4.5 star rating: Recommended 78 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Duration:8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 78 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

This tour was soooo much fun. I'd highly recommend this to any of my friends. They came and picked us up at the hotel in a comfortable van. Drove us out there. They provided delicious empanadas and gave us some background of Gauchos. Really friendly. We were allowed to wander about the ranch. Ride the horses (although I think some instructions on how to safety ride a horse would have been appreciated), etc. Then there was the bbq and show. The show was great but the meat was medium quality. I didn't eat too much of it but it still upset my stomach. But I still think this was well worth the investment.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great show! But too much food! good value.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The only reason my review wouldn't receive 5 stars is because we don't speak Spanish. This was a great experience, except for the show which was in Spanish and we felt left out. The Tour Guide on the bus was amazing speaking in both languages to show the sites on the trip. Worth doing though - even if you don't speak Spanish.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

good presentation,good wine.more steak would been better.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Nice way to spend a day outside Buenos Aires. Very good food and entertaining show.

Trudy A
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

This was a fun day. Was picked up as indicated and trip went smoothly.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

We had a grreat time, the food was excellent

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

The day trip was just fantastic. Our guide Thomas we execellent and took good care of us. He was informative, spoke perfect english and ensured we got a great table to view the show.
The actual ranch was good, the lunch was well worth the wait with unlimited red wine and beer. We could not ask for more.
After such a great lunch we were fully entertained for an hour and a half with traditional music and dance.
The only down side for me was the passing of the hat for a contribution to the performers and the gift shop seem to be on the expensive side for Argentina.
The horse races were excellent.
I would recommend this trip to anyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

it was a very cold but enjoyable day. very friendly and open atmosphere throughout. the gaucha's were quite the characters and our guide , thomas couldn't help me enough as i was the only member who couldn't speak any spanish but thomas made sure that i new everything that was going on. great day, great food , great experience

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

One of the best days of our trip. My wife even got a ring and kiss from a gaucho. My only disappointment was I did not get to gallop when I rode the horse. Our guide was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

This is a must for everybody who goes to Buenos Aires. The countryside experience with the Gauchos was wonderful, and the food was excellent!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

It was an interesting day tour. It is quite a drive away from Buenos Aires and good to get away form the city. The lunch was delicious. The music and dancing of the show was quite good. When they did the horse riding tricks outside, it was not bad. The place is obviously set up for tourists and did not seem like a normal farm but it was fine. Lou our guide was informative.

Keith R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Had a wonderful day. Unfortunately it was raining so we couldn't see the horses which was a shame, but the entertainment was extended. The dancing was fantastic, a real insight into Argentinian culture

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We enjoyed our trip very much. The food was wonderful, and also the service. Entertainment was more than we had expected - the singers and dancers were great. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone that goes to Buenos Aires.

Keith S
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

A pleasant, fun-filled and active day in the Buenos Aires countryside. Thoroughly enjoyed by my wife and I.

Gerhard J
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

Nice. Would have been better if there was a bit more English.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Pros:great entertainment at lunch. Better than expected.
Cons:needs a LOT of organization.Queues for everything but no one to control,so 1 person is at the line and then a family of 10 arrives joining them. Horses don't seem to be well kept.No cows to milk as promised. Very disorganize.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

A good day out but ranch is a little run down and there is only a short horse ride and carriage ride to fill in your time before lunch. The food was great and so was the entertainment but be weary if it is raining the Gauchos don't preform...we were lucky that it cleared up. Overall a bit to pricy!

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

A fun day out with a fantastic lunch. Coach picked up on time and courier etc very friendly and helpful. Not much to do at the range, we were standing around for quite long periods.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

great fun day,made even better by a good group of people plenty to eat and drink dont forget to take your swimmers as it's pretty hot and has a nice pool

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

nice day away from the bustling city. lunch was great. overall, a bit too touristy

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

The trip was an interesting glimpse into gaucho life. Still, the ranch seemed like a theme-park catered towards tourists-- first we were directed to a half-hour long horseback ride, then we were given various demonstrations on how to make mate and empanadas, then we were treated to lunch and a music/dance performance, and lastly, the gauchos exhibited some riding skills. The entire experience seemed a little artificial and not very authentic. Still, it's a pleasant day trip from Buenos Aires if you are in need for something less hectic or loud.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

If you are looking for an authentic Argentinian cattle ranch experience, look elsewhere. There was not a cow in sight here. There is minimal horseback riding for about 15 minutes around a boring grassy path, and an uncomfortable hayride along a bumpy and equally boring grassy path. There is also a sit-down lunch which was plentiful, but just OK. During lunch, there is a stage show with some tango, singing, and some gaucho bits. The best part was an after lunch demonstration of riding and roping by actual gauchos. I must admit that I was expecting to see something more authentic and less touristic, but if you want to see those things, you must travel far from Buenos Aires. This was like seeing a slice of ersatz Texas in Connecticut--strangely incongruous.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Overall a waste of time that could have been better spent in Buenos Aires. The transport out there was dirty and uncomfortable, our driver got lost on the way there, the guide was poor - we had no idea about what was happening for the day until we arrived at the ranch and the local guide gave us a 2minute run down. Empanadas on arrival were the best thing for whole day. We then lined up for 35-40 minutes to go on a 5 minute (if that) horse ride on horses that looked ill maintained - with no instruction. Lunch was average. The gaucho show afterwards was ok - but definitely not wirth the drive out there or the price we paid. Trust me - save your money - see more of Buenos Aires and if you go to mendoza - save the horse riding for there.

Special Offer
$179.99 Save $59.00

From USD $ 120.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5674FIESTA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message