4 star rating: Recommended 53 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Australia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Green Island Half Day Trip from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 53 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Susan H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Only do the half day tour if you are really short of time. Once on Green Island, it is very hard to leave at 12 noon!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

The captain runs a tight ship and was prompt and comfortable. You have plenty of options to spend your time around the island on this half day trip.

Michelle S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Overall, the experience was great, but the staff could have been a little bit more friendly. Otherwise, it was fantastic!

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Beautiful but wouldnt go here for diving or snorkeling alone there are probably better spots. The island is super touristy and busy but the food on the island is yummy I still think about the potato wedges. You can go around the island in like 30 min. Didnt do the crocodile thing seemed pricey and I got to hold one at the zoo doing the animal encounter. They have a small spa and photographer on the island which was neat. I brought my own snorkel gear so I could save money and didnt feel like I needed the protection garb. We spent the day here but if we had managed our time better we could have done a half day. However if you have a day to spare its a beautiful place to spend it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

This tour was very rushed. More time on the island and at the reef would have been better.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

If this is your only chance to see the Great Barrier Reef - take it. But if you can afford to go further out - do that.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Didn't realise so many people would be out there we did the half day would highly recommend the full day to explore it all

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

A nice trip to see a barrier island with a chance to snorkel. Glass bottom boat trip enhanced the experience. High winds created muddy water so that we did not see the colors and variety of fish that we would have liked.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Trip was fine but the reef here is not all that great, brownish in colour, so if you want to see all the colours head to the outer reef.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

I enjoyed a quick catamaran trip to Green Island, followed by snorkelling/semi-sub/walk around island. Semi-sub is a great way to see reef! This tour is ideal if you're short on time. If you have more time then Viator's full day tours (Fitzroy Island and reef pontoon) are better. More fish, more pristine (less touristy) island.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

Good family trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

The glass bottomed boat and semi-sub were interesting and did provide for the viewing of many coral and fish. However, Green island itself, offered no allure. A museum or perhaps another structure that offered more information about the reef and island would have been beneficial to tourists.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Loved the submarine.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

It was quite interesting and obviously any visit to Cairns must include a visit to the reef. If you like snorkling and enjoy a day on the beach then a day trip is fine. Otherwise the 4 hour trip is sufficient.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

Disappointing. I would not recommend it, nor do it again myself. The windows in both the glass bottom boat and the submarine need replacing. It is obvious that they are old, somewhat cloudy, and scratched. Also, the reef is colorless in most of the area. Some Australian people had said don't do it, and I should have listened. One good point, you do see a lot of fish. But, can't take good pictures through the windows because of their condition.

From USD $ 68.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2438HDAMRCKT_CNS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message