4.5 star rating: Recommended 100 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairns, Palm Cove and Northern Beaches, Australia
  • Duration:  9 - 10 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 100 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour was good. All transfers (from hotel to Kuranda station, from station to Bottom of Sky rail, then to Helepad and back to hotel via the cruise ship) were very smooth. The staff everywhere was very cordial. In general we enjoyed the trip.
However, we were looking forward to the glass bottom tour in the cruise. We were informed that the glass bottom tour was cancelled when we arrived at the ship. Although they appologised, it was very disappointing for us. We had been looking forward to view the barrier reef through the glass bottom as a once in a lifetime opportunity. I and my wife were both very upset about it.
Thak you very much for your effort in organising the trip for us.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour if you only have a day in Cairns (like us). Covers all the "basics" one would like to do in a quick tour of Cairns. We had 45mins in Kuranda, which was great budget-wise, but make sure you set an alarm to get back to the skyrail in time. For people who love to shop this will not be enough time. On the cruise, they had run out of wetsuits in our size. We were able to get stinger suits, but I rather suspect that was due to the tour operators stating there weren't "many stingers about", and that they would be probably unnecessary.
If you get carsick I thoroughly recommend taking anti-emetics with you. It is a terrible time to discover you get sea-sick when cruising back into Cairns.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Very good. Very well organized. I had a lot of fun. Shame I went at the beginning of the monsoon. It started raining non stop on that day. Which is not a problem at all except for the underwater pics which are not as bright. Also If you suffer from travel sickness beware of the helicopter tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The railway was nice, with some great views. I loved the skyrail which had awesome views of the forest and coatline and made me feel like a bird flying above it all, the helicopter also made me feel like a bird flying above the ocean. I really enjoyed the views of the barrier reef and ocean life, including a shark. The glass bottom boat was great, I was able to see the reef in depth with great views and a great narrative by the speaker. The lunch and boat ride back were alot of fun, the food was good and the ride was fun, I enjoyed getting sprayed by a wave as we returned, and rlaxed with a nice glass of wine. All in all it was a great day and I feel that I experienced much of what Cairns has to offer in this one day tour, thanks fro a great time.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Absolutely brilliant! The heritage train travels through beautiful country whilst gibing patrons an interesting potted history along the way. The SkyTrain is absolutely wonderful as one is enveloped by The cacophony of the rainforest whilst passing overhead. The reef doesn't disappoint and having the options of glass bottomed boat and snorkel and dive is terrific. Definitely a must-do tour if you have little time. Note that the Kuranda train timetable has changed so no time to see Kuranda at all.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

great value for money- i would suggest this trip to anyone worldwide vsiting north QLD as a must do

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We would have given it 5 stars if the weather had been better. It was the worst day in our 3 weeks in Australia. It would have been good to have had more time in Kuranda but the experience of the day was great for us both. Thanks a lot. Highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Excellent trip well organised and a great day out - when it happened!. I was not picked up on the day when the trip was originally booked for and when I telephoned the tour company no apology just "we can re-schedule it for tomorrow".

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Skyrail and Reef were excellent, service was friendly and paid attention to detail, Helicopter ride was a bit unnerving and boring as the pilot was not a regular flyer and provided no talk during the entire flight.

Mary S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

A wonderful day trip - staff were really lovely and all transfers on time - probably need more time to look around markets but we had so much fun!

Stuart B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Memorable trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

the lunch was very bad and cold

Robin T
Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very well organised, great day, but a little bit expensive.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

If you only have a day or two it's a great way to see the rainforest and the great barrier reef all in one day. But it is a rush at Kuranda market only having 45 mins there. I would suggest adding 20 minutes more at the market if you like shopping and not stop off at the two lookout points on the way down on the skyrail, as the views are simular to the way up on the railway. But worth the money and great views all way round.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

This is a great tour for a complete day! We saw gorgeous views on the helicopter trip.

From USD $ 422.01

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3262_CAIRNS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message