4.5 star rating: Recommended 45 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Northern Beaches, Palm Cove or Port Douglas, Australia
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Daintree and Cape Tribulation Tour from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 45 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Great (but long) day out. Lovely scenery and potential for great wildlife. Barbeque lunch was delicious. Highlight was cruising down the Daintree river getting pretty close to some very big salt water crocodiles.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

We were picked up at 7am by Peter, was excellent Guide and Driver, it is a very long day... especially if you have to pick up people from Palm Cove and Port Douglas it is a very big detour, at least an hour wasted. After everyone was on board, we headed to cross the Daintree River, then into the Daintree Discovery centre for the Board walk you get morning tea here, then on to Cape Tribulation beach and lookout, Alexandra Lookout, BBQ lunch included, the Fish is very nice Steak, Sausage, Salads, Damper and Fruit. then onto Crocodile cruise on the Daintree River we saw 3. Afternoon tea at the dock, Then on to Mossman Gorge another board walk in the tree's. then you start to do hotel drop off's. we got back to our room at 7pm yes it was a 12hour tour, make sure you take your hat sunnies, and sun block. and a bottle of water.

Crow
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

A full on day made even better by the friendly and informative driver. So much to see in such a short time and even the rain and wind didn't put a dampener on this trip. Bit disappointed we didn't see any big croc's but that's a chance you take. Great day.

Jane T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This was an action packed day with a great variety of activities and sights to see. Our guidedriver was very knowledgeable and informative and it made for an excellent introduction to the rainforest.

Mark L
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

A full and interesting day out and excellent value for money.

Ruth C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Seemed to be one of the best companies operating in the area, knowledgeable driver, good views of forest and area, though not clear why they needed the 4WD.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

Excellent tour. The tour guide was great, very informative and entertaining. The rainforest was great and it poured with rain for a short time - perfect. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Reginald T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

This trip is definitely worth doing if you have limited time and want to see the Daintree and Cape Tribulation in one day. We found our driver to be very friendly and helpful and he gave a very good commentary as to the local area as we travelled up the coast. The BBQ lunch was very good and was served with complimentary red or white wine. A great day out.

Stephanie J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

Very good trip. Enjoyable and well worth the money. Highly recommend.

Nadeera B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

This tour was very good.

Maria
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Our tour driver was excellent. Enjoyed all but was disappointed that we didn't see any crocodiles but the guide did say that it was unlikely at high tide so maybe the day should have been planed so that we did the river cruise at low tide. Would definitely do the Daintree again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The day trip was fine but the 4 wheel drive was misleading. The description implied more of an adventure but the trip was the same as it would have been in a non- 4 wheel drive. I paid a premium for this tour expecting some off road stuff but did not get it. The first thing the driver said that we would not be using the 4 wheel drive.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

really good. Oldest rain forest in the worls. Long day though

Prashant K
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Good.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Spent most of the time in a coach bus. Tour guide rambled on without providing any information we hadn't already heard. Wouldn't recommend for anyone under the age of 65.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

This is the one tour we took this vacation that I was not very pleased with. The bus ride was WAY too long and somewhat nauseating. IF you like herbology than you might enjoy this more. For us it was a bit boring.
Even the short boat ride up the river was dull. I now know more than I care to about the mango tree and how it breaths. We did see a few small crocs, but if that's what you want to see, go to the Cairns zoo instead.

Sheila H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Disappointed with this trip - we did not get a 4WD but a rather large bus therefore too many people on coach to enable us to hear what the guide was saying whilst walking around. Everything seemed rushed and worrying about getting to the next thing. We did a similar trip 3 years ago with a smaller coach and enjoyed it more. I particularly booked the 4WD trip (on my daughter's birthday as well) so we would be going around with fewer people - I hate that feeling of on and off the coach and being herded around which we definitely felt here. The driver was excellent and very knowledgeable so this helped in a way but otherwise not a good trip for our last day in Australia. We should have been told it might not be a 4WD.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

A pretty big day. Covers lots of areas. Could have been a bit better if driver was a bit more knowledgeable and able to provide more commentary for the long drives.

Rebeca B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

It was meant to be a 4WD tour but it only ended up being coach. The overall tour was very nice though and still enjoyable.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

Excellent guide.
But HONESTLY!! Call it what it is: A guided tour in a bus. NOT- at all - a 4WD-tour !!!

From USD $ 153.15

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2570CTR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message