Insider's Guide to Budapest

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 95 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Budapest Night Walking Tour and River Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 95 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The guide was lovely with lots of really helpful information. Used it as a way to orientate ourselves to the city and learn things about Budapest.

Abhijeet Takalkar
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This tours helps to get highlights of city in very short time.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The tour was supposed to be a 2 hour walking tour followed by a 1 hour river cruise. Due to conflicts with trying to book the cruise, our group only received a 1 hour walking tour which was very disappointing. Otherwise, it was a great tour - very informative and seeing Budapest at night can't be beat. Amazing views!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Good tour guide, very friendly and interesting background. Nice to be able to speak to a local and learn about the history and stories of the city itself.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

We did this tour the same day we arrived in Budapest, completely a different feel than the day sight seeing! photos if the Castle Buda and Chain Bridge blow you away, The guide was well educated and spoke good English, the meeting point was very central and easy to find, ( as we did a pre recce prior!)... The River cruise was nice and you receive a free drink, its should be optional tho if you are hungry as food is on the boat, looking at it we were starving! however the experience was a must, it was part of my boyfriends birthday treat and went down very well. Thumbs up!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Our cruise was on a beautiful clear night. The well-lit glowing buildings of Budapest reflected in the river as we cruised by giving us great photo opportunities. Some of the people on the boat had a buffet dinner included and it was kind of awkward for those of us who did not. Prior to the cruise, the tour through the city at night was marvelous. We had a small group, a great guide, and the pace was perfect.

nina
USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

the tour was well worth the time and money.our guide,marti was very well educated on the subject of budepest.the best part was the river cruise,it was great to see all the buildings lit up at night.it was the perfect amount of time on the boat and we got off by the tram station to get bback to the hotel,i recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Great for first time visitors to Budapest, takes in a few major tourist attractions - only from the outside, and the walk around the centre of the city is enjoyable. The river cruise is spectacular, but you need to bring a jacket, it gets cool on the river. Ideal if you only have a couple of days in the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

overall was a nice experience, though i felt that the cruise lasted way too long because we were just 6-7 of us and were put on a top level of a boat, with nothing else..

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Our tour guide was ok. The river cruise was great.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Good information. City lovely even though it was overcast and colder then normal. We had the guide to ourselves which was a bonus.

Ronnie B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Inclement weather spoilt this tour, which is beyond the tour operator's control. But it's well worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Our tour guide was ok. The river cruise was great.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The tour was excellent! The only problem that I had was the actual departure time. The stated departure time was 8pm and asked for you to be there 15 minutes prior to departure. We were there the required 15 minutes early and no one else was there. The guide arrived a couple of minutes before 8pm and we did not start the tour until 8:15pm.

Michael S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Budapest by night is worth doing! It feels like a different city! The boat cruise was good too.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

The tour director was very knowledgeable and pleasant. Unfortunately, we could not take the cruise portion of the tour because of flooding on the Danube. Nobody compensated us for that part of the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

Small tour, only 4 of us. Excellent guide. Not too happy about the change of boat for the cruise part of the tour; it was a bit scruffy. However, Budapest at night is a sight for sore eyes.

Boyan I
Bulgaria

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

The tour gets you through most key parts of Pest and along the river at night. It's particularly good if you are on a business trip and have a tight schedule during the day.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

The tour was nice, but it could have been better. The instructions said to be at the meeting spot at 7:45pm to set off on our 8pm walk. We got there at the requested time and met the guide at about 7:50. Two other group members showed up shortly thereafter. The guide then proceeded to tell us that she never knows how many people are going to be in the group, so she always waits until 8:15 to start. So we waited, and once we started walking, we kept a very brisk pace and were given very little time to stop along the way to take pictures of the major sights. The guide was very knowledgeable, and her English was excellent. I just wish we had started on time so we could walk a little slower and enjoy ourselves more. The river cruise was nice, but it would have been nice to know ahead of time that the boat only goes as far as Parliament and then turns around to head in the other direction, so a lot of the major sights are in the first 15 minutes or so of the journey.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

A very interesting way to see the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The tour was interesting and the guide was very professional and courteous. I think it would however, be beneficial if the guides were on time. We were there early as required and when no guide is there waiting on you you begin to wonder if you are in the right place or not. The description of time is also not accurate because the boat ride doesn't even begin until 10pm, if you are relying on train/bus service you will miss the last connections.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The guide was full of information and advice. Would be good to do at the beginning of a trip.

Trina S
United Arab Emirates

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Good tour with great information.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Could have done with a bit more time for the walking part. Seemed to be rushed to get to the sights but guide was informative and friendly.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The guide Nina was excellent and gave us a great tour and took care to ensure we all knew how to get back to hotels/called cab. The let down was the dinner - I thought it was terrible. Was so looking forward to eating yummy Portugeses good but this particular dinner was disappointing and no dessert. Only 2 half bottles of wine between 8 people. We ran out in 30 mins and had to pay and buy another bottle for the group. Suggest you start this tour a bit earlier as sun had already set by the time we made it to the look out and also we were late for dinner and only saw 3 Fado performances. Make sure you wear good walking shoes, there are many steps to climb up and down but worth it to see the sights.

From USD $ 43.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2336NITE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message