• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 98 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Puszta Great Plains and Kecskemet Day Trip from Budapest. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 98 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Sharna K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A lovely day out.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Excellent day out. The carriage and horse show were great. The tour guide, Helena, was good. The only negative part was that she had to speak 3 different languages (English, German and French, although only the former 2 were advertised). This was information about sites and landmarks was not synchronized with the narration.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

It's very nice! It's impressive the work with the worses! We had a live concert at lunch, wich was very tasty and regional. The small town near by it's also gorgeus.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

This was one way to see the Hungarian countryside and the town of Kecskemet was a huge surprise and bonus. The horse show was excellent on a very hot day and enjoyed the lunch. Thank you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

It was a nice scenic drive from Budapest to the Great Plains. We visited the town of Kecskemet which allowed an opportunity to photograph beautiful architecture. We then visited a gorgeous ranch and attended an equestrian show which showcased some of the most magnificent horses I've every seen. Visitors were allowed to stroll through the stables and visit the nursery. A three course meal was offered as part of the package. The lunch was a disappointment compared to other meals we had enjoyed which were included in the tour packages we purchased, i.e., the Budapest Folklore Show, the Danube Bend Day Trip and the Herend Porcelain Factory and Lake Balaton tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Fabulous day out wonderful horsemanship, beautiful property. Definitely worth a trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The tour was interesting and our guide, Ingrit, was very nice and prepared. The horse show and the food at the traditional "Czarda" were excellent, we had a very pleasant day.
It is not the real "puszta" and it is a very "touristic" trip but it is worth if you want to spend a day outside Budapest and meet these talented horsemen (and I'm not too much into horses ;), admire the landscapes and enjoy some good Hungarian food!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

We treated my husband's four sisters, 2 spouses to this trip. All enjoyed the outing deespite the rain and cold wind. Guide, Laszlo made special effort to include Hungarian descriptions ad explanations (much appreciated by our family). Dinner was excellent as wasthe atmosphere in the Csarda. The horse show was impressive, but a little bit short. All in all a good day in spite of the weather.

Gordon
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Excellent trip. Lovely location for the horse show and meal. The visit to Kecskemet was to short as i would have liked to have had time to wander the streets on my own.

rails
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

nice meal there, very smart horses,great riders,nice drive to event(scenery) good roads and informative guide, worth going.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

We enjoyed this but I wouldn't recommend it unless you are spending more than three days in Budapest. It i(the farm/ranch visit) s a nice change of pace from the city but you should have already worked through your "must see" list. We had good weather. I'm not sure how this tour would work if it was raining (you walk around in the dirt a lot). I think the stop at Kecskemet was just a fill in thing. This should probably be a half day tour skipping Kecskemet.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The plains and the stud farm were great something I always associated with Hungry. The meal was ok ; just a bit dry. The horse riding opportunity though was next to nothing and a bit farcical.But all in all a very nice day out; still would recommend it.

manu
Portugal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

good guiding and driving services;
very accommodating staff at tanya;
the main dish could be a little more typical

Steve R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Trip is as described (although a lot of the journey is not terribly scenic)
Kecskemet is beautiful and well worth seeing.
The horses at Lajosmizse are amazing and we were given plenty of time to visit the stables (there was a young girl in the party who was very keen to feed the horses and this was fine)
We also got a chance to see the other animals (cattle, sheep, turkeys, donkeys etc)
The lunch was good and our guide spoke fluent English.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Money well spent! Over all, very good trip. Small enough bus (14 passengers), knowledgeable guide speaking pretty good English and very good German. Very good driver. Nice tour of town Kecskemet. Very nice stay at the farm (Tanyaczardas) sp?. Lots of well taken care of animals, including great horses. However, have to add some not very good comments: Almost went on the wrong trip, as the staff of the bus tour company first placed us on the wrong bus! Visit at the farm felt a bit touristy and not truly genuine. Almost felt like we were just another bus full of tourists coming... Service at lunch was slow, and we had to wait a long time for dessert.

From USD $ 92.71

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2420PUSZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message