4.5 star rating: Recommended 243 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Australia
  • Duration:  7.5 - 10 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 243 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

the best trip ever, the abro show was fantastic and there are heaps of things to do in Kuranda..beny ")

C T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We had an absolutely excellent day out and were very looked after. The rail journey was amazing, especially when the train stopped so we could see both ends of the train at the same time on the curved track. The rain forestation was brilliant, good food at lunch time and interesting time spent with an aboriginal group. Cable car ride was very impressive and a touch scary!! Very recommendable indeed. Thank you! Christine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We enjoyed our trip and would highly recomend it to any one..Interesting and informative. The hotel transfer was great and also informative.. The people involved in our trip were very poite and helpful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

exellent tour but found they we needed more tim n kuranda found it a little rushed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

AMAZING!!!! Especially if you have kids. Absolutely super. The train ride up was AWESOME. Kuranda was very rushed and we didn't like the sausage express way of doing the Rainforestation, but I guess you have to with so many tourists. Kuranda also shuts down as a town at 3pm, which is annoying. But the train up and the Skytrain down are AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!! Our kids went crazy and wanted to go again the next day. WELL WELL WELL worth the trip, DO this one. And give Terry the bus driver our regards :-)

JOYCE J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This trip was wonderful. a must do for Cairns. The skyrail was very interesting, but the train ride was even better

JOYCE J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This trip was wonderful. a must do for Cairns. The skyrail was very interesting, but the train ride was even better

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

very organized. the bus that picked us up in our hotel was comfortable. stress- free tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Throughly enjoyed the trip. We did not spend all of the time alloted in Kuranda, we got the skyrail at 2.30 instead of 3.30 and spent more time at the two stops on the way down.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Wonderful day,well organised and coach drivers such fun,helpful and informative...really appreciated all the hard work.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Well organised and very enjoyable day - although group was enormous!!! There were at least 50 in it!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Geat day out

Gabrielle H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Very good tour would definitely recommend this tour if you are going to cairns. Lots to do at Kuranda even if you don't go to the rain forestation park.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The whole family took this tour, Mum, Dad, two teens and our toddler. We caught the rail up, spent the time looking through the local market and shops. Stop off for a lovely lunch and caught the rail back. The day was lovely and the locals are extremely friendly. It is rather old and not quite as modern as I thought it would be but that seemed to add to the ambience of the area even more. It was relaxing and because we didn't have to drive anywhere (our coach picked us up from the train station and returned us to our holiday unit) - we manage a bottle of wine over lunch!! How good is that. Great day out for all, I bought jewellery, the teens got some funky bracelets/anklets, baby got to see the dinosaur and got some toys and Dad squeezed in a massage. Everything is there from good food to tarot cards....how cool!!
I highly recommend this for a day out for the family as it seems to be just long enough to keep the kids amused.

Nonna Jan
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Excellent organisation,explanations, super friendly staff at all points of the journey.
Scenic Rail trip on way up to Kuranda, interesting and well worth doing.the village was easy to get around with lots to see.The sky train back over the Rain forest canopy was some thing i had wanted to do since 1st hearing about it and it lived up to every expectation. Well done

From USD $ 128.64

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2570KRPS

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message