4.5 star rating: Recommended 81 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Northern Beaches and Palm Cove, Australia
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Barrier Reef Scenic Helicopter Tour and Cruise from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 81 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Peter B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

The boat crew were really helpful and persuaded me to have a go at my first snorkelling. The lunch was also great. The downside was for my wife who does not swim or snorkel and wanted a trip in the semi-submersible. This was out of action so we were all disappointed.

Helen P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

We were disappointed that the helicopter trip was so short. If you fly into Cairns you actually see more of the reef! Safety once on the boat was excellent. Very good lunch supplied in the cost.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Really enjoyed the experience. Worth doing, especially the helicopter trip!

ANGELA W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The sea was a bit rough but I enjoyed the snorkeling and did an introductory scuba dive, which was great. We were glad to have the helicopter flight back, as a full day on the boat would have been too long.

Gina D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The helicopter ride was loads of fun and I recommend it to anyone. I felt extremely safe with the chopper pilot, who was also friendly and funny. The cruise staff were equally as fantastic. They ensured we had a great time, kept lunch aside for us which was superb while we ventured into the reef waters to play with the fishies.

Patricia J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Very scary landing on a pontoon the size of a double bed but enjoyable all the same. Loved the submersible. We didn't have time to snorkel which was a big disappointment.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

Friendly and caring staff. The helicopter ride gave us a good view of the reef and the area around Cairns. The snorkeling was nice as well.

Keith A
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Staff excellent and very friendly. Everything on time and absolutely no problems.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

The trip to the Great Barrier Reef was brilliant. Even though it was raining we all enjoyed the snorkeling. The return flight in the helicopter was also brilliant, particularly with Dire Straights ringing in our ears during the flight. On the down side, the boat was a bit crowded, and lunch (advertised as a BBQ) was not quite as expected. The boat trip was a little hairy, particularly with the swell, but overall we would definitely do it again. It was a great day out.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

enjoyed the flight - you get to see the reef from an aspect otherwise only seen on TV; the boat/snorkelling session was a bit crowded and just so so - perhaps booking 2 seperate activities would be better

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

The helicopter people are extremely nice and jovial but the flight out was uneventful. Saw one lone shark - no other sealife was visible. At the reef, we only allowed 1 1/2 hours to snorkel which wasn't a good value, IMO. What we did see was pretty good but if you have a chance, Moore reef is better

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

good day out, spoiled only by the helicopter pilot's commentary being inaudable.

Graeme G
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

The trip was great, but we didn't seem to get the 2 hours diving we were supposed to do. When the helicopter landed, the boat wasn't there, so we had to wait for it, then seemed to wait ages for the transfer to the boat. Then followed a safety briefing, all eating into the 2 hours, then told to be back on boat by 2.45pm, 15 minutes early, so I reckon we only got about 1 hour of diving in.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The boat trip was insanely over crowded with people competing for space and we felt like we were cattle being herded around the boat and on and off. The helicopter was welcome relief from the hoards of tourists and an enjoyable end to the day!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Poor day!! Really looked forward to this trip. Helicopter bit was fine but boat was very, very poor.

As we arrived by helicopter the transfer boat was not ready. Nor was the glass bottomed boat. Glass bottom boat?? That's a joke. It had a window in the hull to look through. View of reef was poor.

On the boat unless your blond with boobs then avoid. The staff were totally uninterseted in us. The food was stone cold and inedible but worse was to follow.

During the limping back of the ship, my wife and I had to listen to a crew member boast of his sexual exploits to some customers and two teenage girls. Foul and abusive language and I'm no prude but there is a time and place for things.

I suggest you avoid. Helicopter was only decent bit. Avoid if possible.

From USD $ 302.18

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3262FLY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message