Insider's Guide to Cairns & the Tropical North

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 136 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

ian h

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

great value for money- i would suggest this trip to anyone worldwide vsiting north QLD as a must do

Mr S R B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We would have given it 5 stars if the weather had been better. It was the worst day in our 3 weeks in Australia. It would have been good to have had more time in Kuranda but the experience of the day was great for us both. Thanks a lot. Highly recommended.

Taki P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Excellent trip well organised and a great day out - when it happened!. I was not picked up on the day when the trip was originally booked for and when I telephoned the tour company no apology just "we can re-schedule it for tomorrow".

Alexander USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Skyrail and Reef were excellent, service was friendly and paid attention to detail, Helicopter ride was a bit unnerving and boring as the pilot was not a regular flyer and provided no talk during the entire flight.

Mary S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

A wonderful day trip - staff were really lovely and all transfers on time - probably need more time to look around markets but we had so much fun!

Stuart B United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Memorable trip.

Adela D Spain

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

the lunch was very bad and cold

Robin T Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very well organised, great day, but a little bit expensive.

Theresa E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

If you only have a day or two it's a great way to see the rainforest and the great barrier reef all in one day. But it is a rush at Kuranda market only having 45 mins there. I would suggest adding 20 minutes more at the market if you like shopping and not stop off at the two lookout points on the way down on the skyrail, as the views are simular to the way up on the railway. But worth the money and great views all way round.

Juan Jose L Spain

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

This is a great tour for a complete day! We saw gorgeous views on the helicopter trip.

Guy W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

A wonderful day! We would do it again.

Ian P Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Because of time restraints, we had to do it in 1 day. We had a great time but please try & spread it over two days. The train ride was nice & very informative. The village at the top was beautiful & full of markets. Wish we could have spent the afternoon up there. The overhead Skyrail back down is AMAZING, 3 separate gondolas above the tree line with a brief tour at each station on the way down, saw all kinds of birds flying across the top of the trees, parrots, cockatoos, etc. Diving off the reef was fantastic but only had the afternoon. Wish I had more time as the boat also did a morning dive. Colours were fantastic as were the varieties of fish & turtles. If I had done this over 2 days it would have been 5 stars.

Linda K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

It was a great experience! Everything went smoothly, with someone waiting for us at every stop, to bring us to the next part of the day. It condensed the important "to do" things into one very fun day.

Cindy H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

The tour is excellent. However, ee feel that we should have better transportation for our fly. Our group is 8 persons. They provide 2 helicopters. One helicopter is with 3 seats and the other 4 seats. They squeeze 5 people into 4 seats helicopter and it is very uncomfortable. One person without speaker headphone I have no clue when the pilot explain or point out place to look. The boat trip returns services are excellent. We have a great time at snorkeling.

Peter J M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Awesome tour. You get 4 enjoyable parts in one shot. A nice introduction to then want to go back individually. GBR was the highlight for me.

Nicole H Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Our full day trip was fantastic! Although it was a little rushed at the Kuranda markets with only 3/4 of hour from the time we stepped off the train till we had to get onto the Skyrail. The views were spectacular and the staff on all 3 experiences were really helpful. Thank you for a great experience to all those involved. We will be certainly contacting you on our next trip which we are now looking at going to Broome WA.

Tim S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

This is a great trip to cover a lot of ground in a day. It is a bit rushed at times and a bit pricey, but you certainly get to see all the major highlights. The one-way helicopter flight is worth it as, otherwise, it would be a long day on a boat.

Stephen C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

This is an incredible experience just for the helicopter ride alone! You get the Kuranda train and the Skyrail almost for free. There were three things we didn't like. First, you have to carry all your stuff around in the morning, so pack light. Second, the boat was crammed with backpackers. Third, lunch was cold and just so-so. As long as you are prepared for these three things, it's totally worth doing!

Philip H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

This was a very tight schedule. On the day we did the tour, the train was delayed, so we had no time in Kuranda. All of the pieces of the tour were very good.

Florence M Cyprus

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Lovely day, the train wasn't running due to a rock slide but still enjoyed the experience.

Amie W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

The trip was very well organised. The cable car trip was amazing, and seeing the turtles in the barrier reef on the way to the boat from a helicopter was just awesome.

Joyce N

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

A pity the submarine boat was not operating due to weather condition. This should have been highlighted in your marketing brochure to avoid customers' disappointment.

Juliann T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Not enough time on top of Kuranda. Food on boat was poor.

John J United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

A perfect day apart from the cruise. We was very disappointed with the welcome and organisation of the crew. The cruise is defiantly not for people who don't want to snorkel.

OZTRIP

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

The timetable for the train to arrive in Kuranda was out of date (itinerary said 10.15 but in fact was 10.35), we had just enough time to get a coffee and take few photos of the train station. Didnt get to the village before we had to get on the cable car. Helicopter trip was good except that the pilot was unable to communicate with us so we had no commentory on where we were or what was below. When we got to the boat it was very busy with lots of people tooing and froing. We were told to pick a table to sit at, given a safety talk and then told to get ready for snorkelling. It would have been nice to sit and relax for a while! It was very windy and the current was strong. We were herded together and it was not a great experience. The food was left on our table - big plateful of tired looking salad, coleslaw, potato salad etc with a dish containing some sort of meat and another with fish. The fish was tasty but the meat......... The day ended with a fast bumpy ride back to the harbour. One of the crew, Phil l think, entertained us with songs, jokes and guitar playing on the way back and he was very good. Trip overall ok, but could have been better. NEED TO GET THE TIMETABLE RIGHT FOR THE FIRST PART OF THE TRIP SO TRAVELLERS GET MORE THAN 20 MINUTES IN KURANDA.

Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 362.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3262_CAIRNS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message