Insider's Guide to Cairns & the Tropical North

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 136 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

sirius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a great day. We took this tour to squeeze Kuranda and the skyrail into the day otherwise couldn't get to see them. Glad we did but ideally would do them separately. The rail ride was nice and relaxing and scenic. We didn't have enough time at Kuranda to be honest and it seemed like a nice town to wander through so on reflection, do this separately. The skyrail (and the stops) were very scenic and one of those you have to do at least once things.
But the helicopter tour and reef experience are MUST do's. We were treated like VIP's with a wonderful lunch provided and would do this part over and over if we could afford it.

Highly rate this trip if you want to tick off these things but would suggest spending at least a full day at each separately or if you had to choose - the helicopter tour and reef swimming win and are musts - even for those that don't like swimming,

Donald C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic and relaxing day, the train and cable car were excellent. Our flight over the Barrier Reef will be remembered for life, had a most enjoyable day.

Tim John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Definitely recommend this trip especially if your short of time. You can see a lot of things in one day which leaves you time to see other things on your list. The helicopter flight is def the highlight, just make sure you have your camera with you.

David V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a trip worth doing, whether or not you have limited time. It is a great way of exploring the hinterland and the reef on the one day. The only problem we had with the day was the bus transport company (they were late, but this has minimal impact). The rail ride up to Kuranda is spectacular. Magnificent views; amazing engineering. Kuranda is worth a short stroll (there is about 45 minutes allotted to this (walk quickle up to the top and come back at a more leisurely pace). The sky-rail back is sensational. Stop at the two break points and look at the rain forest (particularly the Kauri trees). Then helicopter to the reef, snorkel or scuba, then lunch and a quick trip back.

Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Great tour!!

Mónica V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great day

Peter R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Fantastic day
great way to see everything in a day

Tracey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The trip was absolutely fantastic. A bit rushed at Kuranda having to go straight from the train to the Skyrail. But overall we would do it again.

john b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great fun-filled day. Railway beautiful and nice for early morning. No real time in Kurunda as need to get skyrail down pretty quick. Helicopter great, only about an hr for snorkling

Ali_Hawk Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This is a great, but busy tour. First, you travel to Kuranda via the Scenic Railway from Central Cairns station (but I think you can arrange a pick up from Freshwater Station also). As you travel up to Kuranda you are provided with an informative commentary about the history of this fascinating track, with stunning, beautiful and sometimes breath-taking views and highlights along the way. The great part about the commentary is that you will be given good notice of items of particular interest or of places where the best photos can be taken. The trip up takes around 2 hours. Kuranda is a pretty little town - but be aware that if you take this trip you will not have a lot of time in Kuranda, 1 hour maximum, then you will need to head back to the station to catch the SkyRail to continue on your tour. The SkyRail is a lovely ride - you glide along above the rainforest treetops, which is peaceful and enjoyable. First stop is Barron Falls (an awesome waterfall, so take the time to walk the short distance to each of the three lookouts), then next stop is Red Peak - you will need to change SkyRail tracks here so you encircle the station on a boardwalk to do that. SkyRail staff are very helpful for these things. At the terminal you are met and transported to your helicopter. After you pay reef tax ($20) and get a safety briefing you fly out to the Great Barrier Reef to join the vessel where you can snorkel for a couple of hours, enjoy lunch and perhaps a trip in the glass-bottomed boat before cruising for 90 mins or so back to Cairns Reef Terminal. It is a long, but very enjoyable day out.

scottgator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was a fantastic day and one of our favorite tours we took while in Cairns. My only comment would be that there is NO time to shop in Kuranda because you only have a half hour to get off the train and walk through the town. The helicopter was fantastic...they took you out to the middle of the reef and landed by a snorkeling boat and we were treated as VIP's and were fed a fantastic lunch when we were finished snorkeling. The crew were so nice and helpful!!

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Great way to see everything if you want to fit everything in a day. Not much time in Kuranda but you can buy the same things all over. Helicopter ride is a definite highlight. Treated like VIPs by cruise crew. Snorkeling time is limited (90 min) which was more than enough for us.

shazer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Enjoyed trip, although mix up with pick up times in palm cove was told to get there for 6.50am when infact we had to wait until 8am until being picked up.So made it a long day as we left port douglas at 6am to get there in time. Having said that worked out well doing all in one day as we felt a whole day on boat would have been a bit long.

Michael R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Kuranda train tip and skyrail trip were fantastic.

Helicopter trip was beautiful and informative.

Snorking at the barrier reef was great experience--about 1 and 1/2 hours.

Cruise crew had saved lunch for us. The food was fair but was compensated by boat ride and entertainment back to Cairns.

Matt C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Great excursion for those "power tourists" with limited time in Cairns - covers all the must-see stuff in a single day without feeling rushed and outer reef snorkeling is the way to go. Only detraction was an angry little man named "Tai" that picked us up from hotel - he barked confusing orders at us as far as instructions for getting from the train to the skyrail and God help you if you get this guy and have any questions - he demeaned some poor woman from our group almost to the point of being in tears. At that point, everyone in the group just fell silent until this guy left the train and then we all had a laugh at what an unprofessional, angry little man he was and enjoyed the rest of our day thoroughly. The professional staff on the boat more than made up for the unpleasantness of our morning driver, who had no business being in the tourism industry.

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This was a great tour. You got to experience several different areas. It was wonderful!

Jeffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

loved it from start to finish. worth the money

Kevin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

I had a wonderful time. Kuranda is beautiful . the sky rail is breath taking and grear bearier reaf spectaular i give it a 5 stars as a rating

JoJo USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great trip. Wish we had more time in Kuranda for shopping. Very well organized. Snorkeling was fabulous.

david l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Well organized in spite of the many different companies involved in the tour.

The helicopter tour is impressive as you fly out to the middle of nowhere and land on a pontoon before being transfered to the boat.

Anthony T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Excellent! Great value. Had everything in one day.

Paula W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

This was an excellent tour and a very memorable day. My only comment would be that there is very little time in Kuranda itself 40minutes and if like me the train is late 20 minutes. That said I wouldn't have missed a minute of the snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef so if you want to wander around Kuranda this is not the trip for you but if you want to experience all these things in one day I can't recommended this trip highly enough.

John P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Great day trip if you are booked for time. Can fit a ton into one day which was great as we were only in the area for a few days.

Jamahl E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

it was a great day out but would have preferred a bit more time at kuranda in between train stopping and getting on the skyrail otherwise a great day

Sven S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

One of my greatest experiences as a traveller! It's a very busy day, with trying to keep to schedules, but well worth it. Great value for money.

Viewing 2 of 6

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 367.35

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3262_CAIRNS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message