4.5 star rating: Recommended 81 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Northern Beaches and Palm Cove, Australia
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Barrier Reef Scenic Helicopter Tour and Cruise from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 81 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Roger T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

Excellent value for money. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

Trevor H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Brilliant trip, we were supposed to meet a platform with underwater viewing but met a boat. Anyway, unbelievable trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Overall, it was a great day!
The staff were great!
The reef is spectacular!
The helicopter 'return' was not good value as it was supposed to be a 30" tour, but turned out to
be only a quick return to shore

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

The worst part by far about this was that I was the "last ride" flying back to the airport. Because of the timing of the last flight I was unable to snorkel (or dive) at the second reef. There's just wasn't enough time. So I'd suggest just doing the tour and then getting on the chopper for a scenic tour while you're there.

It was pretty awesome though.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

A well organised tour, except again had to wait long time for bus transfers to and from the trip. Don't think the local organisers are on the balk most of the time!! Bit lovely cruise out to barrier reef. Children got to try scuba diving, but not exactly very clear that they had to pay extra for staying down-discovered this afterwards to our cost! But they loved it! Lunch was nice, basic but nice. Didn't get to do glass bottom boat as not enough time. Due to booking helicopter tour as well, we then found it was our return trip back bit left much earlier than we wanted as didn't get much time at second reef to snorkel, try the boat tour or even get the fresh fruit, wine and cheese and biscuits. Helicopter tour was nice, booked as a surprise wedding anniversary present, but only saw first 10 mins of the Great Barrier Reef as rest of course is on open seas returning back!! Good trip, need to improve the pick ups as we waited bit too long both ways!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Had a great helicopter ride and Andy was helpful in pointing out various different sites. Would do again next time up. Thanks.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Other than the helicopter intercom headsets not working and therefore no commentary on the way to and above the barrrier reef, was an excellent visit. The glass bottom boat was a nice touch for older visitors like us who do not dive or snorkle.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Excellent! Good service, food and friendly staff!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The cruise out and heli back was a great option. Best of both worlds with a pretty good amount of time for snorkeling and scuba options, decent reef locations, while the heli option was great to see the reefs from above - though you do miss the wine and cheese and entertainment on the way back. Lunch was OK, but definitely not the highlight of the day.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Liked the trip. Good fun.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The helicopter tour was too short, as it takes the half of the time to get to the Barrier I would have loved more time flying over it. It should start earlier in the morning and allow more time on the cruise. The crew of the cruise was fantastic, very attentive and nice! I really had a good time there!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The boat was a bit crowded, but that's to be expected. All the people there were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a great experience that I would probably even do again!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

A few problems - weight submitted for helicopter, while somewhat accurate, didn't allow us to take everyone back on the helicopter. Submersible didn't operate that day, but it seemed to be a recurring problem. Crew was great and the entertainment on the way back to shore really fun.

Peter B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

The boat crew were really helpful and persuaded me to have a go at my first snorkelling. The lunch was also great. The downside was for my wife who does not swim or snorkel and wanted a trip in the semi-submersible. This was out of action so we were all disappointed.

Helen P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

We were disappointed that the helicopter trip was so short. If you fly into Cairns you actually see more of the reef! Safety once on the boat was excellent. Very good lunch supplied in the cost.

From USD $ 297.75

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3262FLY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message