4.5 star rating: Recommended 75 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Duration:  6 - 8 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 75 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Michael S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Tour guide was very informative and friendly! I only recommend you spend more than an hour at the markets as there is so much to see and do!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Would have liked to see other parts of the citadel in addition to the mosque. Would have liked more time at the Egyptian Museum, but that place could eat up a week easily!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

I thought our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the subjects. He brought a lot of insight into the sights that we wouldn't otherwise have had. It was also nice to be able to hear everything he said and not be stuck at the back of a large group.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Same guide as for the pyramids, so that was spectacular. We also changed part of our itinerary on the day and this was accommodated with no problems whatsoever, which was impressive. The museum was disappointing, but that is an Egypt problem not the tour as such. The Citadel and the Mosque were outstanding and we went to the hanging church and Koptic area rather than the souks. It was fascinating and the guide handled the change with no problems whatsoever. On both tours, the guide really contributed towards making the experience a memorable one.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The museum was definitely worth going to see, I would rather have more time at the museum. The museum was the place that interested me the most!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Cairo was a bit of a pit, but definitely one of life's must dos. We had the same tour guide for both of our day tours, and while she was very informative, we always felt a bit rushed.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

This guide was better than one on my previous tour. Overall, she tried to be helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Egyptian museum is overwhelming, so it was nice to have a tour guide. The guide and driver were very accommodating. We booked three tours in Cairo on two different days and had the same guide and driver, which was very nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

The museum has tons of great artifacts, but half aren't labeled and the interior is a bit rundown. The mosque was a great experience, as it's within the citadel and has lots to see around it. The market - well, great to see for about 20 minutes and then get out.

Denis D
Belgium

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Very accurate information.

Sharon B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Could probably spent a whole day at the museum. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The mosque was well worth the visit and we chose to take a felucca ride rather than see the bazaar and this was organised efficiently by our guide. This was a great contrast to the hustle of the earlier part of the day and was a very tranquil end to the tour. The whole day was one to remember. The pre-booked lunch venue was very good and the toilets were clean.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Driver showed up on time, the guide spoke good English. Good knowledge. She took the time to explain all the important things in the Egyptian museum. Good tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

Nice tour with the exception of the tourist stores during lunch break. Negotiate with your guide at the start of the tour the visit or not to a papyro and essence stores. I would rather had spent more time on the monuments/museums than in those stores.

Noel S
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Obviously if in Cairo a must see. I spent the extra 100 Egyptian pounds to visit the 'mummy room' and thought it worthwhile.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

Collection worked smoothly and the guide was courteous. We met our Egyptologist at the Cairo Museum and she was informative and helpful. We had interesting chats about life in Egypt between visits. She should perhaps have prevented me from getting involved with a chap who wanted me to change UK £ for Egyptian as I later learnt that this can be a scam! We had an enjoyable day.

EMANOELLE B
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

It was good, but could have been better. The guide was again taking us to places that sell things and he was polite but later he requested higher tip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

Egyptian Museum is worth going to. The rest not so much, especially if you hae been in Turkey before.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

The Alabaster Mosque and the Egyptian Museum were musts and very much worth visiting however Khan el-Khalili bazaar was essentially a collection of a hundred plus vendors selling mostly the same exact 'made in China' souvenirs. The tour stated 6-8 hours however our tour only lasted about 4 from pickup to dropoff. Our guide was very well educated and at times we were very impressed. At other times however, he seemed lazy. We had two days in a row with this guide and at the end of our first day, our driver dropped him off before we returned to our hotel. The next morning the driver picked us up while our guide met us at the museum. Later that day, the driver dropped us off at Khan el-Khalili at which point our guide said good bye and got a ride home with the driver though the driver did return an hour later to give us a ride home. This wasn't necessarily a problem as had we know we'd likely have encouraged him to do that, though it did make us feel the guide was more concerned with his agenda than ours seeing as how he made this decision on his own. Another example is when he spent 20 minutes with us in the museum and then said "ok, go visit the rest on your own and you can meet me outside in an hour". The guide was accomodating and allowed us to stop places not on the schedule which was nice but overall I'd rate him a 6 or 7 out of 10. My feedback for Viator is to update this itinerary to include more or shorten the duration to a half day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

Tour was rushed. i was led to several tourist traps where I spent more time than the sites listed. Guide was ok, but exited about 2:30pm before lunch where I was stuck with the driver who spoke zero English.

Iain C
Ireland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

For a city tour and the time taken to see the sites I felt they should include some more places to visit.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2008

Not enough time to go around the museum, should skip the royal perfume shop. Alabsater Mosque is OK. Were given 45 mins for Khan el-Khalili. How can you buy & bargain in such short time The lunch is good except that we have to pay for drinks and rush.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

The places visited were nice to go to but the guide sometimes seemed annoyed when questions were asked and sometimes was just rude.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2008

Tour guide and tour was good. We canceled the trip to Khan el-Khalili and asked for extra tour to the Hanging Church, Abu Serga and Ben Ezra Synagogue for 15.00 each. The tour organizer wanted 20.00 US each, we said no. With the extra time, we wanted to spend a little longer at the museum but were hurried to move on to the Alabaster Mosque. We got about 4 hours for the tour. Later that day the organizer offered the other tour for 15.00 US each, I was not happy with him and refused to take the tour then.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2012

Our tour guide barely had anything to say and was in a hurry to go through the entire tour. After the mosque, he forced us to go to the market place where we didn't care to go. There were more than enough markets around our hotel, but he insisted that we stop by for 30 minutes. Really, he just wanted to drink coffee and read a paper. It's better to go on your own than with a tour guide.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

DO NOT TAKE THIS TOUR with this company. All they want to do is get as much money out of you as humanly possible. They'll even set it up so that they take you to their friends/families' shops to trap you into buying stuff when they tell you you're going to the bathroom. If you don't believe us, take the tour. When you end up at a carpet factory and a paparus shop, then you'll see we're telling you the truth. These people are unbelieveable! Given the very crappy service they provided, they'll tell you that you NEED (not should) give them VERY LARGE TIP as this is expected given they only work off of tips! They complained that the company pays them too little to live on. As if we had the word "Idiots" written on our foreheads!! Also, be mindful if you're female. They are very demeaning toward women. It may just be cultural (of Egyptians), but either way, it's not pleasant at all. This tour guide made it such an unpleasant experience, we don't recommend anyone visiting Eygpt in general. Honestly, this is the worst place in the world we have ever visited, and we are very well-traveled.

From USD $ 72.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI06

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message