4 star rating: Recommended 169 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Duration:  4 or 8 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tigre Delta Day Trip from Buenos Aires. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 169 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

good but not fantastic tour. Guide was good/informative, and we were lucky enough that English was the only language used for the tour. Worthwhile half day excursion!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a nice trip if you want to visit somewhere outside of Buenos Aires. The boat ride itself was ok-- not too much to see on the way, to be honest. Once you get to Tigre, you have a Tigre city tour which isn't all that interesting. I think the best part of trip is when you have your "alone" time to just walk around. I would recommend the "fruit dock" section and try eating at "La Ranchera" -- they have great steaks there and they accept credit cards.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Interesting,well organizated

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The boat ride was great. There was not much time was we arrived at the destination. We had originally been told we would have time to see 3 museums and we only had 30 minutes for 1 museum. Also, if you are unable to walk more than 30+ blocks, this is not recommended.

Yuriy U
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We took a full day tour and it was worthwhile. The boat ride was very pleasant and interesting. Tigre city was our final destination and it was a lovely place. We visited Mate museum where we saw many unique handmade mate cups.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Nice day excursion from BA. Walter was a very knowledgeable guide. I recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent half-day tour. Guide was informative and spoke very good English. We were pleased we took this tour and would recommend it to anyone wanting to see more than just the city area of Buenos Aires.

Only downside was that we couldn't be picked-up from our Recoleta hotel so had to take a taxi to the downtown office. On our return we were able to be dropped-off about fifteen minutes walk from our hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Punctual hotel pick-up. Very good guide - easy to understand and very informative. Great cruise up the river.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent trip down the River Plate (what a river) and once at the Tigre delta through a particularly beautiful part of Buenos Aires. Only slight gripe was that there was no Hotel pick-up meaning that you have to find your way to the jetty to pickup the boat (this proved a bit difficult as the taxi driver got lost, but all OK in the end as we took a map and could thus give him directions !!!).

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great day out, thank you. Our guide was happy, friendly and very helpful. Enjoy the whole day including the heavy rain, would recommend to everyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We were collected from our hotel in the centre of the city for what proved to be a leisurely and pleasant afternoon. Friendly guide. Interesting to see homes on the waterfront in the Delta - not at all what we expected!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very nice visit to San Isidro and Tigre. The travel to Tigre should have included a drive thru the embassy area and San Martin's home. Wouldn't have been that much out of the way. It would be an added bonus.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A wonderful trip through the delta, lots of scenes of homes, docks, everyday life.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very pleasant afternoon tour. It was very relaxing given that we had flown in that morning after a 10-hour flight. It was eye-opening watching the life-styles of the people who live just outside the city. I just wish the English-speaking guide had spent more time speaking in English.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good tour. Great guide. Much appreciated to have gone to a suggested local restaurant than the typical tourist ones.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Highly recommend this tour, saw more of the Delta than we thought. A truly lovely day out and seeing BsAs from the water was particularly special. The only negative was that the 'English speaking guide' is a misnomer. While our 'guide' was pleasant she spoke very little English and the only reason we could figure out she was there was to tell us where to pick up the bus or boat for the return trip otherwise there really was no requirement for her services. She didn't explain anything about anything you were seeing and didn't need to because that was all taken care of by the Sturla Boat Tour and hop on hop off bus tour. Actually, you can't really hop on and hop off the bus in Tigre as you are on a time related schedule for the return trip. Nevertheless, all that said it was a great way to see Tigre and the Delta for not too hefty a price.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We enjoyed the boat trip to and from Tigre. Our guide had good English and was attentive to our needs. The bus trip around the city was disappointing, it was a regular bus, filled to capacity, little chance to even see some of the points of interest or take a picture. Possibly a better explanation of what to expect on the bus tour or the assurance of one of the open tour buses be available for the tour is needed.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Excellent tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I was lucky enough to have a very knowledgeable tour guide all to myself and the trip was very interesting. Tigre and the delta are beautiful and worth a trip, it's a welcome change from the hustle and bustle of Buenos Aires.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very good tour. We went by public transport which gave us an idea how the locals do it. The tour was very comprehensive, including some sights in Buenos Aires before we got the local train to San Isidro. After a tour of town we got the tourist train to Delta. We visited the markets and boat harbours before embarking on our boat trip around the delta and then back to Puerto Madero in Buenos Aires. The guide was absolutely brilliant. Best guide in over 4 weeks of travelling. Her name was Elaeana (I think that is how you spell it). Strongly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Good short trip outside Buenos Aires.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Great half day tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

I was picked up from my hotel lobby by Cynthia, our excellent tour guide: insightful, funny. It took about 40 minutes to pick up the remaining guests from their downtown hotels, and then we hit the road to El Tigre.

We drove through the city into the Province of Buenos Aires, and for some reason we stopped in San Isidro. There was a small mini-mall of souvenir shops and a cathedral, but really this is just a tourist trap. I would have rather gone straight to El Tigre.

Because I was the only English-speaker on the tour, I felt as if I got a customized tour just for me. The boat ride on El Tigre was interesting: you see the riverside communities, floating amenities (such as a grocery boat), vegetation. The boat operator's guide was multilingual and well-informed. They served free alfajores as snacks and sold bottled water and beer. The boat ride lasted just under an hour.

Each tour bus has a camera operator taking video of the tourists in the group, hoping to sell videos. I don't think anyone in our group bought one. The cameraman was entertaining, though, and helpful as he took photos for people.

On the bus ride back, we took the autoroute; so it went much faster. There were 3 drop-off points in central locations. Roberto was an excellent driver.

A half-day trip to El Tigre was enough. In retrospect, I think I would have saved time taking the train myself to El Tigre. But Cynthia made the experience worthwhile.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We get to see different sights from train,boat to walking tour. Very interesting tour we get to miingle with the local on the train.

From USD $ 51.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5674TTDAY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message