4.5 star rating: Recommended 118 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Puszta Great Plains and Kecskemet Day Trip from Budapest. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 118 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

good tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Stop in first town a disappointment. Guide maybe talked a little too much

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

The tour was okay. The town we stopped in not too exciting. The horse show was nice. They accommodated our dietary restrictions. Not happy with the guide. She kept taking cell phone calls and while she spoke English, it was difficult to understand her as she spoke too quickly. I would not recommend this tour to my friends.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The guide struggled to provide the needed information because she had to do it in three languages. The result was confusion.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

enjoyed this trip but would have liked a longer time in Keshkemet. I did not get a good look around to understand the town. Maybe the Putsza could have been a little later to allow this. Driver just great to get a way out of the traffic jam on the way home. I did enjoy seeing the plain and the guide's explanation of this land formation, also her detailed information about thegrowing of peppers etc. Thank you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

This tour is ok but not very exciting.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

We were collected by taxi from our hotel and taken to the tour office where we met the guide and fellow travellers. The weather in Budapest had been over 40 degrees for a few days and the air conditioning in the van was defective. Our very eccentric older female guide provided commentary in German and then repeated it in English (very tedious). She became quite cross with us if we were a minute late returning from toilet breaks and muttered to herself. The visit to Kecskemet was really just a lour of a couple of churches and time for a drink and could be omitted from this tour. The horse show was excellent displaying the beauty of the horses and the skill of the riders. On a cooler day the 3 hot course lunch would be delicious but it was difficult to enjoy in the heat. We were dropped off a couple of blocks from our hotel rather then returned to it as was indicated in the advertising.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

We had a very knowledgable guide. I would have preferred spending a little more time in the countryside than at the Lajosmizse ranch. Perhaps taking rural roads through the Puszta Great Plains instead of the freeway.

Gordon M
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Great day out but lunch service was erratic and could have easily been managed in half the time - allowing more time in Kecskemet

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

we were a bit disappointed with this - the farm component attempted to show traditional hungarian traditions but came across as a commercial production - not a working farm - and the horesmen came across as very bored as though the whole thing was a chore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The only thing I was a little bit disappointed in, was the horse show. We saw a better horse show in the Ukraine a number of years ago. It was one of Cossack riders and I felt they did quite a few more tricks. Also at dinner, I felt our table was treated like ugly stepchildren. There were obviously at least three other groups and the wait staff seemed to do their best to ignore our table until the very last minute. We had to ask for wine or I'm not sure we'd have gotten any. When we did get it, the food was good.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

The tour operator was very competent and the short city break was good. The horse show was very disappointing compared to one I had previously seen in another part of Hungary. The food was so - so. The foals were lovely and, for me, the highlight.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

so so

Arie A
Israel

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

Recommended for families with children only.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Kecskemet is a very basic town, it comprises of a church, a monastory, a town hall, a small park and a girls' music school. There isn't much to see, except the monastory which is quite pretty. We arrived at the puszta horse show and had welcome drinks (apricot brandy) and a hungrian savoury cake (cinnamon) which was pleaseant next we had a little ride in a carriage....still nice and then a 3 course lunch comprising of goulash soup, chicken and chips and a hungarian desert which was a bit like square pancakes with apricot sauce on it (v.nice). We then had the "horse show" which lasted for about 10 minutes. The horse show was very disappointing and basic, the highlight being a horse sitting down and putting a hoof over the trainers shoulder (lasted 2 mins....you can see it in the picture advertising the day trip) and then another trainer standing on the back of 2 horses in a 4 horse carriage cantering around the arena. The remainder of the show had a donkey and a couple of horses trotting or cantering around the arena in a carriage.
You can look around the farm after the show....there is a dog, lot of other horses, donkeys, birds, a rabbit, and some goats.
Overall a disappointing day, the highlight being the lunch and the gypsy music that they merrily played to us whilst eating!

Diane P
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

I would have liked more demonstrations on what can be achieved with the horses!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Our guide Lasslo was not helpful and didn't know much when questions were asked. He was there to collect a paycheck. The stop in Kecskemet was a joke. He showed us a few buildings then left us there and told us to meet him at the bus at a certain time. He did not point out anywhere interesting to visit and did not offer to stay with us to help find a place to grab a bit to each or a drink. The people in town were rude. My great grandparents were from Hungary. I was very excited to visit, but found most people there are not happy and definitely do not like visitors. Disappointed. The horse show was good, but again Lasslo and most people at the horse farm were not interested in having us as visitors. The lunch we had was great and the 3 piece Hungarian band that played during lunch was fantastic. All the tours we booked with Viator for our visit to Hungary were terrible. The guides were a joke. They talked while you walked with them, and unless you were right next to them, you could not hear a thing. Plus when they talked, all made no effort to speak loud enough for the group to hear, and most did not have answers to our questions. Disappointed all the way around. Viator has always done good by me. I guess this was my turn to feel I did not get my monies worth.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2011

Trip to Kecskemet was a complete waste of time. Stop for the 15 minute horse show was interesting and the lunch and music was very good. I would suggest spending the time in budapest.

From USD $ 74.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2420PUSZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message