Insider's Guide to Cairns & the Tropical North

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 127 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Cairns, Palm Cove and Northern Beaches, Australia
  • Duration:9 - 10 hours

Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Read what other travelers think about the Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 127 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

If you only have a day or two it's a great way to see the rainforest and the great barrier reef all in one day. But it is a rush at Kuranda market only having 45 mins there. I would suggest adding 20 minutes more at the market if you like shopping and not stop off at the two lookout points on the way down on the skyrail, as the views are simular to the way up on the railway. But worth the money and great views all way round.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

This is a great tour for a complete day! We saw gorgeous views on the helicopter trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

A wonderful day! We would do it again.

Ian P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Because of time restraints, we had to do it in 1 day. We had a great time but please try & spread it over two days. The train ride was nice & very informative. The village at the top was beautiful & full of markets. Wish we could have spent the afternoon up there. The overhead Skyrail back down is AMAZING, 3 separate gondolas above the tree line with a brief tour at each station on the way down, saw all kinds of birds flying across the top of the trees, parrots, cockatoos, etc. Diving off the reef was fantastic but only had the afternoon. Wish I had more time as the boat also did a morning dive. Colours were fantastic as were the varieties of fish & turtles. If I had done this over 2 days it would have been 5 stars.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

It was a great experience! Everything went smoothly, with someone waiting for us at every stop, to bring us to the next part of the day. It condensed the important "to do" things into one very fun day.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

The tour is excellent. However, ee feel that we should have better transportation for our fly. Our group is 8 persons. They provide 2 helicopters. One helicopter is with 3 seats and the other 4 seats. They squeeze 5 people into 4 seats helicopter and it is very uncomfortable. One person without speaker headphone I have no clue when the pilot explain or point out place to look. The boat trip returns services are excellent. We have a great time at snorkeling.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Awesome tour. You get 4 enjoyable parts in one shot. A nice introduction to then want to go back individually. GBR was the highlight for me.

Nicole H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Our full day trip was fantastic! Although it was a little rushed at the Kuranda markets with only 3/4 of hour from the time we stepped off the train till we had to get onto the Skyrail. The views were spectacular and the staff on all 3 experiences were really helpful. Thank you for a great experience to all those involved. We will be certainly contacting you on our next trip which we are now looking at going to Broome WA.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

This is a great trip to cover a lot of ground in a day. It is a bit rushed at times and a bit pricey, but you certainly get to see all the major highlights. The one-way helicopter flight is worth it as, otherwise, it would be a long day on a boat.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

This is an incredible experience just for the helicopter ride alone! You get the Kuranda train and the Skyrail almost for free. There were three things we didn't like. First, you have to carry all your stuff around in the morning, so pack light. Second, the boat was crammed with backpackers. Third, lunch was cold and just so-so. As long as you are prepared for these three things, it's totally worth doing!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

This was a very tight schedule. On the day we did the tour, the train was delayed, so we had no time in Kuranda. All of the pieces of the tour were very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Lovely day, the train wasn't running due to a rock slide but still enjoyed the experience.

Amie W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

The trip was very well organised. The cable car trip was amazing, and seeing the turtles in the barrier reef on the way to the boat from a helicopter was just awesome.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

A pity the submarine boat was not operating due to weather condition. This should have been highlighted in your marketing brochure to avoid customers' disappointment.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Not enough time on top of Kuranda. Food on boat was poor.

