4.5 star rating: Recommended 121 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Palm Cove and Northern Beaches, Australia
  • Duration:  9 - 10 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 121 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great fun-filled day. Railway beautiful and nice for early morning. No real time in Kurunda as need to get skyrail down pretty quick. Helicopter great, only about an hr for snorkling

Ali_Hawk
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This is a great, but busy tour. First, you travel to Kuranda via the Scenic Railway from Central Cairns station (but I think you can arrange a pick up from Freshwater Station also). As you travel up to Kuranda you are provided with an informative commentary about the history of this fascinating track, with stunning, beautiful and sometimes breath-taking views and highlights along the way. The great part about the commentary is that you will be given good notice of items of particular interest or of places where the best photos can be taken. The trip up takes around 2 hours. Kuranda is a pretty little town - but be aware that if you take this trip you will not have a lot of time in Kuranda, 1 hour maximum, then you will need to head back to the station to catch the SkyRail to continue on your tour. The SkyRail is a lovely ride - you glide along above the rainforest treetops, which is peaceful and enjoyable. First stop is Barron Falls (an awesome waterfall, so take the time to walk the short distance to each of the three lookouts), then next stop is Red Peak - you will need to change SkyRail tracks here so you encircle the station on a boardwalk to do that. SkyRail staff are very helpful for these things. At the terminal you are met and transported to your helicopter. After you pay reef tax ($20) and get a safety briefing you fly out to the Great Barrier Reef to join the vessel where you can snorkel for a couple of hours, enjoy lunch and perhaps a trip in the glass-bottomed boat before cruising for 90 mins or so back to Cairns Reef Terminal. It is a long, but very enjoyable day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was a fantastic day and one of our favorite tours we took while in Cairns. My only comment would be that there is NO time to shop in Kuranda because you only have a half hour to get off the train and walk through the town. The helicopter was fantastic...they took you out to the middle of the reef and landed by a snorkeling boat and we were treated as VIP's and were fed a fantastic lunch when we were finished snorkeling. The crew were so nice and helpful!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Great way to see everything if you want to fit everything in a day. Not much time in Kuranda but you can buy the same things all over. Helicopter ride is a definite highlight. Treated like VIPs by cruise crew. Snorkeling time is limited (90 min) which was more than enough for us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Enjoyed trip, although mix up with pick up times in palm cove was told to get there for 6.50am when infact we had to wait until 8am until being picked up.So made it a long day as we left port douglas at 6am to get there in time. Having said that worked out well doing all in one day as we felt a whole day on boat would have been a bit long.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Kuranda train tip and skyrail trip were fantastic.

Helicopter trip was beautiful and informative.

Snorking at the barrier reef was great experience--about 1 and 1/2 hours.

Cruise crew had saved lunch for us. The food was fair but was compensated by boat ride and entertainment back to Cairns.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Great excursion for those "power tourists" with limited time in Cairns - covers all the must-see stuff in a single day without feeling rushed and outer reef snorkeling is the way to go. Only detraction was an angry little man named "Tai" that picked us up from hotel - he barked confusing orders at us as far as instructions for getting from the train to the skyrail and God help you if you get this guy and have any questions - he demeaned some poor woman from our group almost to the point of being in tears. At that point, everyone in the group just fell silent until this guy left the train and then we all had a laugh at what an unprofessional, angry little man he was and enjoyed the rest of our day thoroughly. The professional staff on the boat more than made up for the unpleasantness of our morning driver, who had no business being in the tourism industry.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This was a great tour. You got to experience several different areas. It was wonderful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

loved it from start to finish. worth the money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

I had a wonderful time. Kuranda is beautiful . the sky rail is breath taking and grear bearier reaf spectaular i give it a 5 stars as a rating

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great trip. Wish we had more time in Kuranda for shopping. Very well organized. Snorkeling was fabulous.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Well organized in spite of the many different companies involved in the tour.

The helicopter tour is impressive as you fly out to the middle of nowhere and land on a pontoon before being transfered to the boat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Excellent! Great value. Had everything in one day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This was an excellent tour and a very memorable day. My only comment would be that there is very little time in Kuranda itself 40minutes and if like me the train is late 20 minutes. That said I wouldn't have missed a minute of the snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef so if you want to wander around Kuranda this is not the trip for you but if you want to experience all these things in one day I can't recommended this trip highly enough.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Great day trip if you are booked for time. Can fit a ton into one day which was great as we were only in the area for a few days.

Jamahl E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

it was a great day out but would have preferred a bit more time at kuranda in between train stopping and getting on the skyrail otherwise a great day

Sven S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

One of my greatest experiences as a traveller! It's a very busy day, with trying to keep to schedules, but well worth it. Great value for money.

Christine B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This is that way to do this if, like us you were short of time. The train was a little late so we had no time in the village. but the train ride is really beautiful. Skyrail excellent. helicopter and reef snorkelling I would not have missed for the world. The pick up and transfer services were spot on at each place.

Murat U
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I cannot juxtopose Viator to other tour operators within Cairns, as this is the first time I have been here, however what I can say is that I was thoroughly satisfied with their service for making the trip one to cherish for life. It would have been absolutely chaotic trying to organise all of the activities individually - so much peace of mind as the activities progressed in an orderly fashion. There was a slight hickup with the heli flight due to choppy weather caused by cyclone ului-no fault of Viator, which had to be cancelled & rescheduled for the following day. When we boarded the boatOsprey from the helicopter, all the waterproof video cameras to film yourself diving had already been hired out - they need to supply more. The meal on the boat wasnt the most satiable - I didnt eat it - nothing to disparage the tour. If you like to fall asleep to the sounds of the waves of the beach, I highly recommend Sea Change 5 star Apartments at Trinity Beach. Parasailing & jet ski are available at Cairns Marina for those interested.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

AMAZING trip!!!Start off the day with a train ride up to Kuranda, enjoying sights along the way. Very relzing train ride. Once you reach Kuranda, you can walk around the village and buy siuvenirs. Then you take the skyrail down, which has spectacular views of the rainforest and the town below. I highlye recommend a helicoptor tour over the Great Barrier Reef, the most amazing views you can possibly have. Then landing on a platform in the middle of the GBR is equally thrilling. Snorkeling on the reef was a breathtaking experience. This was the best excursion ever!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was the most awesome excursion I have ever experienced. From the minute the driver picked us up with a huge smile on her face, we were treated to a royal experience. Every detail and the timetables were explained well. The whole day flowed perfectly. The trip is fast paced and exciting. Many photo opportunities abound with breathtaking scenery on the train, the skyride, helicopter and boat. The crew on the Osprey 5 were unbelievable. They treated us like VIPs and gave 110 percent, each and every one of them. Thank you for an awesome adventure in Cairns I will always remember!

KATARZYNA U
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I had such a lovely day. First hours weren't so special, but Skyrail, helicopter tour and Great Barrier Reef were so perfect. I hope to take that tour again. Very good!

Roxanna C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Great mix of experiences. The train ride up in to Kuranda is a great way to start the day, followed by a relaxing, if rather long for those with no head for heights cable car ride back down to ground level. The helicopter ride was amazing with fab views of the reef. Only down side to day was that there is not enough time to do semi-sub and snorkeling before deprting back.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This trip is a very good way of seeing all the sights in 1 day. The Kuranda Railway is excellent, followed by the Skyrail 7000 meters long above the canopy of the trees. Then the helicopter over the Barrier Reef gives you an interesting view of the reef below!

Heather H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

A very good day although it did rain all day!

From USD $ 354.16

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3262_CAIRNS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message