4.5 star rating: Recommended 47 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns and Northern Beaches, Australia
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 2-Day Reef and Rainforest Package Combo: Green Island Cruise and Kuranda Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 47 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Lance H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

These were two great tours.

Alistair B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Simply breathtaking, both tours excellently handled, the barrier reef being the better of the two. A visist to the barrier reef is a must and the team deliver in a superb way, well organised and run to perfection. The scenic railway and cable car experience give an opportunity to experience something you wouldn't necessaruily see every day and the views from the cable car coming back - well you need to do it to understand!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The reef day was awesome! Definitely worth every penny, and do the semi-submersible, that was a highlight! You don't get lunch in this tour in the rain forest, and it wasn't clear that we would have time to eat. So we hurried and ate lunch on the bus, but then had an hour free while everyone else was eating. You could take lunch from the markets and sat outside in the gardens to eat instead of rushing, just a tip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

We did the cruise to Green Island the first day and had a full day of a great cruise, snorkeling, glass bottom boat tour, semi-submarine tour, and a good buffet lunch. We had an amazing experience. The second day we took the train into Kuranda rainforest and spent the day watching aboriginal dancing and spear throwing, and had some boomerang throwing lessons. We also got a land and water tour of the rainforest and left on the skyrail. It was a great day. This was a great package combo and I would definitely do it again. Everything went very smoothly with hotel pickups and drop-offs as well. GREAT DEAL!!!!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Unable to see any fish when snorkeling, I do not know if it was because we had a rough weather. It will be good to have shower facilities at the resort. If you suffer from seasick please be sure to take medication before the submarine and glass bottom boat.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Fairly good, too many people for our taste in the catamaran. Food was acceptable, and personnel were attentive and nice. In my opinion, these excursions are damaging the coral reef. The submarine especially travels very near the corals......there are no fish to be seen in the Green Island beach.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This tour is extensive for those with only 2 days in the Cairns area. Day one was the Green Island cruise: Ship was a large catamaren with enthusiastic staff. Indoor as well as out door seating. The glass bottom boat and semi submersible provided easy viewing - but beware - if the seas are rough the confines of the semi sub may cause seasickness! The challenge when snorkeling was finding storage for our other gear - if you will be snorkeling find a locker to use (On the ship or at the resort - there are none near the beach). Also no showers so be prepared to be salty for the day. Bring rain gear as well - monsoon season means rain. Buffet lunch on the ship was enjoyable - bring your $ if you want a beer! The Kuranda day trip was terrific - beautiful (and narrated) views from the train, unique shopping experiences - fun even if you did not shop. The village and wildlife was also great fun!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Overall -- Great!

Day 1 was at the Green Island. We went on a giant boat along with about 300 other folks but the boat is big enough to not make it seem crowded. The green island is gorgeous. I don't swim but I still went into the water and was able to see beautiful corals and fish. You can even see them from the boardwalk itself! The semi-submarine is definitely worth it! The glass bottom boat was nice but not as awesome as the semi-submarine. Overall I had a wonderful relaxing day and would highly recommend it. That said, if you are a swimmer and are looking for a less crowded place to snorkel I recommend you check out Fitzeroy Island instead. My friends went there separately and snorkeled with about 5 other people and they had a great time.

Day 2: The Kuranda Rainforest -- the scenic railway is beautiful. You just sit back and enjoy the relaxing slow-paced ride with the forest all around you. The train stops at a beautiful picturesque waterfall location as well. Afterwards we headed to the Kuranda village and it was a nice place to walk around with some local markets for souvenir shopping. The food in the village wasn't that great. Then we were driven to the Rainforest Nature Park -- this was the most disappointing/boring part of the day. Since I had gone to another wildlife park near Sydney, this one paled in comparison and was quite smelly. However, the day picked up again with the Skyrail ride that takes you on top of the forest canopy. Gorgeous views, lots of photo ops, and two stops along the way to see the waterfall and the rainforest.

