4.5 star rating: Recommended 92 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Northern Beaches and Palm Cove, Australia
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Barrier Reef Scenic Helicopter Tour and Cruise from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 92 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Patricia J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Very scary landing on a pontoon the size of a double bed but enjoyable all the same. Loved the submersible. We didn't have time to snorkel which was a big disappointment.

Joern S
Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

Friendly and caring staff. The helicopter ride gave us a good view of the reef and the area around Cairns. The snorkeling was nice as well.

Keith A
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Staff excellent and very friendly. Everything on time and absolutely no problems.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

The trip to the Great Barrier Reef was brilliant. Even though it was raining we all enjoyed the snorkeling. The return flight in the helicopter was also brilliant, particularly with Dire Straights ringing in our ears during the flight. On the down side, the boat was a bit crowded, and lunch (advertised as a BBQ) was not quite as expected. The boat trip was a little hairy, particularly with the swell, but overall we would definitely do it again. It was a great day out.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The helicopter ride was good.

The diving site was so so.
This site has too many tourist and the fish population is not as I expect.
Compared to other dive sites, the water is a bit murky.
I would recommend this site only for beginners.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

enjoyed the flight - you get to see the reef from an aspect otherwise only seen on TV; the boat/snorkelling session was a bit crowded and just so so - perhaps booking 2 seperate activities would be better

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

The helicopter people are extremely nice and jovial but the flight out was uneventful. Saw one lone shark - no other sealife was visible. At the reef, we only allowed 1 1/2 hours to snorkel which wasn't a good value, IMO. What we did see was pretty good but if you have a chance, Moore reef is better

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

good day out, spoiled only by the helicopter pilot's commentary being inaudable.

Graeme G
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

The trip was great, but we didn't seem to get the 2 hours diving we were supposed to do. When the helicopter landed, the boat wasn't there, so we had to wait for it, then seemed to wait ages for the transfer to the boat. Then followed a safety briefing, all eating into the 2 hours, then told to be back on boat by 2.45pm, 15 minutes early, so I reckon we only got about 1 hour of diving in.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The boat trip was insanely over crowded with people competing for space and we felt like we were cattle being herded around the boat and on and off. The helicopter was welcome relief from the hoards of tourists and an enjoyable end to the day!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Poor day!! Really looked forward to this trip. Helicopter bit was fine but boat was very, very poor.

As we arrived by helicopter the transfer boat was not ready. Nor was the glass bottomed boat. Glass bottom boat?? That's a joke. It had a window in the hull to look through. View of reef was poor.

On the boat unless your blond with boobs then avoid. The staff were totally uninterseted in us. The food was stone cold and inedible but worse was to follow.

During the limping back of the ship, my wife and I had to listen to a crew member boast of his sexual exploits to some customers and two teenage girls. Foul and abusive language and I'm no prude but there is a time and place for things.

I suggest you avoid. Helicopter was only decent bit. Avoid if possible.

JOYCE J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

I cann't say enough about this trip. It was the highlight of my vacation. The snorkeling and dive crew were awesome. The crew aboard the ship were the best team i hee ever had. i didn't even scuba dive and they were awesome, especially dive instuct0r.

Roger L
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

Helicopter flight was great, especially landing on a small raft! Sadly everything else was rushed, only 20 minutes snorkelling before a rush to dry and go on the semi-submersible. People who had booked the cruise/fly fared better as they had longer to swim etc.

GANG L
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

The fly is great but time for snorkel was too short, only around 40 minutes.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2013

The description did NOT live up to reality. 1.) Tour Operator was 15 minutes late picking us up. That set things on a poor course for the remainder of the day. 2.) The helicopter flight was less than 20 minutes. I have video as proof - flight was only 18 minutes. 28% less time over.greatnomorespace!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

unfortunately i have to say it was not really the kind of trip that i was thinking. The sea was in bad condition but apparently the staff just caring about dollars so, briefing regarding ginger pills for seasick and then, half way throught, half of the people on the boat starts to feel sick. The currencies were really too strong to enjoy the snorkelling and they cancel my helicopter trip due bad weather condition. Nothing really wrong with that, i got the refund, but the staff should be responsable enough to realize when is good time to bring people out for snorkelling and when is not....for my opinion they should cancel the day trip but is my opinion anyway, everyone welcome to disagree with that. For my point of view, really negative experience.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2012

Boat= single hull. You'll feel every wave. Don't be a fool. Go with a larger catamaran. Want to scuba dive? Great! $65 for your first intro/arm holding dive and then $45 for the next. Then another $35 for the next. Unfortunately we didn't even have a chance to do anything but the first since the helicopter pilot wanted to get an early start back. SOOOOOO, we boated out to the reef for an hour and a half. Snorkeled for 20 minutes. Scubaed for 20 minutes (for an additional $130), had lunch, cruised another 30 minutes to our next stop and then flew home. It sounded like a great idea. It was a colossal failure.

From USD $ 241.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3262FLY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message