4 star rating: Recommended 56 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 56 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Nice place, nice time, nice guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

This tour gave us a wonderful overview of Alexandria. It is so different from the Nile valley! Our driver was very professional and we felt secure during the entire trip. Our guide was very informative, and made sure we got to do everything we wanted. He was very patient with us. Thanks for a memorable introduction to Egypt!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

Our tour guide was absolutely awesome. She made us feel so at home in Egypt! I think that Alexandria is a nice day trip if you are spending a lot of time in Cairo, however, if you are only there for a short time you may want to spend more of your time in Old Cairo, Coptic Cairo or the Museum. Alexandria has a rich history but most of it is underground. The catacombs were pretty amazing. Definitely worth thinking about.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

There was some confusion before we did take off for Alexandria. After that the trip was great.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Pretty different to the rest of Egypt with a bit of a Mediterranean feel. I really enjoyed the catacombs and the contrast of Roman architecture to the Egyptian artwork we had seen already during the rest of the trip in Egypt.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Interesting to see the influences of Greece and Rome on Egyptian sites. Even though it's not there, it was cool to see where the Lighthouse, one of the ancient wonders of the world, would have been. Liked the Pillar of Pompeii, reminded me of Rome.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

A long drive from Cairo, 3 hours each way but the history of the city and the remains was interesting.

Paola M
El Salvador

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

It was nice to have a good guide and a nice van with air conditioner.

Kevin D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The tour was well organised. We were picked up on time, driven in a nice car with air-conditioning, and shown around three sites in Alexandria by an excellent guide. Lunch in the poshest restaurant I've ever eaten in was amazing, and it was included. But the best thing was being able to ring the guide two days later and arrange more trips. He took us round the mosques and bazaar in Cairo, which was an even better day than Alexandria. This is a good service, with a great guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

The day was less than optimal because the 3hr journey to Cairo became 5hrs due to horrific lane closures and time spent on a highway at a total standstill. The driver was unfamiliar with the city, but he did get us to the various monuments which were mediocre. Some of the backstreets of Alexandria were very very interesting. Also, the guide was sick with flu and not at his best, very quiet,and he would have been better to be in bed. Apparently there was a shortage of people. Nobody's fault really, just a confluence of events which made for a very long drive to see not a lot.

Mark P
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Longish trip from Cairo. Nice city and the library tour was great. We got sick from the lunch though.

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

It was okay, but could have been better. We had lunch at a nice restaurant, but we paid a "fortune" for a juice and a soft drink. It was very good to see the library.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2011

After seeing the temples and monuments in Upper Egypt, Alexandria was disappointing.

ANGELA B
Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

The city of Alexandria is interesting and I would like to have seen more but the journey from Cairo took around 3 hours. In total around 6-7 hours travelling.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

Not really that much to see to make it worth the long day. The best part was the drive through the desert to Alexandria.

From USD $ 126.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI14

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message