John J
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

A perfect day apart from the cruise. We was very disappointed with the welcome and organisation of the crew. The cruise is defiantly not for people who don't want to snorkel.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

The timetable for the train to arrive in Kuranda was out of date (itinerary said 10.15 but in fact was 10.35), we had just enough time to get a coffee and take few photos of the train station. Didnt get to the village before we had to get on the cable car. Helicopter trip was good except that the pilot was unable to communicate with us so we had no commentory on where we were or what was below. When we got to the boat it was very busy with lots of people tooing and froing. We were told to pick a table to sit at, given a safety talk and then told to get ready for snorkelling. It would have been nice to sit and relax for a while! It was very windy and the current was strong. We were herded together and it was not a great experience. The food was left on our table - big plateful of tired looking salad, coleslaw, potato salad etc with a dish containing some sort of meat and another with fish. The fish was tasty but the meat......... The day ended with a fast bumpy ride back to the harbour. One of the crew, Phil l think, entertained us with songs, jokes and guitar playing on the way back and he was very good. Trip overall ok, but could have been better. NEED TO GET THE TIMETABLE RIGHT FOR THE FIRST PART OF THE TRIP SO TRAVELLERS GET MORE THAN 20 MINUTES IN KURANDA.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Generally a fabulous and exciting day, but I do have two reasons why I would not do this one again. 1. Reading other reviews, I thought the only thing to do in Kuranda was shopping. Because the train ran 10 min late, and we had to find a bathroom in town, we ended up going directly from the train to skyrail. Once we saw what the other attractions were in Kuranda, we did the skyrail up and and back on a different day to do Rainforestation and shopping. Even then, they ran us through Rainforestation ASAP because the last Skyrail down was early afternoon. Suggest if you want to spend a relaxing time in Kuranda, that you rent a car and drive up so that you can be in charge of your own schedule.

2. The other negative about this particular schedule: I traveled across the world to swim in the reef but was only in it for an hour. Another couple in our group did Kuranda one day and the reef the next. Looking back, we should have done that.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

The itinerary was great but very tight. It wasn't busy and yet we felt somewhat rushed. Arriving to the boat by helicopter was great but our time on the boat for scuba diving was only 1.5 hours compared to people already there who had 3 hours which was very disappointing. People were very polite and friendly.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Bitterly disappointed that we were unable to visit Kuranda village at all, due to lack of time ! We were herded off the train. straight onto the cable cars.....but then waited 30 mins for our minibus. Better time management would have allowed us the time to spend at the village !!
Great Barrier Reef. Helicopter was a good experience, but the transfer boat was smelly and filthy. Too many people on the dive boat....consequently, not enough sting suits for everyone, even though the staff were aware that jelly fish were present. Lunch was very basic and disappointing.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

The Helicopter Flight was the best part of the excursion. Excellent service. We really enjoyed the flight.
The other parts of the excursion were not so good. 1) We could not enjoy the coral reef view because the boat had not a glass-floor (as it was advertised by Viator).
2) There were too many people in the boat and it was a mess by the time we arrived!
3) We had one hour to snorkel (at 3pm the boat started to return to Cairns).
4) During the morning the excursion to Kuranda went ok (but we did not have enough time to walk around and we did not receive enough information by the travel agency). Would it be the same to buy directly to Kuranda Scenic Railroad.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2010

A good option to do both rainforest and reef in one day. Unfortunately our driver was late and quite rude to be frank. Also there is no way you can do diving on this trip as there is simply not enough time - we hardly squeezed in 1,5 hours of snorkeling.

Catherine S
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

Karunda great. Helicopter great was not advised cruise was for experienced divers, spent 2 hrs sitting on boat, could have had lunch or trip on submersible but not both.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

Definitely worth doing, however there was not enough communication with us as to the times for everything. When to meet to go to next part of tour. Rushed to meet from the Skyrail and had to wait for almost an hour in gift shop as no one told any of us when they would pick us up. We were us sort of milling around and starting to wonder if we were in the wrong place. Then had a problem with the boat, waited in closed helicopter in 90 heat for 45 minutes and the pilot did not tell us anything. When asked what the problem was he was rather short with us and still didn't explain.

Mike H
South Africa

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

Loved the Kuranda Rail and Skyrail. Would have liked more time in Kuranda. The helicopter was OK - pilot should have spent more time over reef. The lunch and Osprey experience were totally unacceptable.

Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 350.31

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3262_CAIRNS


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message