Insider's Guide to Cairns & the Tropical North

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 59 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

David M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

My husband and I had an amazing time going up in a hot air balloon, the staff were great our pilot Jay was fantastic, we also had a good talk to him about when we lived in South Africa where he comes from. I had a fear of heights but I didn't even think about it while we were flying, it was so quiet and peaceful. Thank you to all for a wonderful experience.

Sergey S Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A must do in Cairns - I loved those gorgeous views!!

Suzanne H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Our bus driver was great at his job and kept us entertained. The flight was excellent, just not long enough! Once we were in the air I didn't want it to stop! I will go for longer next time!

Lourdes M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was lots of fun and worth the price. The breakfast they provided after was really good. And they even have you participate in helping put the balloon away after it's done.

Elisabeth Y USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

What an amazing morning. I had a blast. It was worth getting up at 4 A.M. Everything ran smoothly. The views from the balloon of the mountains and the paddocks below were beautiful.

Jacob A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Would have been better if there was an option to book the first of two flights.

Diana T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

A fantastic and unforgettable experience. What a great way of seeing even a small piece of a beautiful country.

Edmond Leung Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Hotel pick up at 430am. Super crazy early but definitely worth it. As the location is quite far away, when we have been there it just started to make the balloon up. As we are the first time to play, it's really a good experience to enjoy it.

Leslie W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

We had a great time. The staff was wonderful. They know their stuff, made everyone feel comfortable and we all had fun too! We loved the balloon ride and would highly recommend it!

Jamie W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This experience is well worth the price of admission. Watch balloons being blown up in the early dawn and then gently and quietly float above the beautiful Atherton tablelands. Afterward, join the fun of deflating and storing the balloon before heading to a hearty champagne breakfast, all before 10AM!

George Steven S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very good.

Diane C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

The sunrise was wonderful, the champagne and breakfast after was wonderful and we got back to the hotel before 10AM which left plenty of time to have a full day of activity. Loved it!

Judy D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

Hot-air ballooning was awesome. It was one of the best things I've done. We arrived as the staff were blowing the balloons up, and that was really interesting. Then it was time to clamber on board. I felt a little nervous, but that quickly evaporated as we took off. Soon I was flying through the sky like a true adventurer. The silence of the early morning flight was only interrupted by blasts from the gas cylinder to keep us aloft. All too soon, we started to descend, and after a couple of hops we were safely on the ground. Is it something I want to do again? Definitely! Did it make a good holiday fantastic? Definitely! We even got champagne!

Mark K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Incredible! Seeing kangaroos from a hot air balloon! How can you beat that? Well, how about a great breakfast after a morning flight? That's included. Watching the balloons fire up in the pre-dawn is outstanding. Next time I would do the 1 hour tour. If you have any reservations about hot air ballooning, put them aside and do this one.

Peter B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Excellent!

Ian W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

First time ballooning, we will do again. Perfect organisation, beautiful experience.

Sandra P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

The flight was spectacular and the crew was so much fun and customer satisfaction was a must. One of the best things I have ever done!

Philip H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great fun.Hard working crew!

Donald C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The early start is well worth the effort, fantastic views and so relaxing aaaaahhhhhhhhhhh...Loved It.

Lourdes M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The Hot Air Balloning experience was exhilirating! We enjoyed the fantastic views!

Padraig K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

enjoyable but a very early start

Natividad Muriel S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

My family really enjoyed this tour from www.hotair.com.au/cairns booked through Viator and taken on May 10, 2012 . It was well worth the early wake-up call to be at the site before dawn, then watch the balloon being inflated in the dark, before seeing it float up slowly as the sun rose. Unfortunately, we were not part of the first batch so we didn’t get to see the sunrise from the balloon. It was fun to clamber up the gondola and the lift-off was very gentle. We would have wanted our balloon to rise higher, like the first one, but one advantage of flying low was that we could clearly see the kangaroos jumping around in the fields. After landing in the middle of a sugar cane field, our daughters had fun in helping to deflate the balloon while my husband and the other guys pulled at the ropes. It was an exhilarating adventure to cap our Australian trip!

Jacqueline S New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The booking had not reached the Hot Air ballooning company. They were helpful and confirmed our reservation once the main office was opened on Monday, however we had to spend time confirming the booking over two days. If the trip had been at the weekend this would not have been possible as the weekend answer service could not help us. We book with viator to avoid having to make this sort of effort while we are on holdiday. The trip was excellent. Would have appreciated access to some food/snacks.

Ching Man L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Balloon ride was awesome! Staff are very professional, and we had a great time. The breakfast was alright but could be better. One thing - do not wear a skirt!

Jill H Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

We liked the hot air ballooning, really smooth and a fantastic sight with all the balloons in the air. Very very early start, 4am and breaky was a bit dodgy, by the time we cooked our toast most of the hot breaky had gone. There had been a free bottle of French bubbly offered online to couples instead of just a glass, however no one had told our operator!
We did the joint experience with the half day white water rafting, the rafting was good and the girl guides very friendly and upbeat, and at although not the grand rapids, it is fun. Online it does not mention these gigs do not join up. You are taken back to your hotel in between. We may have done these activities on different days if we had known. And the taxes river, air, water take your visa!

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 193.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2990C30_C60

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message