4.5 star rating: Recommended 109 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Puszta Great Plains and Kecskemet Day Trip from Budapest. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 109 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

we were a bit disappointed with this - the farm component attempted to show traditional hungarian traditions but came across as a commercial production - not a working farm - and the horesmen came across as very bored as though the whole thing was a chore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The only thing I was a little bit disappointed in, was the horse show. We saw a better horse show in the Ukraine a number of years ago. It was one of Cossack riders and I felt they did quite a few more tricks. Also at dinner, I felt our table was treated like ugly stepchildren. There were obviously at least three other groups and the wait staff seemed to do their best to ignore our table until the very last minute. We had to ask for wine or I'm not sure we'd have gotten any. When we did get it, the food was good.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

The tour operator was very competent and the short city break was good. The horse show was very disappointing compared to one I had previously seen in another part of Hungary. The food was so - so. The foals were lovely and, for me, the highlight.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

so so

Arie A
Israel

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

Recommended for families with children only.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Kecskemet is a very basic town, it comprises of a church, a monastory, a town hall, a small park and a girls' music school. There isn't much to see, except the monastory which is quite pretty. We arrived at the puszta horse show and had welcome drinks (apricot brandy) and a hungrian savoury cake (cinnamon) which was pleaseant next we had a little ride in a carriage....still nice and then a 3 course lunch comprising of goulash soup, chicken and chips and a hungarian desert which was a bit like square pancakes with apricot sauce on it (v.nice). We then had the "horse show" which lasted for about 10 minutes. The horse show was very disappointing and basic, the highlight being a horse sitting down and putting a hoof over the trainers shoulder (lasted 2 mins....you can see it in the picture advertising the day trip) and then another trainer standing on the back of 2 horses in a 4 horse carriage cantering around the arena. The remainder of the show had a donkey and a couple of horses trotting or cantering around the arena in a carriage.
You can look around the farm after the show....there is a dog, lot of other horses, donkeys, birds, a rabbit, and some goats.
Overall a disappointing day, the highlight being the lunch and the gypsy music that they merrily played to us whilst eating!

Diane P
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

I would have liked more demonstrations on what can be achieved with the horses!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2011

Trip to Kecskemet was a complete waste of time. Stop for the 15 minute horse show was interesting and the lunch and music was very good. I would suggest spending the time in budapest.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011

The 40 minutes of this day spent watching the magnificent horses is all that can enjoyed. Another complete waste of a full day,, and a very long and unintetresting bus ride, being shown one small town where we were taken agai to buy souvenirs from a particular shop

From USD $ 72.21

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2420PUSZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message