I think if I could have bought these tours separately without the 2-day package, I would have been more satisfied and perhaps saved some money (this was an expensive tour!). Both were worth it in their own capacity but I would try to find a separate deal, especially since the two days are run by two different companies anyway.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

kuranda was great. Awesome tour. Green island was nice however the trip was ruined by the girl who was taking pictures on the boat. She offered us a picture to buy which we did for 16 dollars. when we saw she had taken another picture of us which we liked better she would not let us exchange it and told us we would have to buy another picture. i understand this is another way for the tour operator to make money but this experience soured our day. How cheesy. The tour operator was Big Cat and everything was fine including the buffet lunch but the picture gal ruined it for us.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The overall tour was very good, the highlight being the skyrail. I didn't like handing over drivers licence to secure a set of cheap snorkelling gear.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The tour was great. Only advise is snorkeling was not professionally handled. I advised others not to take snorkeling dress and pay extra. You will be OK with your normal gear and it is more comfortable to do snorkeling with your normal clothing.

Isabel H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This was a great tour, well organised, friendly crew, very helpful, would recommend this tour to anybody unsure of a trip to the reef. The journey took just over an hour and 15 mins, I'm not great on the water but took a travel pill and was greatfull as a lot of people were will due to the windy conditions. Green island is quiet, small and beautiful , enough to see and do to fill your day tho.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Good taster but needed more time
Scenic railway and sky rail superb but time in village too limited
Snorkelling and reef experience good but again would have appreciated more time to enjoy the water

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Our day out at Green Island was enjoyable in spite of the rain. We were pleasantly surprised that our package included snorkeling equipment, the glass-bottom boat tour and the semi-submersible - all were great! The water was rather choppy on our way to the island - thankfully they supply ginger tablets at the bar on board for those feeling nauseated. Also, the ability to rent a locker on the island was great. Buffet lunch was also good. The Kuranda Day trip was great (and we had better weather). Train ride was lovely up to Kuranda and we enjoyed the entire package of duck boat tour of rain forest, the aboriginal show and the tour through the wild life exhibit. We were also excited to be able to get our picture taken holding a koala and the price was great. Our tour did not include lunch but we were able to enjoy the salad bar at the buffet for only $9. The gondola ride back to the bottom was spectacular - but definately not for anyone who does not like heights - once you are on there is no other way down. So if heights are a problem - take the bus ride back down the mountain.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

The trip was really good, however the island is small and there isn't much to do if you don't want to go snorkeling or lay on the beach. If the semi-sub is out of commission you are also entitled to a cash refund. The buffet lunch is also not what they described online but it was okay.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Comfortable chairs, good food. Friendly staff. Good service.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

It was a great trip. The only negative thing was that it was overcrowded on some of the activities. Too many people in a small space on one occasion.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Green island was very nice, awesome snorkling. The Kuranda day trip was well organized but a bit boring honestly.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

I think this trip is perfect for a family with children, or the average Asian tourist. My favourite part was the semi-submarine because we saw turtles and a stingray, along with many fish. The glass-bottomed boat was not as exciting. We were not sure where we were allowed to go snorkelling, so we didn't see many big fish. A stingray swam by a couple times, and we did find Nemo (the clownfish) though! The buffet lunch was very good, with a decent selection. The island is nice; small enough to stroll around its perimeter in less than an hour. It didn't leave me with that ;Oh my god we're in the Great Barrier Reef!; feeling though. I have been to better snorkel sites since then. I would highly recommend scuba diving though; I regret not taking this option.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Rainforest great..not Reef however!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2013

Happened to also be over Chinese New Year so LOTS of tours with loud crowds. Green Island very touristy; trip to Rain Forest/Kuranda was fun on the train, and the ride on the 'duck' through the forest was educational. Weather was wonderful, but turned out to be a very expensive side trip from Sydney. Would not recommend to others for this reason.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2009

I think this tour combo is way overpriced. For one thing, this is not a 2 day tour! What it actually is is 2 -1 day tours. This was a big change from what I was expecting. I thought there was a night included in the tour cost and for that reason I thought it was overpriced. I think there are better tours out there for less.

From USD $ 278.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 24382DAYCOMBO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message