Insider's Guide to Cairns & the Tropical North

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 328 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

rajaram a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wow it was so nice I'm looking forward to go again on this train breath taking scenaries water fall amazing rail trip superb

Dawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Did this tour (the opposite way round) 17 years ago. This time going to the Tjapuki centre first, enjoyed throwing spears and boomerangs, and a fantastic dance show. Then walked to the Sky rail which took us to Kuranda. The journey back was spectacular and brought back some good memories.

Goggleman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Our best day in during our Oz holiday so far. Go up on the train and return by Skyrail. The view of Cairns and the Bay are spectacular are you leave the rainforest and approach station at bottom.
Very enjoyable day.

Robert M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Kuranda and we were particularly impressed with the friendliness and the help provided by the staff throughout the day. The trip in the train was very relaxing and the scenery along the way was stunning, particularly the waterfalls. We had a few hours to enjoy Kuranda and managed to pick up a couple of bargains at the markets. Coming down on the cable car was well worth the expense - the views are spectacular and we were able to enjoy some stopovers on the way down. A great day overall.

ronald m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent 10 out of 10

Ruth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A very well organised day as we were picked up from the hotel we were given a detailed itinerary of the day and all our tickets for the train and cable car.The cable car is not for anyone afraid of heights! You are very high up but with fantastic views back down to Cairnes and then over the rainforest. There are 2 stops on route where you can have a walk amongst the trees and see the waterfall. Kuranda has lots of gift shops and cafes to visit.
On the train you are allocated seats and have some views between the trees but not as good as from the cable car.

Alan Edward P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My daughter and I travelled up on the train and returned on the Skyway - we had 4 hours in Kuranda which is plenty of time to see the sights and have lunch. We visited the Butterfly Park - well worth a visit. The train journey is great and the Skyway is spectacular, though if afraid of heights can be scary. A very pleasant day out.

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is like three tours in one. It starts with a very scenic journey on the railway up the mountain, then a tour around a small zoo that included involvement in boomerang throwing and trying to play a Didgeridoo, finally a ride down via the Sky rail with a stop off to walk in the rain forest. A brilliant tour with plenty of variation throughout the day.

Nicholas A Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was an amazing trip, especially scenic railway, which is highly recommended by me and Tjupikai cultural centre was the best. Trip back by train was a bit tiresome and boring especially when you were on skyrail before. Kuranda village ois very nice too and mango wine was so good!

Ian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The most amazing views from the train and the skyway - we were the only people on the wildlife visit so had the guide to ourselves which was great. Buffet lunch well presented and plenty of choice. Demonstrations of the local culture were fun although I still cannot throw a boomerang! All staff very friendly, perfectly planned and although a long day well worth the effort!

Martin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The Scenic Railway and Skyrail combination is an absolute must when visiting Cairns. Even with some low clouds and rain (well, what do you expect...you're in the rainforest) the sights and colors are amazing. We might have been able to do this agenda without using a tour by catching the railway in Cairns and taking a taxi back from the Skyrail but pickup and dropoff at hotel and makes it easy and convenient, plus we had a bus driver who had us all in stitches with a "sit down" comedy routine on the way back to the hotel. By the time we did a little hiking around Kuranda, had lunch and saw the markets, there wasn't a lot of time to do anything else, so not sure why you would want to plan other activities for Kuranda.

Xuran D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Well organised with nice BBQ lunch, and there are many activities in one day and didn't waste any time in lining up or anything.
Perfect day!

Lourdes M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We enjoyed the beautiful scenery, We were able to take in all the beauty along the route!

Monica P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Had a great time. Spectacular views from the sky rail and the train. Best part of our trip.

Eileen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a wonderful day! The rail trip to Kuranda was so picturesque in the old rail cars and the Skyrail return was a beautiful experience. We are so glad we visited the RainForestation and Wildlife Park and its indigenous animals, holding a koala and feeding the kangaroos and wallabies. Took a ride on an amphibious World War II Army Duck through the rainforest, and experienced Aboriginal culture.

Suzanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Wonderful!

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a highlight of my trip to cairns. the whole trip was well organised,informative and accurate. The staff were charming and helpfull, and I would recommend this trip as a must do for anyone visiting Cairns. Thank you for a great trip.

Sunshine USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a wonderful tour. It was a lot of walking but worth the effort. The Skyride and the rain forest had beautiful sights of the area surrounding Kuranda. We showed our hunting skills by throwing a boomarang and a spear. We had decided that starvation would have soon set in if we were the hunters. It's harder than you think folks. The tour is diverse and every element offers something new and interesting. Be sure an take this tour when in Cairns.

Kathleen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Absolutely wonderful trip

Mona R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Two very interesting places - the aboriginal "village" and Kuranda where there was not enough time to explore because we had to get the train back fairly early - a shame.

Mary Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

It was well managed and organised, polite and courteous staff. No issues at all. A well put together package

Jean W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Spectacular views, good choice of activities, well organised

TonH Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great traintrip, amazing views in train and cableway, nice wildlife park where you hold a Koala yourself and pet sun-bathing Kangaroos.

david t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Great Fun and Inexpensive.

Ronald S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

A fabulous day out. The railway trip was magic, Kuranda is a special place, the Railforestation trip was an amzing experience a capped by by the Skytrail over the canopy of the forest. Unfortunately it was raining at that point but it is a rain forest after all. Brilliant.

Viewing 4 of 14

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 121.05

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2570KRPS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message