• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 53 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 53 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

There was some confusion before we did take off for Alexandria. After that the trip was great.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Pretty different to the rest of Egypt with a bit of a Mediterranean feel. I really enjoyed the catacombs and the contrast of Roman architecture to the Egyptian artwork we had seen already during the rest of the trip in Egypt.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Interesting to see the influences of Greece and Rome on Egyptian sites. Even though it's not there, it was cool to see where the Lighthouse, one of the ancient wonders of the world, would have been. Liked the Pillar of Pompeii, reminded me of Rome.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

A long drive from Cairo, 3 hours each way but the history of the city and the remains was interesting.

Paola M
El Salvador

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

It was nice to have a good guide and a nice van with air conditioner.

Kevin D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The tour was well organised. We were picked up on time, driven in a nice car with air-conditioning, and shown around three sites in Alexandria by an excellent guide. Lunch in the poshest restaurant I've ever eaten in was amazing, and it was included. But the best thing was being able to ring the guide two days later and arrange more trips. He took us round the mosques and bazaar in Cairo, which was an even better day than Alexandria. This is a good service, with a great guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

The day was less than optimal because the 3hr journey to Cairo became 5hrs due to horrific lane closures and time spent on a highway at a total standstill. The driver was unfamiliar with the city, but he did get us to the various monuments which were mediocre. Some of the backstreets of Alexandria were very very interesting. Also, the guide was sick with flu and not at his best, very quiet,and he would have been better to be in bed. Apparently there was a shortage of people. Nobody's fault really, just a confluence of events which made for a very long drive to see not a lot.

Mark P
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Longish trip from Cairo. Nice city and the library tour was great. We got sick from the lunch though.

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

It was okay, but could have been better. We had lunch at a nice restaurant, but we paid a "fortune" for a juice and a soft drink. It was very good to see the library.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2011

After seeing the temples and monuments in Upper Egypt, Alexandria was disappointing.

ANGELA B
Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

The city of Alexandria is interesting and I would like to have seen more but the journey from Cairo took around 3 hours. In total around 6-7 hours travelling.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

Not really that much to see to make it worth the long day. The best part was the drive through the desert to Alexandria.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

We got poisoned from local drinks from a tour we took the day before using the same company, so the whole day was a nightmare. There is a lot to see in Alexandria, but we were only shown a few sights. Upon arriving home, we found out that the Tower of Alexandria was one of the wonders of the world. This our guide did not show us or tell us about. There is a lot to see on the way from Cairo to Alexandria, but we where left with no comments during the 3 hour drive, becuase our guide was to busy sleeping. During the lunch he ordered a shellfish meal for us overlooking the fact that we are Jewish and would not be able to eat it. The driver and the bus that the company provided where excellent but the guide was very marginal for the second day in a row, during both days we were given the same guide.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I loved Alexandria but felt that it was not flexible enough. We wanted to go see the city as it was by the sea and put our feet in the ocean and the tour guide was more concerned with us taking a photo of the library. Also a major fault was that the tour guide kept touching both my mother and myself and I was highly offended.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

The tour is quite tiring. We should have started at 700 AM as originally planned. In addition, nobody told us that the Library opens at 300 PM on Fridays. Not seeing the library was a disapointment.

From USD $ 126.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI14

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message