Insider's Guide to Budapest

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 128 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Elaine D Indonesia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

If you are interested in horses or knowing more about Zoltan Kodaly musician, this tour is highly recommended for you. The horse show was very interesting, especially the rider on 5 horses. The visit to the town of Kodaly Kecskemet was also very interesting with lots to see in a small town. We had a very pleasant day away from the city, and had several people, about 20 , on this tour. We were picked up late 930am when they said 830am and had to call a Vienna telephone number to figure it out. This was rather inconvenient, and they should have just given the telephone number of the local agent. The guide spoke English very clearly with a rather charming accent.

Ian C United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

A nice tour, we went in a small mini bus with an Italian couple. The driver and guide were very nice, and the guide was very knowledgeable. Keckskemet had a nice town square with a laid back feel to it. The ranch for the horse show was not too far away. You are met by a horseman who escorts you to the car park! This is followed by a carraige ride around the ranch. The show was very entertaining but the walk through the stables was very fly ridden, so take insect repellent! The meal was OK, only one glass of wine, the Americans on the other tables obviously with another tour company were getting carafes on the table, this upset my wife! You can either have a beer or wine, if you want another beer go into the garden and sit and order at the rustic tables its cheaper! A good day out and we were only 70 miles from Romania and Serbia. Nice people and it was good to see more of Hungary outside of Budapest.

Jeffrey B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This tour had a small group with a great tour guide. The site was amazing. It really is a must see.

Donald R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

Very pleasant experience for the day, and we did convince 3 other couples to join us for the day from our boat. All were pleased and thank us for the tip. Some had canceled other planned trips for the day. Located you via internet, and the arrangements and billing were met and quite simple. Thank you.

Tertia R United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

I am recommending this to everyone going to Budapest. The Chokos were absolutely amazing, the food fantastic and the music suited the atmosphere perfectly. The only problem was that the guide was a bit boring. Kecskemet was also nice, but I couldn't always follow the guide.

Betty S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Enjoyed the drive and Kecskemet walking tour. Lunch was very good and the horse show was interesting.

Terry C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Our guide had to speak three languages on the day which became a bit tiresome. Nevertheless it is a good tour. The meal, wine and entertainment was good and the equestrian performance enjoyable.

Ian R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Guide had a very difficult job with 4 language groups on the bus of 20 people, hence at times frustrating for tour participants

John W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The itinerary was excellent and the horse show and farm exquisite. So, why the average rating? Our guide was terrible. She talked incessantly, first in English and then in German. After the first hour or so, you just tuned her out. However, by talking so much she left no free time to explore. I would rate the tour much higher if not for the guide!

steven e

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

good tour

Jerry P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Stop in first town a disappointment. Guide maybe talked a little too much

Greg G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

The tour was okay. The town we stopped in not too exciting. The horse show was nice. They accommodated our dietary restrictions. Not happy with the guide. She kept taking cell phone calls and while she spoke English, it was difficult to understand her as she spoke too quickly. I would not recommend this tour to my friends.

Ivan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The guide struggled to provide the needed information because she had to do it in three languages. The result was confusion.

A F O

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

enjoyed this trip but would have liked a longer time in Keshkemet. I did not get a good look around to understand the town. Maybe the Putsza could have been a little later to allow this. Driver just great to get a way out of the traffic jam on the way home. I did enjoy seeing the plain and the guide's explanation of this land formation, also her detailed information about thegrowing of peppers etc. Thank you.

Josephine Y C W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

This tour is ok but not very exciting.

Helen C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

We were collected by taxi from our hotel and taken to the tour office where we met the guide and fellow travellers. The weather in Budapest had been over 40 degrees for a few days and the air conditioning in the van was defective. Our very eccentric older female guide provided commentary in German and then repeated it in English (very tedious). She became quite cross with us if we were a minute late returning from toilet breaks and muttered to herself. The visit to Kecskemet was really just a lour of a couple of churches and time for a drink and could be omitted from this tour. The horse show was excellent displaying the beauty of the horses and the skill of the riders. On a cooler day the 3 hot course lunch would be delicious but it was difficult to enjoy in the heat. We were dropped off a couple of blocks from our hotel rather then returned to it as was indicated in the advertising.

Owen O

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

We had a very knowledgable guide. I would have preferred spending a little more time in the countryside than at the Lajosmizse ranch. Perhaps taking rural roads through the Puszta Great Plains instead of the freeway.

Gordon M United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Great day out but lunch service was erratic and could have easily been managed in half the time - allowing more time in Kecskemet

Mike

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

we were a bit disappointed with this - the farm component attempted to show traditional hungarian traditions but came across as a commercial production - not a working farm - and the horesmen came across as very bored as though the whole thing was a chore

Mary C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The only thing I was a little bit disappointed in, was the horse show. We saw a better horse show in the Ukraine a number of years ago. It was one of Cossack riders and I felt they did quite a few more tricks. Also at dinner, I felt our table was treated like ugly stepchildren. There were obviously at least three other groups and the wait staff seemed to do their best to ignore our table until the very last minute. We had to ask for wine or I'm not sure we'd have gotten any. When we did get it, the food was good.

Brigitte B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

The tour operator was very competent and the short city break was good. The horse show was very disappointing compared to one I had previously seen in another part of Hungary. The food was so - so. The foals were lovely and, for me, the highlight.

Jason C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

so so

Arie A Israel

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

Recommended for families with children only.

Rebecca H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Kecskemet is a very basic town, it comprises of a church, a monastory, a town hall, a small park and a girls' music school. There isn't much to see, except the monastory which is quite pretty. We arrived at the puszta horse show and had welcome drinks (apricot brandy) and a hungrian savoury cake (cinnamon) which was pleaseant next we had a little ride in a carriage....still nice and then a 3 course lunch comprising of goulash soup, chicken and chips and a hungarian desert which was a bit like square pancakes with apricot sauce on it (v.nice). We then had the "horse show" which lasted for about 10 minutes. The horse show was very disappointing and basic, the highlight being a horse sitting down and putting a hoof over the trainers shoulder (lasted 2 mins....you can see it in the picture advertising the day trip) and then another trainer standing on the back of 2 horses in a 4 horse carriage cantering around the arena. The remainder of the show had a donkey and a couple of horses trotting or cantering around the arena in a carriage.
You can look around the farm after the show....there is a dog, lot of other horses, donkeys, birds, a rabbit, and some goats.
Overall a disappointing day, the highlight being the lunch and the gypsy music that they merrily played to us whilst eating!

Diane P Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

I would have liked more demonstrations on what can be achieved with the horses!

Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 76.74

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2420PUSZ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message