4.5 star rating: Recommended 84 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Northern Beaches and Palm Cove, Australia
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Barrier Reef Scenic Helicopter Tour and Cruise from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 84 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

It was great, thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent day. Great experience in the helicopter, fantastic views, good snorkilng, very attentive staff on the boat. Good value for money. Not to be missed!!!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This tour was fantastic! Of course the aim of the tour is so unique being the Barrier Reef, but the tour itself was very well run. Everybody was so friendly and willing to help. Everything was on time. Well done!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was the highlight of my vacation! The helicopter ride was the best way to see the reef you could even see turtles and other sea life through the crystal-clear water. The snorkeling was the best I've ever done. I pulled up some pictures from past trips to Hawaii and the Caribbean, and none of the snorkeling photos compare to what you see here. If I'd had an extra day, I'd have gone again.

NEIL M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We had a fantastic day right from the person who picked us up, the pilot to the crew on the boat, everyone was great. The helicopter ride was great we would highly reccomend it. My wife had never snorkelled before and the crew were great with her they gave us a guide who towed us around the reef, it was fantastic. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time to snorkel on the reef.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip even though it was cloudy the day we went! The views of the reef from the air are brilliant. The snorkel and dive site was great, with plenty of coral and colorful fish.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Smooth, well organized, quite a treat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Best thing we did in Cairns! Absolutely beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Helicopter ride was fantastic. The boat ride on the way back was really tough for those who can get sick on a boat. It was several hours of the boat rocking back and forth across some really choppy conditions. Their snorkeling was far more structured than at most places, which I thought was great. Snorkel guides were available for people who are not comfortable during their first time snorkeling. They had life jackets, those noodle things, and other things to grab onto if you get tired. I wish we had a bit more time on the boat to snorkel though, I felt like it was a bit short. Other than that and the rocky boat ride, it was absolutely amazing!

MIRAN S
Slovenia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Definitely must do while in Cairns! You get to see the Great Barrier Reef from the water and from the air. Underwater world is just amazing!

Ada S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

An absolutely wonderful day out.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The trip from Cairns was excellent, it was well organised the staff were very helpful. There was plenty of time to snorkel, the food was excellent and we would recommend the fly back option as it is the only way to appreciate the reef.

Mary C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This trip was amazing and should be on everyones list of things to do before you die. Snorkling on the Great Barrier Reef was awesome, especially the sight of the basking sharks swimming below us. I was so excited I nearly wet myself. Crew on helicopter and ship were very friendly and knowledgeable and helped to make this trip unforgettable. If I ever win the lottery I'll be back.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

By far the best way to see the Great Barrier Reef. I took the fly-cruise option and was a brilliant day out. I don't like heights but that was forgotten about once over the reef. Friendly staff made the day a pleasure. What would have made the day better was being able to find the office at Cairns Airport.

Kathryn A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

The whole experience was positive - the crew were fantastic, all very helpful and accommodating ensuring that people were happy and comfortable in what they were doing something new for most people! The food and facilities provided were of a high quality and the scenery just spoke for itself really! I highly recommend a flight back over the reef as well - the whole trip was a once in a lifetime experience I and my friend will always remember! Thank you very much.

From USD $ 278.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3262FLY

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message