Insider's Guide to Cairns & the Tropical North

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 105 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Biju P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Excellent! Good service, food and friendly staff!

Heidi H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The cruise out and heli back was a great option. Best of both worlds with a pretty good amount of time for snorkeling and scuba options, decent reef locations, while the heli option was great to see the reefs from above - though you do miss the wine and cheese and entertainment on the way back. Lunch was OK, but definitely not the highlight of the day.

Peter J Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Liked the trip. Good fun.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The helicopter tour was too short, as it takes the half of the time to get to the Barrier I would have loved more time flying over it. It should start earlier in the morning and allow more time on the cruise. The crew of the cruise was fantastic, very attentive and nice! I really had a good time there!

Huey-Tyng S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The boat was a bit crowded, but that's to be expected. All the people there were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a great experience that I would probably even do again!

Anton W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

A few problems - weight submitted for helicopter, while somewhat accurate, didn't allow us to take everyone back on the helicopter. Submersible didn't operate that day, but it seemed to be a recurring problem. Crew was great and the entertainment on the way back to shore really fun.

Peter B United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

The boat crew were really helpful and persuaded me to have a go at my first snorkelling. The lunch was also great. The downside was for my wife who does not swim or snorkel and wanted a trip in the semi-submersible. This was out of action so we were all disappointed.

Helen P United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

We were disappointed that the helicopter trip was so short. If you fly into Cairns you actually see more of the reef! Safety once on the boat was excellent. Very good lunch supplied in the cost.

Valerie H United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Really enjoyed the experience. Worth doing, especially the helicopter trip!

ANGELA W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The sea was a bit rough but I enjoyed the snorkeling and did an introductory scuba dive, which was great. We were glad to have the helicopter flight back, as a full day on the boat would have been too long.

Gina D Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The helicopter ride was loads of fun and I recommend it to anyone. I felt extremely safe with the chopper pilot, who was also friendly and funny. The cruise staff were equally as fantastic. They ensured we had a great time, kept lunch aside for us which was superb while we ventured into the reef waters to play with the fishies.

Patricia J United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Very scary landing on a pontoon the size of a double bed but enjoyable all the same. Loved the submersible. We didn't have time to snorkel which was a big disappointment.

Joern S Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

Friendly and caring staff. The helicopter ride gave us a good view of the reef and the area around Cairns. The snorkeling was nice as well.

Keith A United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Staff excellent and very friendly. Everything on time and absolutely no problems.

Jonathan O USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

The trip to the Great Barrier Reef was brilliant. Even though it was raining we all enjoyed the snorkeling. The return flight in the helicopter was also brilliant, particularly with Dire Straights ringing in our ears during the flight. On the down side, the boat was a bit crowded, and lunch (advertised as a BBQ) was not quite as expected. The boat trip was a little hairy, particularly with the swell, but overall we would definitely do it again. It was a great day out.

CliffCheryl United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The helicopter ride was incredible. The snorkeling was well organized but seemed more focused on a rather large group of young people 20-30 year olds. There were a lot of jelly fish in the area which made us a little apprehensive. Suits were available at an additional cost. The snorkeling on the reef available from Aerlie Beach seemed better to us.

Benjamin F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

This was a great experience! I thought it was a little pricey for what you get. The helicopter ride wasn't 25 mins...it was shorter! It would have been nice to be up a little longer...The snorkeling and cruise were great! The food was cheap! considering what I paid for, I was expecting a little more. Also only got 1 glass of boxed red or white wine...and was told it would be more for another glass...which is crazy again since I already paid so much for the package deal!

Benedict C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The helicopter ride was good.

The diving site was so so.
This site has too many tourist and the fish population is not as I expect.
Compared to other dive sites, the water is a bit murky.
I would recommend this site only for beginners.

Garry H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

enjoyed the flight - you get to see the reef from an aspect otherwise only seen on TV; the boat/snorkelling session was a bit crowded and just so so - perhaps booking 2 seperate activities would be better

markhu56

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

The helicopter people are extremely nice and jovial but the flight out was uneventful. Saw one lone shark - no other sealife was visible. At the reef, we only allowed 1 1/2 hours to snorkel which wasn't a good value, IMO. What we did see was pretty good but if you have a chance, Moore reef is better

Gerry C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

good day out, spoiled only by the helicopter pilot's commentary being inaudable.

Graeme G United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

The trip was great, but we didn't seem to get the 2 hours diving we were supposed to do. When the helicopter landed, the boat wasn't there, so we had to wait for it, then seemed to wait ages for the transfer to the boat. Then followed a safety briefing, all eating into the 2 hours, then told to be back on boat by 2.45pm, 15 minutes early, so I reckon we only got about 1 hour of diving in.

Andrew D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The boat trip was insanely over crowded with people competing for space and we felt like we were cattle being herded around the boat and on and off. The helicopter was welcome relief from the hoards of tourists and an enjoyable end to the day!

Goggleman

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Poor day!! Really looked forward to this trip. Helicopter bit was fine but boat was very, very poor.

As we arrived by helicopter the transfer boat was not ready. Nor was the glass bottomed boat. Glass bottom boat?? That's a joke. It had a window in the hull to look through. View of reef was poor.

On the boat unless your blond with boobs then avoid. The staff were totally uninterseted in us. The food was stone cold and inedible but worse was to follow.

During the limping back of the ship, my wife and I had to listen to a crew member boast of his sexual exploits to some customers and two teenage girls. Foul and abusive language and I'm no prude but there is a time and place for things.

I suggest you avoid. Helicopter was only decent bit. Avoid if possible.

JOYCE J Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

I cann't say enough about this trip. It was the highlight of my vacation. The snorkeling and dive crew were awesome. The crew aboard the ship were the best team i hee ever had. i didn't even scuba dive and they were awesome, especially dive instuct0r.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 223.31

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3262FLY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message