4.5 star rating: Recommended 52 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Northern Beaches or Palm Cove, Queensland
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hot Air Ballooning Tour from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 52 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

The sunrise was wonderful, the champagne and breakfast after was wonderful and we got back to the hotel before 10AM which left plenty of time to have a full day of activity. Loved it!

Judy D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

Hot-air ballooning was awesome. It was one of the best things I've done. We arrived as the staff were blowing the balloons up, and that was really interesting. Then it was time to clamber on board. I felt a little nervous, but that quickly evaporated as we took off. Soon I was flying through the sky like a true adventurer. The silence of the early morning flight was only interrupted by blasts from the gas cylinder to keep us aloft. All too soon, we started to descend, and after a couple of hops we were safely on the ground. Is it something I want to do again? Definitely! Did it make a good holiday fantastic? Definitely! We even got champagne!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Incredible! Seeing kangaroos from a hot air balloon! How can you beat that? Well, how about a great breakfast after a morning flight? That's included. Watching the balloons fire up in the pre-dawn is outstanding. Next time I would do the 1 hour tour. If you have any reservations about hot air ballooning, put them aside and do this one.

Peter B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Excellent!

Ian W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

First time ballooning, we will do again. Perfect organisation, beautiful experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

The flight was spectacular and the crew was so much fun and customer satisfaction was a must. One of the best things I have ever done!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The early start is well worth the effort, fantastic views and so relaxing aaaaahhhhhhhhhhh...Loved It.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The Hot Air Balloning experience was exhilirating! We enjoyed the fantastic views!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

enjoyable but a very early start

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

My family really enjoyed this tour from www.hotair.com.au/cairns booked through Viator and taken on May 10, 2012 . It was well worth the early wake-up call to be at the site before dawn, then watch the balloon being inflated in the dark, before seeing it float up slowly as the sun rose. Unfortunately, we were not part of the first batch so we didn’t get to see the sunrise from the balloon. It was fun to clamber up the gondola and the lift-off was very gentle. We would have wanted our balloon to rise higher, like the first one, but one advantage of flying low was that we could clearly see the kangaroos jumping around in the fields. After landing in the middle of a sugar cane field, our daughters had fun in helping to deflate the balloon while my husband and the other guys pulled at the ropes. It was an exhilarating adventure to cap our Australian trip!

Jacqueline S
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The booking had not reached the Hot Air ballooning company. They were helpful and confirmed our reservation once the main office was opened on Monday, however we had to spend time confirming the booking over two days. If the trip had been at the weekend this would not have been possible as the weekend answer service could not help us. We book with viator to avoid having to make this sort of effort while we are on holdiday. The trip was excellent. Would have appreciated access to some food/snacks.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Balloon ride was awesome! Staff are very professional, and we had a great time. The breakfast was alright but could be better. One thing - do not wear a skirt!

Jill H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

We liked the hot air ballooning, really smooth and a fantastic sight with all the balloons in the air. Very very early start, 4am and breaky was a bit dodgy, by the time we cooked our toast most of the hot breaky had gone. There had been a free bottle of French bubbly offered online to couples instead of just a glass, however no one had told our operator!
We did the joint experience with the half day white water rafting, the rafting was good and the girl guides very friendly and upbeat, and at although not the grand rapids, it is fun. Online it does not mention these gigs do not join up. You are taken back to your hotel in between. We may have done these activities on different days if we had known. And the taxes river, air, water take your visa!

Neil K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

The biggest downside to this tour is the REALLY early start. Once you get over this, there are some really amazing views. We took the full hour ride, which was a bit deceiving as it was split into 2 half hour rides. Taking down the balloon was fun too.

Diane R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

My only disappointment was that the advertised pickup time is much earlier than the actual pick up time. It is advertised that pickup is between 5am and 5.30am but when I confirmed details I was informed that pick up was 4.10am this is not a great difference in time, but at that time of morning is great.

From USD $ 187.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2990C30_C60

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message