Insider's Guide to Cairns & the Tropical North

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 67 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Maria

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Trip was fine but the reef here is not all that great, brownish in colour, so if you want to see all the colours head to the outer reef.

Annemarie G

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

I enjoyed a quick catamaran trip to Green Island, followed by snorkelling/semi-sub/walk around island. Semi-sub is a great way to see reef! This tour is ideal if you're short on time. If you have more time then Viator's full day tours (Fitzroy Island and reef pontoon) are better. More fish, more pristine (less touristy) island.

Simon B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

Good family trip.

Charles C USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

The glass bottomed boat and semi-sub were interesting and did provide for the viewing of many coral and fish. However, Green island itself, offered no allure. A museum or perhaps another structure that offered more information about the reef and island would have been beneficial to tourists.

Lenora T USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Loved the submarine.

Anne-Marie S Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

It was quite interesting and obviously any visit to Cairns must include a visit to the reef. If you like snorkling and enjoy a day on the beach then a day trip is fine. Otherwise the 4 hour trip is sufficient.

RL M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

Disappointing. I would not recommend it, nor do it again myself. The windows in both the glass bottom boat and the submarine need replacing. It is obvious that they are old, somewhat cloudy, and scratched. Also, the reef is colorless in most of the area. Some Australian people had said don't do it, and I should have listened. One good point, you do see a lot of fish. But, can't take good pictures through the windows because of their condition.

Susan B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

not planned well,,, we were meant to board at 12.30pm but the boat was not there so they put us on another boat company going to the island. Trip takes 45minutes each way, we got there and had to walk along the wharf to the Big Cat boat to board our Glass Bottom Boat tour,, it was interesting and Ash was very Knowledgeable. we then walked around the island and took some photo's and had ice cream food and drink on the island is not cheap. don't forget to pack the sunblock. on the 1/2 day tour there is not much time to do both the Glass Bottom and the snorkling. we boarded the big cat boat at 4pm to find out we were on the wrong big Cat boat and should have been on the Reef Rocket it was only when they were checking the names of we found out we should have waited on the island for the 1st boat to depart and the second boat would have come to pick us us. but there should have been some one check this before we left the island. very Confusing. both boats dock at 5pm at the reef fleet terminal, and so do 4 more other companys. this tour would have been better if it was better planned.

Christine W United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

The problem was the weather. All optional excursions were cancelled, and the sea was rough.

Sharon S United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

Absolutely nothing wrong with this trip but a little impersonal, which we may not have noticed but for the fact that we'd been on the reef trip the day before and had such good interaction with the crew both on the way out to the reef and whilst in-situ, still worth doing though and the island was stunning, because we only had a couple of hours we didn't get to see too much of it but it would be a great day out on a 'good weather' day.

Eric B USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

Not a good location for snorkeling if you are looking for coral reefs and fish. It's mostly sand and grass. Very few fish.

Paul M USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

Most of the coral is dead by Green Island - so if you are going for snorkeling, forget it. However, the boat was fast and the ride there was very enjoyable. In addition, you can see sea turtles, birds, and 20-foot crocodiles being fed.

Sally J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Great staff, very friendly and knowledgeable. Great food also!

Anamika D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Not very organised experience.
Though the Island was impeccably beautiful, the package wasn't designed in achievable target hidden costs were involved.
Hated Big Cat.

Janice R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

DON'T TAKE THIS TOUR!!! Winds were high sea was VERY rough they shouldn't have even taken us out - that was very irresponsible of the company. I threw up the whole time on the semi-submarine and the glass bottom boat. I'd taken dramamine for motion sickness over an hour before we departed from Cairns. The tiny barf bags they supplied weren't nearly big enough. I used THREE!!! Employee put us on the semi-sub, then had to immediately return for FOURTEEN people that she said she had forgotten at the pier! By the time we got back to the viewing area, I was throwing up as were several other people. The operator had to keep gunning the engine to keep us in the same place because the water was so rough which made things worse! The water was completely murky and the colors were brown, black, and a dirty gold, nothing like the beautiful colors you expect to see. We saw only one small bunch of coral - also a dirty gold color. In addition the area that was designated for snorkeling was GROSS - filthy and very shallow less than 18. I wouldn't have stuck my little toe in it - it was that filthy! It was an absolutely MISERABLE TRIP!!! Wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy!

Janice R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

DON'T DO THIS TOUR! Winds were high sea was VERY rough they shouldn't have gone out that day - very irresponsible of the Green Island Cat company. Ten minutes out on the boat I started feeling sick and took a pill that they supplied for motion sickness. I managed to keep from throwing up but three other people were throwing up the whole time on the semi-sub. The sub operator was gunning it to keep us in the same place because the water was so rough, but that made things worse! The water was completely murky with no color at all, nothing like the postcards. We saw only a few fish and one small bunch of coral. I decided not to snorkel because that area was really filthy. No one snorkeled there! It was an absolutely MISERABLE TRIP!!! The only thing good about it was that I had only booked a half day trip! Don't do this trip!!! You'll be just washing your good money down a dirty, filthy drain!!!

Barbara R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Generally a disappointing experience. Very rough crossing and extremely poor visibility re the coral, fish, and reef in general. I had been to Heron Island back in October of 1967 and remember experiencing fantastic, vibrant colors which, as a result, I have always associated with the Great Barrier Reef. I see now how important it is to be careful when choosing specific locations for these tours.

Viewing 3 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3

From USD $ 69.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2438HDAMRCKT_CNS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message