4 star rating: Recommended 58 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Australia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Green Island Half Day Trip from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 58 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Sharon S
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

Absolutely nothing wrong with this trip but a little impersonal, which we may not have noticed but for the fact that we'd been on the reef trip the day before and had such good interaction with the crew both on the way out to the reef and whilst in-situ, still worth doing though and the island was stunning, because we only had a couple of hours we didn't get to see too much of it but it would be a great day out on a 'good weather' day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

Not a good location for snorkeling if you are looking for coral reefs and fish. It's mostly sand and grass. Very few fish.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

Most of the coral is dead by Green Island - so if you are going for snorkeling, forget it. However, the boat was fast and the ride there was very enjoyable. In addition, you can see sea turtles, birds, and 20-foot crocodiles being fed.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

DON'T TAKE THIS TOUR!!! Winds were high sea was VERY rough they shouldn't have even taken us out - that was very irresponsible of the company. I threw up the whole time on the semi-submarine and the glass bottom boat. I'd taken dramamine for motion sickness over an hour before we departed from Cairns. The tiny barf bags they supplied weren't nearly big enough. I used THREE!!! Employee put us on the semi-sub, then had to immediately return for FOURTEEN people that she said she had forgotten at the pier! By the time we got back to the viewing area, I was throwing up as were several other people. The operator had to keep gunning the engine to keep us in the same place because the water was so rough which made things worse! The water was completely murky and the colors were brown, black, and a dirty gold, nothing like the beautiful colors you expect to see. We saw only one small bunch of coral - also a dirty gold color. In addition the area that was designated for snorkeling was GROSS - filthy and very shallow less than 18. I wouldn't have stuck my little toe in it - it was that filthy! It was an absolutely MISERABLE TRIP!!! Wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

DON'T DO THIS TOUR! Winds were high sea was VERY rough they shouldn't have gone out that day - very irresponsible of the Green Island Cat company. Ten minutes out on the boat I started feeling sick and took a pill that they supplied for motion sickness. I managed to keep from throwing up but three other people were throwing up the whole time on the semi-sub. The sub operator was gunning it to keep us in the same place because the water was so rough, but that made things worse! The water was completely murky with no color at all, nothing like the postcards. We saw only a few fish and one small bunch of coral. I decided not to snorkel because that area was really filthy. No one snorkeled there! It was an absolutely MISERABLE TRIP!!! The only thing good about it was that I had only booked a half day trip! Don't do this trip!!! You'll be just washing your good money down a dirty, filthy drain!!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Generally a disappointing experience. Very rough crossing and extremely poor visibility re the coral, fish, and reef in general. I had been to Heron Island back in October of 1967 and remember experiencing fantastic, vibrant colors which, as a result, I have always associated with the Great Barrier Reef. I see now how important it is to be careful when choosing specific locations for these tours.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

I didn't enjoy this. The crew did not help us with snorkeling and the sights we saw were mediocre. It was rushed.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Green Island is a terrible little tourist trap. Of all the things to see and do in north queensland this really is at the bottom! Crammed sunchairs and umbrellas that you have to pay for, bad food and a very commercial, sterile environment.

From USD $ 65.26

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2438HDAMRCKT_CNS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message