• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 58 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 58 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

The tour covered the stated areas, but it would be better to have a Coptologist leading the tour to avoid filtering the narrative through the lens of Islam. Coptic history predates Islam of course and reversing the direction of influence could cause confusion for someone who doesn't know much about the history of Christianity in the region. Further, a Coptologist could provide a more detailed history of each site. In several instances we felt the tour guide could have had more precise answers or described the significance of certain artifacts beyond the captions listed under the objects themselves. For example, the distinctions between Coptic coffins and trunks to hold robes, hats, and other religious clothing. Also, the difference between a confessional and a storage space in the Coptic church. Do Copts have confessionals? And the circumstances in which new testament bibles were found. The Hanging Church was amazing and has a tremendous history behind it that is more interesting than the foundation less design of the building itself. Spending more time on the relics, designs, and icons, in the church would have been helpful. She was otherwise a pleasure to spend time with and certainly knows quite a bit about the history of Islam in Egypt and collaboration between Muslims and Copts (a timely reminder). I would love to take a tour of Islamic Cairo with her and no doubt others would enjoy it as well.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

The guide was very good, but the tour began 60 minutes late and ended far too early. We expected to see the Coptic Museum, but it was somehow omitted from our tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

An extremely interesting and valuable tour to gain an insight into the history of this part of Cairo. Excellent guide and service, would highly recommend this to all.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

This tour was much slower and for me not as interesting. This would be a great tour for someone who is very interested in religious studies. The churches in Coptic Cairo were plentiful. There was a cool antique junk store just outside Coptic Cairo that I thought was fun, and our guide helped us negotiate prices with the store owner. Our guide was great and spoke very good English.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

We enjoyed seeing the sights. However, our tour guide did not enter all the buildings with us and explained things. We see other tour guides with other tourists. We finished all the venues in just a little over an hour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2011

My tour guide was incredible but there wasn't really much to see as far as the church went.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

Tour guide was too rushed.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2009

Did not enjoy this tour as much as I thought I would. The tour guide did his best to keep me interested.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

The places visited were nice to go to but the guide sometimes seemed annoyed when questions were asked and sometimes was just rude. A lot of churches and nunneries in Coptic Cairo were passed while walking from the Hanging Church to Abu Serga and Ben Ezra but we received no information about them whatsoever.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2007

Guide provided interesting explanation of historic role of Coptic church. The buildings are rather simple in design and decoration.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

A bit disappointing! The tour guide spent more time bragging about his knowledge and talking politics with friends along the way than telling me info. about the sites. He also took me to a lot of places to buy stuff ( no obligation to buy of course but....!)He seemed to discourage any activities that required being out in the sun any longer than the minimum. I would advise checking out the guides you arrange a bit more thoroughly!!

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2010

The actual tour itself was just a little over half an hour -- the ride to and from the area was even longer. Maybe partly because I did it on a Friday, so most of the churches were hearing mass, and one cannot really stay there and explore. I do recommend going there, but on your own.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2010

I want to express my disappointment in the Coptic Cairo Tour last Friday. We left my place in Zamalek at 9:00 a.m and I was back at 10:15. We could not enter the churches as people were praying. I could have a look but explanations were not allowed. Although the guide was very friendly she didn't offer any options to make the tour worth it. It is not a tour I will recommend to anybody.

From USD $ 38.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI09

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message