Insider's Guide to Budapest

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 96 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Budapest Night Walking Tour and River Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 96 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The guide Nina was excellent and gave us a great tour and took care to ensure we all knew how to get back to hotels/called cab. The let down was the dinner - I thought it was terrible. Was so looking forward to eating yummy Portugeses good but this particular dinner was disappointing and no dessert. Only 2 half bottles of wine between 8 people. We ran out in 30 mins and had to pay and buy another bottle for the group. Suggest you start this tour a bit earlier as sun had already set by the time we made it to the look out and also we were late for dinner and only saw 3 Fado performances. Make sure you wear good walking shoes, there are many steps to climb up and down but worth it to see the sights.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

The walking tour was great, fun and intuitive . Anita the your guide she made it fun and educational. The boat cruise we were not to impressed, it smell damp and it was hard to see through the windows because it kept getting foggie. The video your on the boat was well done and entertaining.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

This tour was OK. It was not the worse tour I have been on and not the best. The walking part was good because we were told about the history of budapest, but our guide didn't seem very knowlegable beyond her normal routined dialoge.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

A little odd that at the end of the walking tour we were hearded onto the boat with other tour groups who received a meal (knowing that we did not receive one, we were shuffled upstairs on to the colder deck). After a while our guide let us go inside.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

I would do this once only. The river cruise was cool.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Was not able to take this tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Was not able to take

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Not that good!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

The walking tour was actually the walk from the tour office to the river. There were some interesting moments, but not enough to justify the cost. The river cruise was nice. Skip the walking tour, but don't miss cruising on the Danube.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

We did a tour everyday we were in Budapest (five days). This was my least favorite. We were already staying at a hotel on the river and saw the downtown sights everynight anyway. We didn't learn much new and the boat ride was too long for us. If you are not staying downtown and have not spent much time in Budapest, this might be a good choice, otherwise, I would pick something else.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

Expected to see a few places by night which are a bit different to the "normal" sights. Cruise was not bad but we were mixed with a group of guest who had a meal included, for which we didn't have the possibility to book at all in the first place. So there was a mix up of we'll set the table for you and sorry sorry for not doing so and then having realised that we were not part of the group with the booked dinner, the almost brutal way of being told that it is not included in our trip and things were almost ripped of the table immediately including bottles of water and we were treated like second class guests... A little bit of courtesy and a friendlier way of sorting these mistakes out, from none of them was ours, would have been appreciated

Nic
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

Nice tour guide - very informative and friendly

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

I booked this for the monday evening (my second day there) as I thought it would give me an overview and help set my gearings. When I arrived at the alloted time I was the only person booked and was asked if i could attend friday instead so i said yes. Retuened friday to find one other tourist. Our guide was great but he took us only to the Bascilica (which i had spent the day at on Monday) and the Great Synagogue ( which I had visited Tuesday), he was great at answering all my questions about life as a Hungarian post-communism. When the time came for aour Danube trip we went to collect the tickets to find no-one at the office, frantic phonecalls and traipsing the streets followed, various stops along the Danube proved fruitless and eventually our guide was told that there had never been a river trip booked for that evening. We were asked to return the following day but i was already booked to leave the City. Terribly disappointed as I had thought that would have been one of the highlights of my trip to Budapest, perhaps I should have insisted on the Monday Tour going ahead and I may have experienced the river trip. Our guide WAS superb though and he was the perfect gentleman as by this time it was well gone 10.00pm and I was a lone female staying on the outskirts of the City, he made sure I returned to my Hotel safely by travelling on the public transport with me. i cannot thank him enough

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

They did cover everything promised. They were freindly, nice etc. Just hoped they could spice up things a bit more, like interesting stories behind the sights etc. For the boat trip be prepared for a lightening visit of all the sights. This is a could way to spend day 1 in Budapest, you can then see Budpaest in detail on your own

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

It was good even though our guide was late - we were the only ones on the tour and our guide was very knowledgeable. We were not aware that everything we would be viewing would be closed so all we saw were the exteriors of buildings. We were also disappointed with the boat trip as we arrived and there was no seating left so we had to sit up at an emergency exit with a bench they placed up there to accomodate us and viewing was very difficult from this vantage pont . Also from where we sat we were not able to hear anything the tour guide for the boat said.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

The ship was a small ferry. The walk around the city was nice, the tour guide was very good.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

The boat ride was the best part of the trip. However, the walking tour was caotic and we missed several stops the guide had planned because we were behind schedule. Took another tour that day from another company and it put this tour to shame. Very disappointed.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

disappointing ! but our guide martin marek was very good -

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

I was the only person in the tour, the guide was very nice but maybe my expectations of a night walking tour were to high. We only went to the outside of the opera house, the metro below, saint esteban church and the chain bridge, thing I have already done just walking to the tour office.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2011

Tour guide was terrible!!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011

Was not the best. Took us all around the town and then down to where we were to get boat then took us back to the place we started out from to see opera house from outside then to some other place to get tickets and left us there. We decided to walk to the boat and we made it just in time to be put on a dinner cruise that almost everyone was having dinner except use and two other couples. We had a hour and half tour in the dark with no audio at all. We had know idea what we say.

From USD $ 42.81

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2336NITE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message