4 star rating: Recommended 56 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Australia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Green Island Half Day Trip from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 56 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

This is a very good way of seeing part of the Great Barrier Reef with some coral and fish if you don't have a lot of time in Cairns or are not into underwater activities. It takes about 50 minutes to reach Green Island and the Island activities are well organised by the trip operator.

Lesley M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We received great service, it was well organized and the tour guides were fabulous.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

There is too much to see in Green Island and a half day tour is not enough. You better take the full day tour. Despite this, the tour was great time.

Ian M
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

A good way to get snorkeling on the reef when we only had a half day.

Eunice A
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Went very well. The staff at terminal and on boat were very helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

One can also do a sea walk.

Susan H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Only do the half day tour if you are really short of time. Once on Green Island, it is very hard to leave at 12 noon!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

The captain runs a tight ship and was prompt and comfortable. You have plenty of options to spend your time around the island on this half day trip.

Michelle S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Overall, the experience was great, but the staff could have been a little bit more friendly. Otherwise, it was fantastic!

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Beautiful but wouldnt go here for diving or snorkeling alone there are probably better spots. The island is super touristy and busy but the food on the island is yummy I still think about the potato wedges. You can go around the island in like 30 min. Didnt do the crocodile thing seemed pricey and I got to hold one at the zoo doing the animal encounter. They have a small spa and photographer on the island which was neat. I brought my own snorkel gear so I could save money and didnt feel like I needed the protection garb. We spent the day here but if we had managed our time better we could have done a half day. However if you have a day to spare its a beautiful place to spend it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

This tour was very rushed. More time on the island and at the reef would have been better.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

If this is your only chance to see the Great Barrier Reef - take it. But if you can afford to go further out - do that.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Didn't realise so many people would be out there we did the half day would highly recommend the full day to explore it all

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

A nice trip to see a barrier island with a chance to snorkel. Glass bottom boat trip enhanced the experience. High winds created muddy water so that we did not see the colors and variety of fish that we would have liked.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Trip was fine but the reef here is not all that great, brownish in colour, so if you want to see all the colours head to the outer reef.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

I enjoyed a quick catamaran trip to Green Island, followed by snorkelling/semi-sub/walk around island. Semi-sub is a great way to see reef! This tour is ideal if you're short on time. If you have more time then Viator's full day tours (Fitzroy Island and reef pontoon) are better. More fish, more pristine (less touristy) island.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

Good family trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

The glass bottomed boat and semi-sub were interesting and did provide for the viewing of many coral and fish. However, Green island itself, offered no allure. A museum or perhaps another structure that offered more information about the reef and island would have been beneficial to tourists.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Loved the submarine.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

It was quite interesting and obviously any visit to Cairns must include a visit to the reef. If you like snorkling and enjoy a day on the beach then a day trip is fine. Otherwise the 4 hour trip is sufficient.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

Disappointing. I would not recommend it, nor do it again myself. The windows in both the glass bottom boat and the submarine need replacing. It is obvious that they are old, somewhat cloudy, and scratched. Also, the reef is colorless in most of the area. Some Australian people had said don't do it, and I should have listened. One good point, you do see a lot of fish. But, can't take good pictures through the windows because of their condition.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

not planned well,,, we were meant to board at 12.30pm but the boat was not there so they put us on another boat company going to the island. Trip takes 45minutes each way, we got there and had to walk along the wharf to the Big Cat boat to board our Glass Bottom Boat tour,, it was interesting and Ash was very Knowledgeable. we then walked around the island and took some photo's and had ice cream food and drink on the island is not cheap. don't forget to pack the sunblock. on the 1/2 day tour there is not much time to do both the Glass Bottom and the snorkling. we boarded the big cat boat at 4pm to find out we were on the wrong big Cat boat and should have been on the Reef Rocket it was only when they were checking the names of we found out we should have waited on the island for the 1st boat to depart and the second boat would have come to pick us us. but there should have been some one check this before we left the island. very Confusing. both boats dock at 5pm at the reef fleet terminal, and so do 4 more other companys. this tour would have been better if it was better planned.

Christine W
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

The problem was the weather. All optional excursions were cancelled, and the sea was rough.

Sharon S
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

Absolutely nothing wrong with this trip but a little impersonal, which we may not have noticed but for the fact that we'd been on the reef trip the day before and had such good interaction with the crew both on the way out to the reef and whilst in-situ, still worth doing though and the island was stunning, because we only had a couple of hours we didn't get to see too much of it but it would be a great day out on a 'good weather' day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

Not a good location for snorkeling if you are looking for coral reefs and fish. It's mostly sand and grass. Very few fish.

From USD $ 70.64

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2438HDAMRCKT_CNS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message