4.5 star rating: Recommended 84 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Northern Beaches and Palm Cove, Australia
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Barrier Reef Scenic Helicopter Tour and Cruise from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 84 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The helicopter tour was too short, as it takes the half of the time to get to the Barrier I would have loved more time flying over it. It should start earlier in the morning and allow more time on the cruise. The crew of the cruise was fantastic, very attentive and nice! I really had a good time there!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The boat was a bit crowded, but that's to be expected. All the people there were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a great experience that I would probably even do again!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

A few problems - weight submitted for helicopter, while somewhat accurate, didn't allow us to take everyone back on the helicopter. Submersible didn't operate that day, but it seemed to be a recurring problem. Crew was great and the entertainment on the way back to shore really fun.

Peter B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

The boat crew were really helpful and persuaded me to have a go at my first snorkelling. The lunch was also great. The downside was for my wife who does not swim or snorkel and wanted a trip in the semi-submersible. This was out of action so we were all disappointed.

Helen P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

We were disappointed that the helicopter trip was so short. If you fly into Cairns you actually see more of the reef! Safety once on the boat was excellent. Very good lunch supplied in the cost.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Really enjoyed the experience. Worth doing, especially the helicopter trip!

ANGELA W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The sea was a bit rough but I enjoyed the snorkeling and did an introductory scuba dive, which was great. We were glad to have the helicopter flight back, as a full day on the boat would have been too long.

Gina D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The helicopter ride was loads of fun and I recommend it to anyone. I felt extremely safe with the chopper pilot, who was also friendly and funny. The cruise staff were equally as fantastic. They ensured we had a great time, kept lunch aside for us which was superb while we ventured into the reef waters to play with the fishies.

Patricia J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Very scary landing on a pontoon the size of a double bed but enjoyable all the same. Loved the submersible. We didn't have time to snorkel which was a big disappointment.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

Friendly and caring staff. The helicopter ride gave us a good view of the reef and the area around Cairns. The snorkeling was nice as well.

Keith A
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Staff excellent and very friendly. Everything on time and absolutely no problems.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

The trip to the Great Barrier Reef was brilliant. Even though it was raining we all enjoyed the snorkeling. The return flight in the helicopter was also brilliant, particularly with Dire Straights ringing in our ears during the flight. On the down side, the boat was a bit crowded, and lunch (advertised as a BBQ) was not quite as expected. The boat trip was a little hairy, particularly with the swell, but overall we would definitely do it again. It was a great day out.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

enjoyed the flight - you get to see the reef from an aspect otherwise only seen on TV; the boat/snorkelling session was a bit crowded and just so so - perhaps booking 2 seperate activities would be better

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

The helicopter people are extremely nice and jovial but the flight out was uneventful. Saw one lone shark - no other sealife was visible. At the reef, we only allowed 1 1/2 hours to snorkel which wasn't a good value, IMO. What we did see was pretty good but if you have a chance, Moore reef is better

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

good day out, spoiled only by the helicopter pilot's commentary being inaudable.

From USD $ 278.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3262FLY

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message