4 star rating: Recommended 57 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 57 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The drive up to Alexandria was a long one, however, they picked us up at our hotel in our own private van, with a personal Egyptologist and a driver. Our tour of Alexandria was very good and informative. I would recommend this for anyone in the Cairo area to discover more of Egypt.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our tour guide was fabulous and punctual. He was very knowledgeable and we really enjoyed him.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent service. The tour of historic places in Alexandria was very exciting.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

It is a long drive to Alexandria... there are good things to see and our Egyptogist Tito was amazing. Unfortunately, the library was closed because of elections two days later... would have liked for the company to have checked this before.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a wonderful tour. Our planned departure was 7:00 AM. The night before I got a call from our tour guide asking if we would mind starting at 6:00 AM instead. He said we can beat a lot of the traffic coming back. And a lot of traffic there is in Cairo. We agreed and our tour guide and driver showed up promptly at 6:00 AM the next morning. We made the 3 hour journey from Cairo to Alexandria. Our guide spoke English well, he was very knowledgeable, and passionate about his work. He told us he was flexible and he would make any detours that we would like. And that's exactly what we did. After the burial site we asked to sit down for some shisha. They knew exactly where to go.We sat down for some coffee and shisha in a nice cafe. I asked how far our next stop was and he pointed across the street. He said Pompey's Pillar is just past these walls that we are seeing. It was so nice to just sit down and take in the whole thing and live like those in Alexandria. Anyways, we hit the pillar, and then headed over to the amphitheater before having lunch on the Mediterranean Sea. Our guide took us to a wonderful seafood restaurant. Food was included in the price, but drinks are not. No big deal, as drinks are not expensive anyways. After lunch we went to the library, but we were a little disappointed with this stop. Maybe we were just expecting an older library. Everything is brand new and modern. It's still a wonderful place, but the old library was destroyed. After the library we headed back to our hotel. We didn't get back until about 5:00 PM. Boy were we glad that we started early! We said goodnight until tomorrow morning to our tour guide and driver. It was so nice to have the same group for all of our tours. We tipped the tour guide 100 LE (Egyptian Pounds) and the driver 50 LE for each tour. All-in-all this tour was worth the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

This was terrific. Alexandria is an old, historic city from the Greek and Roman times in Egypt. The beaches have eroded but the new library is wonderful. I am sure there are still many antiquities still undiscovered since the historic sites are in the middle of areas of housing that have been there 100 years or so.

Trine
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

This trip shows you a different side to Egypt. A bit quieter but just as interesting. The catacombs are a truly amazing sight and should not be missed. The standing pillar is also very spectacular. The library is a beautiful modern building, but you will need to take cash with you as the museums inside you have to pay to visit and they confiscate handbags on entering the library.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Excellent - the guide was very knowledgeable. The only issue I had was I tried to contact the supplier many times, per the voucher form to confirm the details of my trip but no one answered the phone.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

A full and busy day, a long drive through a fascinating area until you reach Alexandria. Again a great tour with knowledgeable guide. Recommended to all.

Dick
USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Overall this tour was very good. The guide was personable and had a good command of English. The three hour drive returning to Cairo was more like four plus hours due to traffic. Time in Alexandria was limited because of the drive time, but I would have hated being in Egypt without a visit to Alexandria.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Trip a little long, but again our guide Mahmoud was worth the money!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Met our expectations. Guide was good. Transportation comfortable

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Very interesting! The library was the best part of Alexandria!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Difficult getting a confirmation in advance, but the actual tour was handled well.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Would have preferred to be given a choice of places to visit in Alexandria.

From USD $ 126.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI14

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message