She spoke very good English, had very good historical knowledge and was very helpful in giving recommendations. The tour was a very good value and I would recommend it to everyone. Make sure you get Anita!

wambeggy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Anita was GREAT! The perfect person for such a tour. Full of knowledge and able to answer most questions about Budapest. The tour includes a trip or two on the subway and to a spa to assist with where things are.
A visit to the First Strudel House of Pest was also a tasty and worthwhile experience - so much so that I went back the next day for a meal.
Ten points to Anita!
Well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour was great, guide was excellent and not to pushy......refreshments were more then adequate, well worth it! Thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We met Anita for this tour on our first day out of four in Budapest. She was great - perfect English and excellent history of the city. We would truly recommend this tour and it was very good value as you are taken on the subway and a high quality Strudel house included in the price. Anita shared valuable information with us both current and historic. Without her knowledge 4 of us would not have gone to see the Hungarian Ballet at the Opera House for 1000 florints (approx. 80p a ticket!). It was our first time to use Viator and this has also been a good, easy experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great value. Great short tour.

Our guide Andi was a lot of fun to be with. Very informative. The strudel was wonderful.

Lala A
Azerbaijan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our travel guide was Andy.She was an excellent guide.
Excellent tour and highly recommended .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Brigit, was wonderful. We were the only two people who signed up so we had a private tour. We spent some time visiting "Hero's Square" and the 1896 millennium celebration park. Then Brigit showed us how to operate the underground which we used to get back to the city center where we learned even more about the culture and history of the city. We ended with an introduction to Castle Hill on the Buda side. This tour was a real bargain in terms of cost and the vast amount of information Brigit gave us. I feel that we saw most of the important sites in Budapest all on this one tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and booked it for our first morning there to help us get some information about the city and find our way round. It was excellent value as it included a drink and 2 pastries as well which were very nice. Our guide, Peter, was very friendly, very knowledgeable and a very nice person and made the tour a very enjoyable experience.

Would definately recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Peter was an excellent guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I loved my tour guide Bernadette. She very knowledgeable and was open to language suggestions. Her English was good already. I recommend this as an overview of the main sights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent way to spend a first day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was absolutely brilliant. We had Anita as our guide and she was very clear, concise, friendly and very informative. Would certainly recommend it to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our travel guide was László, and he was very friendly and helpful. He has so much knowledge not just about Budapest, about the Hungarian history as well. Me and boyfriend were totally enjoying his more than 3 hour tour. it wasnt boring at all, and i would totally recommend to anyone. Thank you!

Barry
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour and a very good tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Just returned from tour of Hungary, which included a walking tour of Budapest with the lovely Anita. Don't be put off by the 3 1/2 hour walk as it's at a very gentle pace and includes; a trip on the most beautiful underground train in the world and a sit down break in a very stylish strudel house. As well as a history tour you'll get loads of tips on how to get round the city, what to see and do etc from very knowledgeble guides. Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our "Budapest City walking tour" -- Our guide Anita, was extremely knowledgeable and had a lovely personality - We would recommend her to any other prospective travellers -- We enjoyed using the local train and bus service as well, which enable us to see more of Budapest. One of the highlights was our stop at the Strudel House for a coffee break, especially as it was 35oc. We were so pleased to see so much of both "Buda" and "Pest in 3 hours -- A wonderful experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is a wonderful trip I had and our tour guide is very very helpful and kind lady!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent Anitka was an excellent guide who was able to provide us with information and knew what she was talking about . We can recommend this tour/ A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was wonderful! Our guide, Anita, was beautiful and so knowledgeable about Budapest. She kept the attention of our two teenagers for the entire tour! The tour covered a lot of territory in Budapest and I highly recommend it! The pastries and drinks were delicious.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a very comprehensive tour covering most important sites in Budapest. We had to walk a lot but it was very comfortable and the subway ride was so unique! The scenery from the capital hill was beautiful. Our guide was wonderful and knowledgeable. This is a must tour for all comers.

From USD $ 37.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2336ABS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message