4.5 star rating: Recommended 119 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary
  • Duration:8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Puszta Great Plains and Kecskemet Day Trip from Budapest. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 119 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The tour was good and worth doing but I felt a little like I was in a factory and everything was just going through the motions for the 'tourists'.

The tour guide was very nice and pleasent but nothing exciting, just the regular 'tour' information.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Very enjoyable with competent guide. Would use Viator again.

Sharna K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A lovely day out.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Excellent day out. The carriage and horse show were great. The tour guide, Helena, was good. The only negative part was that she had to speak 3 different languages (English, German and French, although only the former 2 were advertised). This was information about sites and landmarks was not synchronized with the narration.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

It's very nice! It's impressive the work with the worses! We had a live concert at lunch, wich was very tasty and regional. The small town near by it's also gorgeus.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

This was one way to see the Hungarian countryside and the town of Kecskemet was a huge surprise and bonus. The horse show was excellent on a very hot day and enjoyed the lunch. Thank you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

It was a nice scenic drive from Budapest to the Great Plains. We visited the town of Kecskemet which allowed an opportunity to photograph beautiful architecture. We then visited a gorgeous ranch and attended an equestrian show which showcased some of the most magnificent horses I've every seen. Visitors were allowed to stroll through the stables and visit the nursery. A three course meal was offered as part of the package. The lunch was a disappointment compared to other meals we had enjoyed which were included in the tour packages we purchased, i.e., the Budapest Folklore Show, the Danube Bend Day Trip and the Herend Porcelain Factory and Lake Balaton tour.

John R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Fabulous day out wonderful horsemanship, beautiful property. Definitely worth a trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The tour was interesting and our guide, Ingrit, was very nice and prepared. The horse show and the food at the traditional "Czarda" were excellent, we had a very pleasant day.
It is not the real "puszta" and it is a very "touristic" trip but it is worth if you want to spend a day outside Budapest and meet these talented horsemen (and I'm not too much into horses ;), admire the landscapes and enjoy some good Hungarian food!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

We treated my husband's four sisters, 2 spouses to this trip. All enjoyed the outing deespite the rain and cold wind. Guide, Laszlo made special effort to include Hungarian descriptions ad explanations (much appreciated by our family). Dinner was excellent as wasthe atmosphere in the Csarda. The horse show was impressive, but a little bit short. All in all a good day in spite of the weather.

Gordon
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Excellent trip. Lovely location for the horse show and meal. The visit to Kecskemet was to short as i would have liked to have had time to wander the streets on my own.

rails
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

nice meal there, very smart horses,great riders,nice drive to event(scenery) good roads and informative guide, worth going.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

We enjoyed this but I wouldn't recommend it unless you are spending more than three days in Budapest. It i(the farm/ranch visit) s a nice change of pace from the city but you should have already worked through your "must see" list. We had good weather. I'm not sure how this tour would work if it was raining (you walk around in the dirt a lot). I think the stop at Kecskemet was just a fill in thing. This should probably be a half day tour skipping Kecskemet.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The plains and the stud farm were great something I always associated with Hungry. The meal was ok ; just a bit dry. The horse riding opportunity though was next to nothing and a bit farcical.But all in all a very nice day out; still would recommend it.

manu
Portugal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

good guiding and driving services;
very accommodating staff at tanya;
the main dish could be a little more typical

Steve R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Trip is as described (although a lot of the journey is not terribly scenic)
Kecskemet is beautiful and well worth seeing.
The horses at Lajosmizse are amazing and we were given plenty of time to visit the stables (there was a young girl in the party who was very keen to feed the horses and this was fine)
We also got a chance to see the other animals (cattle, sheep, turkeys, donkeys etc)
The lunch was good and our guide spoke fluent English.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Money well spent! Over all, very good trip. Small enough bus (14 passengers), knowledgeable guide speaking pretty good English and very good German. Very good driver. Nice tour of town Kecskemet. Very nice stay at the farm (Tanyaczardas) sp?. Lots of well taken care of animals, including great horses. However, have to add some not very good comments: Almost went on the wrong trip, as the staff of the bus tour company first placed us on the wrong bus! Visit at the farm felt a bit touristy and not truly genuine. Almost felt like we were just another bus full of tourists coming... Service at lunch was slow, and we had to wait a long time for dessert.

Elaine D
Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

If you are interested in horses or knowing more about Zoltan Kodaly musician, this tour is highly recommended for you. The horse show was very interesting, especially the rider on 5 horses. The visit to the town of Kodaly Kecskemet was also very interesting with lots to see in a small town. We had a very pleasant day away from the city, and had several people, about 20 , on this tour. We were picked up late 930am when they said 830am and had to call a Vienna telephone number to figure it out. This was rather inconvenient, and they should have just given the telephone number of the local agent. The guide spoke English very clearly with a rather charming accent.

Ian C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

A nice tour, we went in a small mini bus with an Italian couple. The driver and guide were very nice, and the guide was very knowledgeable. Keckskemet had a nice town square with a laid back feel to it. The ranch for the horse show was not too far away. You are met by a horseman who escorts you to the car park! This is followed by a carraige ride around the ranch. The show was very entertaining but the walk through the stables was very fly ridden, so take insect repellent! The meal was OK, only one glass of wine, the Americans on the other tables obviously with another tour company were getting carafes on the table, this upset my wife! You can either have a beer or wine, if you want another beer go into the garden and sit and order at the rustic tables its cheaper! A good day out and we were only 70 miles from Romania and Serbia. Nice people and it was good to see more of Hungary outside of Budapest.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This tour had a small group with a great tour guide. The site was amazing. It really is a must see.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

Very pleasant experience for the day, and we did convince 3 other couples to join us for the day from our boat. All were pleased and thank us for the tip. Some had canceled other planned trips for the day. Located you via internet, and the arrangements and billing were met and quite simple. Thank you.

Tertia R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

I am recommending this to everyone going to Budapest. The Chokos were absolutely amazing, the food fantastic and the music suited the atmosphere perfectly. The only problem was that the guide was a bit boring. Kecskemet was also nice, but I couldn't always follow the guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Our guide had to speak three languages on the day which became a bit tiresome. Nevertheless it is a good tour. The meal, wine and entertainment was good and the equestrian performance enjoyable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Guide had a very difficult job with 4 language groups on the bus of 20 people, hence at times frustrating for tour participants

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The itinerary was excellent and the horse show and farm exquisite. So, why the average rating? Our guide was terrible. She talked incessantly, first in English and then in German. After the first hour or so, you just tuned her out. However, by talking so much she left no free time to explore. I would rate the tour much higher if not for the guide!

From USD $ 74.50

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2420PUSZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message