4.5 star rating: Recommended 149 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 149 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was so much fun! We were picked up at our hotel and bussed to the ranch. On the way a guide pointed out places of interest. Once we arrived at the ranch, we were greeted with empanadas. Beef was being cooked as soon as we arrived and we could see it on the grills. People were allowed to go horse back riding if they wished, a wagon ride or walk around the grounds. We had a huge lunch and while eating, dancers performed the Tango, a male dancer danced and used bolos and there was a band. The performers were very professional and fun to watch. After lunch, the Gauchos rode their horses and played a game where the horses would run fast and the Gauchos would almost stand up in the stirrups and try to hook a small steel circle with something similar to a pencil. The circle was placed on a bar high up. This was not an easy feat to ride a horse and aim that pencil type tube into that small circle. Everyone cheered when a Gaucho would hook the circle. Then the Gaucho would ride close to a woman, hand her the steel circle and give her a kiss. There was even a nice souvenir store where people could purchase local gifts. This was a super great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a great time. There was no shortage of food and drink. The dancers were great. the ranch was had great views and the people could not have been more friendly. Everything was very clean. If could change one thing, it would be to have a larger gift shop.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The ranch is just lovely and the people are awesome! They are very welcoming and great fun. We had a really nice day going horseback riding (the horses were quite tame) then enjoyed some of the best asado we've had during our stay in Argentina (the best is served last) l. The show that followed was quite jaw dropping, the dances and the gaucho show in particular were just amazing. At the end of the gaucho show we actually got to go horseback riding with some of the gauchos and that in itself was just an amazing experience.

We didn't get to go to the museum as we decided to go horseback riding twice but you have several options until lunch is served.

Also before we got to the ranch we had an unknown detour where we dropped some people off at the zoo so you might want to check after you book how your itinerary actually looks like and how much time you'll get to spend at the ranch so you are able to plan accordingly.

On the way to the ranch we learned some great stuff about Argentina, the gauchos and mate. I recommend spending time with the gauchos as they were just amazing people.

Overall it's a must do and I don't think you would regret it. I would do it again :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great day! Loved being able to ride horses, have a wagon ride, enjoy an authentic Brazilian meal, watch some tango and salsa dancing along with the dance with the rope and ball, and most of all seeing the horsemanship skills the gauchos had. I would highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a wonderful time at Santa Susana Ranch - the people, the horses, and the food -- all fantastic!.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a wonderful experience. The drive was very relaxing with much to see along the way, the ranch was a very pretty and well-kept place, the food was excellent and the performance superlative. I just wish the English-speaking guide, who was quite pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful, had spent more time speaking in English.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were picked up from our hotel and transported to the Ranch by small bus/coach. Our guide was great and told us about the areas we drove though. The Ranch was fun, the food was great and the wine never stopped. The gauchos put on a great show as do the dancers during lunch. As we drove back into town our guide continued to tell us more about the city and she pointed out more interesting sights. Don't miss this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I thought the tour was very well done. Everything was well organized and proceeded as planned. I liked the horseback ride, the gaucho performance the best, although the dancing was excellent too. Plenty of wine and food.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great day out in the pampas with the gauchos, really nice activities and food.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Another great tour, first time on a horse in 50 years for both my husband and I. Great lunch and entertainment. The food was wonderful. And a great tango show.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

I booked this trip after seeing it recommended by someone else on the Internet. I'm so glad I did. A coach journey of about an hour into the countryside. On arrival we were given delicious Empenadas and choice of drink. Free time to ride on the horses or horse and cart. A it was nearing the end of the season the tour wasn't full so everyone had chance to do both if they wanted to. There was also the old ranch house to explore. Then it was time for lunch. Beef, chicken, sausages etc all cooked over a wood fire. Plenty of salads, bowls replaced as soon as they were empty. Drinks flowed, delicious Argentinian Malbec wine, beer and soft drinks. Dessert and coffe served, it ws time for the entertainment. Two men, one on guitar one on squeeze box, then a Tango demonstration and then everyone danced. Next we were all back outside to watch the Gauchos give their demonstration. A bit dusty, but a good time was had by all. It was an excellent day and I would thoroughly recommend the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

A very fun day with a tour guide full of interesting tidbits and a lot of knowledge of his subject.
The food was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

A very enjoyable day tour from Buenos Aires.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent tour, and a lot of fun. If you left hungry, it was your own fault. Tourguide was excellent, and was reasonably fluent in English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Pefect day from pick up to drop off. The ranch and food were great!

Special Offer
$115.58 Save $5.59

From USD $ 109.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5674SSGAUCHA

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message