4.5 star rating: Recommended 236 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Australia
  • Duration:  7.5 - 10 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 236 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The train ride up was amazing - the sky rail would have been equally as nice if the clouds didn't roll in- but it was expected this time of year.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Beautiful ride through the rainforest. I loved the commentary and scenery.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lived the train trip and sky rail return. Had plenty of time at the nature park. Included lunch was good as well -- one of the better lunches that were part of a package.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lived the train trip and sky rail return. Had plenty of time at the nature park. Included lunch was good as well -- one of the better lunches that were part of a package.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The view from the skyrail was just amazing! Would do the skyrail again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wow it was so nice I'm looking forward to go again on this train breath taking scenaries water fall amazing rail trip superb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Did this tour (the opposite way round) 17 years ago. This time going to the Tjapuki centre first, enjoyed throwing spears and boomerangs, and a fantastic dance show. Then walked to the Sky rail which took us to Kuranda. The journey back was spectacular and brought back some good memories.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Our best day in during our Oz holiday so far. Go up on the train and return by Skyrail. The view of Cairns and the Bay are spectacular are you leave the rainforest and approach station at bottom.
Very enjoyable day.

Robert M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Kuranda and we were particularly impressed with the friendliness and the help provided by the staff throughout the day. The trip in the train was very relaxing and the scenery along the way was stunning, particularly the waterfalls. We had a few hours to enjoy Kuranda and managed to pick up a couple of bargains at the markets. Coming down on the cable car was well worth the expense - the views are spectacular and we were able to enjoy some stopovers on the way down. A great day overall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent 10 out of 10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A very well organised day as we were picked up from the hotel we were given a detailed itinerary of the day and all our tickets for the train and cable car.The cable car is not for anyone afraid of heights! You are very high up but with fantastic views back down to Cairnes and then over the rainforest. There are 2 stops on route where you can have a walk amongst the trees and see the waterfall. Kuranda has lots of gift shops and cafes to visit.
On the train you are allocated seats and have some views between the trees but not as good as from the cable car.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My daughter and I travelled up on the train and returned on the Skyway - we had 4 hours in Kuranda which is plenty of time to see the sights and have lunch. We visited the Butterfly Park - well worth a visit. The train journey is great and the Skyway is spectacular, though if afraid of heights can be scary. A very pleasant day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is like three tours in one. It starts with a very scenic journey on the railway up the mountain, then a tour around a small zoo that included involvement in boomerang throwing and trying to play a Didgeridoo, finally a ride down via the Sky rail with a stop off to walk in the rain forest. A brilliant tour with plenty of variation throughout the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was an amazing trip, especially scenic railway, which is highly recommended by me and Tjupikai cultural centre was the best. Trip back by train was a bit tiresome and boring especially when you were on skyrail before. Kuranda village ois very nice too and mango wine was so good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The most amazing views from the train and the skyway - we were the only people on the wildlife visit so had the guide to ourselves which was great. Buffet lunch well presented and plenty of choice. Demonstrations of the local culture were fun although I still cannot throw a boomerang! All staff very friendly, perfectly planned and although a long day well worth the effort!

From USD $ 142.83

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2570KRPS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message