• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 56 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 56 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

We got poisoned from local drinks from a tour we took the day before using the same company, so the whole day was a nightmare. There is a lot to see in Alexandria, but we were only shown a few sights. Upon arriving home, we found out that the Tower of Alexandria was one of the wonders of the world. This our guide did not show us or tell us about. There is a lot to see on the way from Cairo to Alexandria, but we where left with no comments during the 3 hour drive, becuase our guide was to busy sleeping. During the lunch he ordered a shellfish meal for us overlooking the fact that we are Jewish and would not be able to eat it. The driver and the bus that the company provided where excellent but the guide was very marginal for the second day in a row, during both days we were given the same guide.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I loved Alexandria but felt that it was not flexible enough. We wanted to go see the city as it was by the sea and put our feet in the ocean and the tour guide was more concerned with us taking a photo of the library. Also a major fault was that the tour guide kept touching both my mother and myself and I was highly offended.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

The tour is quite tiring. We should have started at 700 AM as originally planned. In addition, nobody told us that the Library opens at 300 PM on Fridays. Not seeing the library was a disapointment.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2010

Nice city, and Pompeii's Pillar was kind of cool, but this isn't worth the 3-hour drive. Also, although the advantage of a private tour is that you can spend your time how you want, our guide still pressured us to be fast at each of the sites so that we could get them all done. She got kind of irritated that we took an hour at Pompeii's Pillar, because she had allocated us about 15 minutes for it. That's not nearly enough time, though, unless you're doing a quick walk-through and not taking pictures. Finally, just skip the Alexandria Library. Nothing to see there.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

The driver and the guide were excellent. The best. The only problem were the main office not answering the phone in the afternoon and the guy that was supposed to call us back to let us know the time did not until we called your international office with complaint. This cost us 418.00 EGP extra because we had to call you from the Hotel's phone. They did not answer their emergency number either.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2008

A long day but not a lot to see to be honest. Transportation and guide were excellent however.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

I wouldn´t recommend this tour, it isn´t worth the price! Our guide was terrible, we asked for a Spanish speaking guide, and he didn´t know anything about Alexandria, he didn´t even know who was the designer of the famous library. Very poor information, he even tried to impose his religion on us! The car was Ok with A/C in very good condition, but the driver as every driver in Egypt are very irresponsible, don´t follow the laws and driving signs. I had other tours on other days in our Nile River Cruise and were absolutely excellent. Me and my wife were very anxious for Alexandria for its rich history and when we were there we only wanted to go back to our hotel. The lunch was terrible, they took us to a very dirty restaurant. When we entered we told the guide we didn´t want to eat there since the tablecloth had stains all over it, and he told us that it wasn´t possible since he had ordered our meal already. We wouldn´t care not to eat and lose our lunch. Our experience in Alexandria was very bad!! I don´t recommend it!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2011

Very disappointing to say the least. Our driver was doing 150km on the five lane motorway and on spotting a traffic jam ahead, reversed down the motorway, shortcutted over a bridge that was still under construction and then drove into oncoming traffic. If that wasn't bad enough on the way back to Cairo in the afternoon our guide layed down in the back of the mini bus, took off his shoes and went to sleep, while our driver was nodding off. We found the experience terrifying to say the least. The guide although informative, advised us that as we were Australian it was necessary to 'tell us that it was important to tip accordingly and that $10 euro was not the equivalent to $10 Australian Dollars. We felt completely stupid.

We also did your Lake Como tour and could not stop raving about how exceptional it was.

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2010

A long drive, with really not much at the destination. Half an hour in a catacomb, half an hour at Pompey's pillar, an hour at the library, then back to Cairo. The library was not at all what I expected - I can see modern buildings almost anywhere.

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

It was disappointing. the only good thing was the library, but it looks exactly like a modern library. the exhibitions inside the library are the only thing worth going for. the food at Alexandria was absolutely terrible! we didn't even eat the food. yet again money wasted by having it included in my package. tour guide tried to provide more information but unfortunately i still wasn't satisfied. the catacombs were also a good thing see. once again, i think A day trip to Alexandria can be better accomplished on your own.

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2008

Not that much to see so it is probably not worth the 3 hour drive.

From USD $ 126.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI14

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message