Insider's Guide to Cairns & the Tropical North

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 81 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

chris.paul.costa

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We had a really good time here. Feeding the kangaroo's was fun and we got to hold the koala. (Bucket list !!)
Buffet dinner was good the after party was a bit corny, but we went with it and had fun.
Great idea to see these animals when they are most active at night, and with no normal zoo crowd.
Bus ride was not too far from where we were staying in Esplanade. If you are like us and love animals, this is a must see.

Norma Jean K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This is a fun thing to do. there were only about 25 people of varying ages and nationalities. The barbecue was quite nice with sufficient variety of food for all. I liked having a flashlight (torch) while walking around as the ground is not always flat. The zoo is small but we did see some unusual animals. Here you can pay to hold the koala--something that cannot be done elsewhere in Australia--at a cost of $18. Many of the other zoo inhabitants were also touchable except the crocs and the poisonous ones. After the zoo tour there was entertainment where the staff got everyone involved one way or another in the fun. It was a good way to spend a different kind of evening.

Denise R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Lively and fun evening where I held a koala. Loved meeting the bandicoot and wombat. Nice dinner and friendly staff. There was less animal viewing than I expected; much more dance and singing instead.

Kay United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Good food and company except the ANTS

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

I would definitely do this again and if you have kids, its a must do. Lots of food and drink, photo with a koala, and hand feed kangaroos. What;s better than that!

Leeanne D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Fantastic night. It was my partners 50th birthday and the crowd sang 'happy birthday' to him. My youngest daughter was invited by the staff to perform with them on stage. Overall a fantastic night.

Michael P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

a good nights containment.

John P USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Great Experience. If you're booked for time and can't fit a zoo or wildlife trip in during the day then definitely do this. The alligator feeding and hand feeding the kangaroos was awesome.

Agnieszka G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

A real chance to interact with animals, and staff was lovely. A mark down on food and entertainment.

Julie M United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This was a great trip to do as we got a chance to get up close to the animals and see the animals that would normally be asleep during the day. Watching the crocs get fed was fun. The food was good and there was plenty of it, free drinks during the evening made a change too. The staff were friendly and informative.

Jason G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

It was a bit too expensive, but it was great. We saw a lot of rare animals that you can only see in Australia.

Diane T United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

A good night out. The BBQ ws very good and staff informative and friendly.

Myron O USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Fun night, although the facility itself could be upgraded, but this was a fine experience with a great staff to help us out.

Lourdes M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

This was lots of fun. They let you pet the Koala Bears and you get to feed the kangaroos. This provided great close up-and-personal opportunities. You get to see the crocodiles as well. The food was not that great.

Ian L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

Fun and enjoyable.

Peter J M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Enjoyable time. Food was good, very friendly staff. You obviously see a lot more during the day but the entertainment at the end made a great fun time.

Susan H Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Fantastic for overseas visitors and if you have a child with you. Our 5-year-old grandson loved every minute, and we loved watching him have a ball.

Jackie C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

I wish we had taken borh the day and night tour of the zoo!

Mark C Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Good fun.

Jodie A USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

This is a great way to see the animals. The food is a bit lackluster, but the animals made everything worthwhile!

Margaret B United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The food, the tour of the zoo, and the entertainment were good. It was well worth the visit, although I did feel it was expensive for how long we were there.

Claudia W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The food was good and the dancing was really good fun.

Philip H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The 5 meter long crocodile was amazing.

James O USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

A fun trip to a zoo to see some things you can't see everyday. Food was decent and you get as much beer and wine as you like. Definitely more of an older crowd though.

Steven B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

Started out a little slow with the dinner. Things picked up real quick once the tour started. Don't be fooled by the term 'torch'. That's not a stick with fire on it. In that part of the world a 'torch' is a flashlight. Bring your own small flashlight as their's is a little weak. The animals were unbelievable. I had no idea that we would be so close to them and actually touch them. It was great.

Viewing 3 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 75.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2162ZOO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message