4.5 star rating: Recommended 326 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Australia
  • Duration:  8 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 326 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was fantastic and the crew was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

IMPORTANT: If you suffer from motion sickness, take Dramamine or something before boarding. At least 10 people were sick and throwing up, and the ocean was only mildly choppy. The ginger pills they offer don't do much.
That said, the trip was the highlight of our time in Australia.
The boat company was easy to find in the main fleet terminal, next to several other tour options.
There was a crew of 8-10, and most were polite and helpful.
I've been snorkeling, but have no experience scuba diving. The crew gave a 20 minute briefing on the scuba basics, then suited us up in groups of four. We were linked to the guide the whole time, and went about 40 feet underwater to the reef, where we spent around 25 minutes. Saw a shark, fish, etc.
The boat later moved to another spot on the reef for more snorkeling. Beautiful, clear blue water.
Lunch was great- lots of salads, shrimp, steak, fish.
Bring sweatshirts, etc- gets chilly on the ride back!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing time on the Great Barrier Reef! The staff was awesome, the food was great, always felt safe and taken care of!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good value, beautiful coral and fish. Expect 1.5 hour boat ride out and back each way, can be a bit rough on the ocean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Would highly suggest this tour. The crew was amazing and really helpful. Intro dive was short, but fun. Snorkeling was a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip. Crew are hilarious and make the day lots of fun. Nice lunch and entertainment on the way home. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organized. Equipment in great shape. Food very good. We were lucky to have a gorgeous day in June.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

wonderful experience staff were fantastic and very helpful nice lunch the reef is fantastic so glad we had the experience thankyou

Michael T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Although the weather was not in our favour, what an experience. The crew were fantastic, well organised, professional, understanding and great fun. Was booked to go on the helicopter trip around the reef but was unsure, thankfully Chris (one of the crew) said it would be fine, so glad he did, it was amazing. Great buffet at lunchtime and the entertainment back - brilliant thanks to Phil on guitar. Highly recommend this trip. :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We booked the snorkeling/lunch tour… OMG if you suffer from motion sickness PLEASE make yourself a big favor DO NOT do this. This was the longest more painful day in my life (several people got motion sick) the weather was not favorable so made it more difficult. The staff was very attentive checking with my husband every 15 min and asking if I was feeling better, Thank God for an Angel Nurse from Canada that was there on Diving Tour, she gave me Dramamine and made me feel better last hour of the tour.
If you decide to go don't forget to take Dramamine with you and take it before departure. Good Luck!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What can I say about this except it was the highlight of our vacation. The reef was as beautiful as the fish were plentiful. Snorkeling was excellent, and we added some scuba in too (extra cost).
The trip to the reef was a little long, and there were a few people who did get seasick. They provided ginger for free (and barf bags too) if needed. Food was pretty good and the entertainment on the way back (by the chef, Elvis) was top notch. If you are looking to scuba, they can look up your certification if needed, but good to have medical clearance if you have any medical issues. The only compliant I have was the add on charges came to about $250. This included waterproof camera rental (Do this, we got some GREAT pics and video - you get to keep the SD card after) and 4 scuba dives. We did not run into any jelly fish (late April) but they did have stinger suits available if needed. During SCUBA, we saw a white tip reef shark, and large number of other fish species.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The crew is very friendly! The lunch is really good! The equipments are good! The whole day was fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing experience which I nearly wimped out on (scuba diving) lovely make crew member talked me round and can't thank him enough

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great experience. Very professional, energetic and helpful crew, also full of fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The boat was great and the crew were very enthusiastic. The snorkel spots were really great but there was a cyclone around Cairns so the water and the boat ride back were really rough. Food was good.
There are a lot of backpackers on this boat so if you are not wanting to hang out with a bunch of 20 year olds this boat is not for you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful crew and helpful. Dive itself was great. Entertainment by Elvis was great on the return.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a day! Snorkeling, Food and a helicopter ride to top it all off! What a special day this was! The staff are absolutely amazing (especially Elvis)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome to say the least...!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An awesome experience......boat ride took longer than I expected but well worth it. Staff very friendly and very accommodating, really had a BLAST on this tour! Elvis was a "STAR"!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great day on the reef on the osprey which has a superb team of people in charge of you phil was amazing cooked a wonderful lunch and entertained us on return journey too many to mention but also Hayden was super taking many people snorkelling who were not confident or could not swim he took everyone we thought how tired he should of been sometimes he was pulling 3 people on ropes and rings also mel was very nice and last but not least Sam was a typical Aussie lad all in all a super 5 star day out if you go on reef you must go with this team.mick and Jill Brammer march 02 /2014

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The crew treated me like family! They gave us free wine and cheese and fruit in addition to free lunch. They had a free concert on the way back, it was heaven!! Underwater camera rentals for $45 and rental of SCUBA or snorkeling gear was included in the price. What more could I ask for? You just have to buy drinks and tour guide if you are SCUBA certified and want a guide. Overall, so worthwhile! 2 of my friends have already signed up after seeing my photos!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great trip. We really enjoyed ourselves. If you sign up for the intro dive, they get started very quickly. I have scuba dived before so it was fine, but it could be a little stressful for first timers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great way to see the Great Barrier Reef. They have experienced staff and they are very friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Visited in January and I had an amazing time! Chose the snorkel and heli option, and it was well worth the money. The staff were professional, knowledgeable, and safety conscious. The reef sites were well selected - alive with colourful coral and fish everywhere! Helicopter ride was a highlight. Lunch was pretty nice and there was enough to go around. Great way to see the reef.

From USD $ 108.63

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3253OSPREY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message